Welcome Paige Prince today

secondchanceatlove_lrgHi and welcome to my blog, Paige Prince. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

Thank you Raine! I’d love a vodka and cranberry. And good lawd you’ve got some good lookin’ cabana boys!

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?

I’ve got a novella from Secret Cravings Publishing coming out in their Weekend Getaways line in May. I’m really excited because it’s my debut as an author. I may or may not be doing a happy dance right now.

Up next, I’m working on a category length novel about a musician and his publicist. It’s kind of a secret baby/friends to lovers/marriage of convenience story. I’ve been working on it for a while now and can’t wait to polish it up and send it off.

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released?

At the moment, I haven’t had one actually release yet. But when I got the word that I’d been offered a contract, I stood up on my bed and shouted. Then I cried.

What influenced you to get published? How long did it take for your first book to get published? 

I’ve been writing since I was 7, but didn’t think about actually submitting anything for publication until three of my writer friends convinced (read: badgered me) to submit. Jaime Saare, Elise Hepner, and Tibby Armstrong – thank you! When I finally got the nerve to send a novella to Secret Cravings, I chewed my nails to the quick. They have a pretty fast turnaround, but the three weeks I waited to know if I’d been accepted or not was torture!

Do you have a book that was easiest to write or one that was the hardest? 

I’ve written a lot of stories through the years, and hopefully one day I’ll polish them up and submit them somewhere. I have 3 current WIPs – the musician story, one about a soldier in Iraq, and one about a breakup. I have to say that the musician story and the breakup story are two of the easiest things I’ve ever written. The words flow from my fingers like I’m possessed. But the one about the soldier is like getting blood from a turnip. It’s so hard to write that one because it’s so incredibly sad. But it’s my baby and one day I will finish it, even if it kills me!

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write? 

Remember When by Nora Roberts/JD Robb, Dirty by Megan Hart, Acting Out by Tibby Armstrong, Dead Undead or Somewhere in Between by Jaime Saare… these are some of my “comfort reads” that I go back to continually. I fell in love with the stories, the settings, the characters, and ultimately the authors.

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories? 

Music is a MAJOR factor in my writing process. Every story I write has a soundtrack, and I’m hoping to make a list of each one available on my website as I release a new book. Most of my ideas come from the music I’m listening to. Second Chance at Love was originally titled “Inside Out” because I was listening to Emmy Rossum when I came up with the idea. But after polishing it up and taking out a few things that didn’t work, the title no longer fit and I had to change it.

If you could collaborate with one author who would it be? 

Do I have to pick just ONE? Oh man, that’s like picking a favorite child! I’ve been dreaming of writing with Nora Roberts since I was 9 years old, but after about 25, I’ve had that same dream of writing with Megan Hart.

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had? 

The line “You and me baby ain’t nothing but mammals, so let’s do it like they do on the Discovery Channel!” *shakes head* I was singing and dancing around the house one day while I was cleaning and when I heard that line, I suddenly had an image of one of my characters and I had to sit down and write before it went away.

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would they tell? 

“That girl is insane!” LOL She’d probably tell you that I talk to myself in character a lot, playing out scenes as I clean my house. Or that my favorite place to plot out a scene is in the shower (because it’s the only place my daughter and husband don’t bother me in).

Other than writing, what are some of your passions in life? 

My family, reading, singing… I’m actually kind of boring, sorry to say!

What books are currently on your nightstand? 

I’m a reviewer, so I have a TON currently sitting on my nightstand, both in eBook and in print! Off the top of my head, I’ve got Phoenix Rising: A Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences by Tee Morris and Pip Ballantine, The Arrangement by Cat Grant, To Iraq and Back by Jessica Scott and Anything for You by Jessica Scott.

What can readers expect next from you? 

I’m hoping to be able to finish my category length novel, tentatively titled London in the next few weeks. After that, I’m going to try to get the sequel to Second Chance at love written, since one of the characters won’t leave me alone about telling his story. *g*

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

You can visit me at my website, http://authorpaigeprince.wordpress.com, chat with me on Twitter at @paige_prince, or find me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/mamakitty729

Leave a Reply

