Welcome Karenna Colcroft

TrytheTofu_200 (2)

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Karenna. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?

My most recent release was Try the Tofu, book 5 in my M/M paranormal series Real Werewolves Don’t Eat Meat. It was released August 1, and is a bit of a change from the previous books both in tone (it’s darker) and in narrator; all the previous books were narrated by the world’s only vegan werewolf, Kyle Slidell, but by reader request, Try the Tofu is narrated by Kyle’s mate (and alpha) Tobias Rogan. My next scheduled release won’t be until December of this year, and I’m currently taking a short break from writing while I work out some career things, so I don’t have a work in progress at the moment.
Do you have any guilty pleasures?

I love the TV series Degrassi, which is essentially a soap opera for teenagers. I also confess to watching Dance Moms.

If we asked your muse to describe you using five words, what do you think they would say?

Complicated, stubborn, annoying, fun, imaginative

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.

As recently as 2006, I couldn’t say the word “sex” without cringing, let alone write about it.
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

I’d probably stay in the Boston, Massachusetts area (where I currently live), but I want to live on a houseboat.

If someone hasn’t read any of your work, what book would you recommend that they start with and why?

If they’re interested in male/male romance, I would recommend they start with Salad on the Side, the first book in Real Werewolves Don’t Eat Meat, because I think it’s one of my more unique books and one of the ones I most enjoyed writing.

Are your characters able to love or do they need to be taught?

I wouldn’t say any of my characters need to be taught how to love, but many of them need to learn to open themselves up to the possibility and to let go of the past to embrace what’s being offered. Hence my tagline, “Open your heart.”

What can readers expect next from you?

My next scheduled release is due out in December. Whatever He Wants will be released from Ellora’s Cave as part of their “Boys Will Do Boys” series and is a male/male contemporary romance about a “player” who gets played and falls in love in the process. At the time of this writing, I have three projects under consideration at different publishers, but I’d rather not say much about those since I’m waiting for initial responses. I have a few projects planned to write as soon as I finish the career planning stuff I’m working on; I’m transitioning from having a part-time income-earning job in addition to writing to doing only the writing, so I have a few things to get organized and settled before I dive into the next project.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

Thanks for having me! And thanks to Zeke and Jake for keeping me well-hydrated and entertained during the interview. (Those abs… dang!)

Readers who want to find out more about me can visit me in the following places:

My website www.karennacolcroft.com

My Facebook profile https://www.facebook.com/karenna.colcroft

My Facebook group https://www.facebook.com/groups/261093317316839/

My Twitter @KarennaColcroft

TrytheTofu_200 (2)

Blurb for Try the Tofu:
As he and his mate Kyle Slidell prepare to travel to Pennsylvania for the twice-yearly regional Alpha gathering, Tobias Rogan knows something will go wrong. His fears are proven correct when a visiting werewolf from another region challenges Arkhon Zane Wolfskin for leadership of the Northeast–and wins.

Tobias and his allies learn the challenge was part of a larger plan to destroy their region, and Tobias will not allow it to happen. But can he defeat the new Arkhon and take charge of the region himself?

EXCERPT:

Javier looked around the circle at the stony faces of all the alphas. None of them met his gaze, and none gave any indication they would be pleased about filling the role. He swallowed hard and faced me again. “I give my challenger the right to choose.”

A ripple of sound ran through the alphas, but they quieted almost immediately. Javier should have chosen his proxy, but he didn’t know whom among the alphas he could trust. Still, his passing the choice to me would be seen as another show of weakness on his part.

I had to win this fight. No matter what it took, and no matter how hard the Anax tried to prevent it, I had to win.

“I choose Christian Brown, Alpha of Easternmost Pack, to give the signal and ensure the fight runs to protocol,” I said, loudly and clearly so there would be no mistake.

Christian was behind me, so I missed the expression on his face. His tone gave away his astonishment. “I accept the role you have given me, Tobias.”

I managed not to sigh with relief. Whatever Christian decided as proxy, the other alphas would be unlikely to argue. Christian was vocal and abrasive about those he disliked, so it was no secret he didn’t approve of me or of Javier. He was probably the least biased person present.

“I accept Christian Brown as moderator and proxy,” Javier said slowly.

Christian came up beside us. He looked at me with a question in his gaze, and I looked back with what I hoped was complete neutrality. I couldn’t risk giving anything away.

He hesitated. “Shift and wait for my signal to begin.”

Javier and I removed our clothing and began the process of going wolf. I hated shifting, but I had trained myself well. Taking wolf form hurt like hell, but I’d learned not to let the pain get to me too much. As alpha, I couldn’t afford much recovery time after a shift. As challenger in this fight, I could afford even less.

In my white-furred form, I stood and faced my enemy. He had not yet completed his shift, and his pain was evident and appealing. I smelled blood and fear and forced myself to be still. I could not attack until word was given.

But I would taste my enemy’s blood. He was weaker and more frightened, and he could not defeat me.

Finally he stood before me, fully wolf except the too-human panic racing through his mind. That I felt that emotion from him didn’t surprise me. He was Arkhon, in name if not power, and a bond existed though he had not solidified it as he should have.

I looked at the human-shaped alpha beside me. On his word, I would kill the enemy or die in the attempt. My legs twitched as I held myself back from the fight. I didn’t want to wait. I wanted to kill.

“Begin,” the human said.

Despite my desire to fight, I held back, waiting for my enemy to make the first move. He did the same, and I smelled confusion. I had challenged, and he didn’t understand why I wasn’t acting on it.

Finally he came for me.

I let him knock me to the ground but rolled us so I had him pinned. Reaching along my bonds to mate and pack, I drew as much strength as I was able. The enemy struggled and managed to shake free, but his next move, a bite aimed at my bad leg, merely gave me another opportunity to take him down.

From somewhere, he, too, pulled strength and continued fighting. Blood flew and I was dimly aware of pain in my chest and bad leg. I tasted blood without being fully aware of where my teeth had landed on his body.

A sudden desire hit me to lie down. To end the fight now before I was hurt. I was no ruler. I should give up and let Javier take the win.

I obeyed for only a moment or two. Urgency surged along my mate bond and I remembered what Kyle had told me. I didn’t have to obey anyone. I was strong and powerful, and the only one I had to obey was myself.

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome Karenna Colcroft

Leave a Reply

