25 Days of Holiday Fun with Karen Cino

Sketch made with digital tablet, spirit woman

Celebrate the holidays with author Karen Cino

If you could ask Santa for one thing, what would it be and why?

I would ask him to bring my characters alive on Lifetime Television Network.

What is your favorite holiday candy?

Truffles and Christmas colored M & M’s.

It’s the season of Egg Nog.  Do you prefer it with rum, without alcohol or can’t stand the stuff?

I hate Egg Nog.  What I love is Kahlua mixed with Bailey’s Irish Cream.

What is one of your holiday traditions to do each year?

I drive around the neighborhood looking at the Christmas lights with my kids.

If you could kiss any character under the mistletoe, who would it be?

It would be a toss up between Mario Morales in the Boardwalk and Dino Pinizi in Mystical Wonders – Second Chances and The Right Call.

Holiday cookies are my favorite to bake each year.  Do you have a favorite holiday cookie that you enjoy each year?

Christmas has always been my favorite time of the year.  And the only time I got wild baking cookies.  My favorite cookie is the 7 layer, which I also make.  I usually make eight or nine different cookies.  I love making trays of cookies and bringing them to my family and friends.

 Sketch made with digital tablet, spirit woman

The Right Call by Karen Cino       

                                                                     

Mystical Wonders Book 3

Contemporary/Suspense

Secret Cravings Publishing

Buy at: Amazon/Secret Cravings Publishing

Four women’s lives are tainted by unseen forces, resulting in life changing events.

To deal with her onset of early Alzheimer, Fay Odina takes a trip to Italy to spend time with her family, leaving her daughter Heather in charge of the family business.

Madison and Dino Pinzini are dealing with the complications of Dino’s heart attack, which puts their relationship to the test. Meantime, as Cassie Scott deals with trust and commitment issues, she meets New York City Police Detective Antonio Palencia.

Cassie’s cousin, Sophia returns to Staten Island.  Sophia is involved in a dead end relationship with a secret past hidden in a box full of letters.

The women begin receiving puzzle pieces of them in the mail, which could result in disaster.  All they have to go on is Shari’s vision that shows long shiny purple fingernails.

When Antonio receives a tip, he and Cassie have to race against time to solve the mystery.

Excerpt

“I could use another shot of vitamin C, meaning another mimosa,” Madison said.

The woman sitting at the next table tapped her pen on their table. “Excuse me ladies, but would you mind moving your umbrella a little to the right.” She pointed. “The sun is killing me.”

“I see no problem with readjusting the umbrella.”

Sophia stood and pulled at the small navy blue umbrella, only to have it go back to its original place. She tried again, but this time when she pulled, the umbrella came out of the holder, and went airborne, taking the place settings off the table next to them.

Upon impact not only did Sophia and Madison go hysterical, but so did the two ladies at the table next to them.

“Thank God this section isn’t crowded.” Sophia laughed so hard tears rolled from her eyes.

“Excuse me, what’s going on here?” the manager Edwin, an elderly gray-haired man dressed in a pink shirt with matching tie, asked.

“I don’t know.” Sophia pinched her leg under the table to keep from laughing out loud anymore.

“I’m sure the umbrella didn’t fly out of the table by itself. It’s a good thing it’s early. If this happened yesterday, you would have taken out a customer’s eye.”

“Are you kidding me? Do you think I purposely ripped the umbrella out of its base?” Sophia asked.

“Every time you two are here,” he pointed to her and Madison, “there is always some sort of calamity here.”

“No there isn’t.”

“A couple of weeks ago, you replenished the people’s coffee, taking over the coffee station,” he directed at them, his tone abrupt.

“You were short-handed. I just wanted to help out,” Sophia said still keeping eye contact.

“Doesn’t say much for my establishment.”

“We’ve apologized over and over for that day,” Madison said.

“Edwin, you know we wouldn’t do anything to harm this place. This is our place,” Sophia said emphasizing the word our. “Besides, I send you a lot of business.”

“And that I’m grateful for. But please if you need anything, just ask.”

“Okay,” Sophia said, biting her lower lip.

Edwin turned to Madison who nodded her head. “Good. I’m going to hold the two of you to it.”

 About the Author

Karen Cino is an author, poet and former journalist.  She’d been writing since she was fourteen years old.  She started her career by writing poetry, short stories and articles for her high school newspaper and the Staten Island Register.  After reading Jackie Collin’s “Lovers and Gamblers” she knew she found her niche, writing women’s fiction.

Her daily walk down at the boardwalk is what gets her muse going.  It clears her mind and helps her find realistic plot ideas and characters, boosting her muse.  She loves writing about local places that people can relate to.

Karen is a single mom living in Staten Island, New York with her two adult children, Michael and Nicole, and three cats.

Secret Cravings Publishing published her debut novel Roses in April 2012.

Find Karen Cino at the following places….

Website / Blog

One thought on “25 Days of Holiday Fun with Karen Cino

  1. I love your holiday tradition. I miss that, now that my boys are grown & having their own children. I always enjoyed our rides around town in the few weeks before Christmas.
    Great excerpt! I enjoyed it.
    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

