Welcome Tamara Monteau

Secrets&Promises_SMHi and welcome to my blog, Tamara. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?

T – I’m excited to announce Secrets & Promises, Haven’s Realm 5, has just been released. My lead character, Vincent, has hidden from the world his greatest torment, a curse which has defined his existence for more than a thousand years. His one true love and soul mate has returned to him, generation after generation, fated to die for his punishment. Now, to his horror, he finds her in the person of the very hunter who killed Devon, one of his dearest friends, and poisoned Jason, Brother of his Soul. Because of a vow he made when he was yet mortal, he must now stand against his Council brethren and the Bargain he helped to create.

Dr. Charlotte “Chari” Vinetti has been researching and experimenting on vampires for five years, ever since she witnessed one take away her best friend and part-time lover. When she is captured and realizes she’d acted against sentient, intelligent beings, she is filled with horror and remorse. Her terror escalates when one man arrives who her soul recognizes on sight—a man with chestnut hair and flaming sapphire eyes. As he steps in to her defense, the feeling that she’d somehow known him before and the realization that surrender to him would be her only hope, launches her on a journey of discovery that rocks her understanding of the universe and her place in it.

Here’s an excerpt to whet your appetite:

He placed his index finger on her lips to calm the flood of nonsense threatening to spill from her at any moment. “Listen carefully. We’ve been offered a chance, but it’s conditional upon your acceptance. Refuse, and I will defend you, but I won’t stand long against my friends. They will destroy me, and then you will be left to their anger.”

Her lips fluttered voicelessly for a moment. “If I agree?”

“If you surrender to me, I’ll take you in thrall, command control of your will.”

Shock and dread swept through her at his words. Becoming a mindless vampire slave was not tops on her personal hit parade.

“I know. I don’t want to, but I’ve sworn to do whatever I must to preserve you. Even that you own the power of choice does not relieve me of the pain this necessity will bring. I promise you will not be treated ill at my hand.”

She didn’t want the answer to her next question. “Then what?”

“Then we make our case to the Council. I don’t yet know what the Reckoning will demand of us. For that we must wait, but at least you’ll be alive.”

“What…what’s a Reckoning?”

“Your only means of rectifying the wrongs you’ve committed.”

She gaped at him. “They’re giving me a chance? Why?”

The smile he offered was filled with sorrow. “Because I stand with you.”

Another tear dripped from her eye. He caught the hot drop on the pad of his index finger and brought it to his lips. Moisture of his own gathered in his lashes. Why did he care what happened to her, a total stranger? Why would he risk his life for someone unworthy of defense? “Why do I feel as if…as if I should know you?”

“I will answer your questions when we have more time. For now you must understand one very important fact, and one alone. I am your only hope from this point forward. You must be willing to trust me if you wish to see another sunrise.”

He’d laid the facts on the table. She could deny him and die the most horrible death imaginable, or grasp at the straw he offered, take this leap of faith. He leaned forward, hooked his finger under her chin to adjust the angle of her face, and paused a hair’s breadth from her lips. Her breathing stalled, her heart-rate doubled. “Do this for me. I swear I’ll do whatever I can to help you through what is to come.”

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.

T – Among other of my ongoing projects is the restoration of my 1968 Camaro. My mother purchased it new in May of that year, gave it to me ten years later when I graduated high school, and passed away in April of 1995. I had sold the car to my sister five years earlier, and bought it back two years ago. She’d completely let the car go, and we’re forced to strip her down to nuts and bolts. Right now, the floor pans are under reconstruction. It was this car, dubbed “the Lady” by my sister, that inspired Mirissa’s car in Haven’s King. (Although her car was in much better shape.)

If someone hasn’t read any of your work, what book would you recommend that they start with and why?

T – Because I write books in a series, I would tend to recommend beginning with Twilight Destiny. There is an ongoing subplot which progresses as the stories unfold, though most of my books read well on their own. I have had readers of later works comment they wish to read the earlier books as well.

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write?

T – Maggie Shayne – Twilight Illusions, and Linda Lael Miller – Forever and the Night.

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

T – I prefer quiet. Sometimes my muse only whispers, and distractions complicate things. When the quiet gets too loud, I’ll turn on instrumental music. I prefer quieter selections, usually classical or movie soundtracks. Songs only make me want to sing along, and I don’t need the words to distract me from the voices of my friends.

Are your characters able to love or do they need to be taught?

T – No, well, yes. Actually, out of the five stories I’ve written thus far, with six couples to reconsider, now that I think about it, most of them did need a lesson or three. The only ones to know they were in love from the first were Jason (Haven’s King), Vincent (Secrets & Promises), and the couple Rudy and Lindsey (Secrets & Promises). The rest all had one conflict or another that needed to be resolved before they could open their hearts. 

What can readers expect next from you?

T – My sixth book in the Haven’s Realm series is well underway. The title will be Midnight Skye, and will involve another of my Council Elders, Christian Lafontaine, in a long-standing contest with his cousin, Lucien Labossière, over the ownership of a woman’s heart.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

Where to find Tamara:

Website: http://www.Havens-Realm.com

Blogsite: http://havensrealm.wordpress.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TamaraMonteau

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TamaraMonteauAuthor

 

Buy Links:

Secret Cravings Publishing

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

BookStrand

 

Leave a Reply

