Welcome Tony-Paul de Vissage

Clancover4-001Hi and welcome to my blog, Tony-Paul de Vissage. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  

Merci, Raine, and bon jour, Zeke…Jake…but tell me, are there no cabana girls around? I’ll have a gin and tonic, s’il vous plait.

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?

I’ve just finished editing my novel The Clan Andriescu for Class Act Books. Its release date is May 15.
How would you describe yourself using only five words?

Short…talented…Southern…terse…devastatingly handsome (oh wait, that’s two words, isn’t it?)
Do you have any guilty pleasures?

But of course… only I won’t tell them because then they wouldn’t be guilty, n’est pas ce bien?

If we asked your muse to describe you using five words, what do you think they would say?

My Muse isn’t speaking to me right now so they probably wouldn’t be flattering. She’d probably say…chubby spoiled talented blond runt…and then smile as she flipped me the finger and disappeared.
Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.

How scandalous should it be?  You mean like…I haven’t owned underwear since 1994?  Or that my new vampire series is based on facts from my own family?
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Orange County, California, with homes in Ireland and Hawaii for specific seasons of the year…and perhaps a little mountain hideaway in the Carpathians for those little “week-end getaways.”
How do you get yourself in the mood to write?

I make a pot of coffee, fling myself into my chair, fire up the computer and say, “OK, Pal, get it into gear and let’s start writing!”
If someone hasn’t read any of your work, what book would you recommend that they start with and why?

It depends if they want it light or very dark. For the café au lait vampire lovers, I’d recommend The Clan Andriescu.  For those preferring a deep, dark roast, Since my series isn’t released yet…The Night Man Cometh.  Both are equally appetizing if read on a dark and stormy night.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

Not really.  I just give myself a pat on the back for a successful submission, take a deep breath, and soldier on to the next story.

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write?

Dracula would have to be at the top of the list. Other than that, there are so many.  Any of JR Ward’s Black Brotherhood entries, with a dollop of Sookie Stackhouse, and one long-ago novel whose name I can’t remember, one of the first to have a sympathetic view of the vampire. What is the title of that book? (Note to self:  Hurry up and have your library shipped from California so you can find out.)

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

I play a lot of classical music and try to match it to the mood of whatever I’m writing.  I also play a lot of Kevin MacLeod’s pieces.  When I was writing Vampires are Forever, I listened to “Miri’s Magic Dance” so much I was certain I’d wear it out.  Trouble is I usually want to get up and dance to the music and that’s counterproductive to writing unless I’ve got one of those laptop-tablets like the ones in the commercial.

If you could collaborate with one author who would it be?

I truly don’t have any idea. If I named a couple of my favorites, I’d be afraid there’d be a class of egos which would end what might be the beginning of a beautiful friendship before it starts.

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

A scene from the movie “Jeepers Creepers’ where the heroine runs over the vampire-like creature with her car and it sits up with its wings broken and slowly puts itself back together.

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would she tell?

If the lady knows what’s good for her, she’d keep those pretty lips sealed…or it’s no more honey and ambrosia for you, dearie.

Are your characters able to love or do they need to be taught? 

Most of them are looking for love. The vampire characters sometimes have to re-learn it because they either lost or hidden that capacity when they died and they believe to show love is to show weakness and a weak vampire doesn’t last long.

Do you have a book that was easiest to write or one that was the hardest? 

Vampires are Forever was relatively easy because it was so light.  All I had to do was turn the superstitions around and laugh at them (nicely, of course).

The Night Man Cometh was difficult because it spanned such a long period of time and I wanted the historical sections as accurate as possible so I did a lot of research.  I also had to cross-reference other novels because I invited some characters from my friend Linda Nightingale’s pantheon of vampires to visit and I had to get them right.  Linda’s a particularly protective lady where her Undead are concerned. My soon-to-be-publishing series The Second Species has been pretty difficult because it takes the vampire legends and gives realistic reasons for a good many of them and I had to keep reminding myself not to fall into the old “supernatural explanation” for everything.

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write? 

Just about anything with a supernatural bent.  Dracula, of course…Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden series…I’ve already mentioned JR Ward.

What can readers expect next from you?

As I mentioned, I have a series. The Second Species, coming out. It’s with Double Dragon Publishing, but I don’t’ have a release date for the first novel, The Shadow Lord, yet. It’s just been turned over to an editor this week.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?  

Here’s all the places I can be found (he’s here, he’s there, he’s everywhere…)

Website: Http://www.tony-paul.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tonypaul.devissage

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/505918625

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5117438.Tony_Paul_de_Vissage

Amazon Author Central: https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/profile

Twitter: @tpvissage

Clancover4-001

The Clan Andriescu

Class Act Books

Paranormal/anthology

Marius, head of the Clan… Exiled for stealing one too many women from his prince…He can’t understand why the woman he loved in 1968 doesn’t want to renew their affair in 2013…

Valerius, the baby brother… ordered to marry, he selects the one girl who’s off limits because she’s human…all right to bite but not to wed…

Timon, the cousin… Being married to the most famous writer of vampire novels since Anne Rice can be fun, until she writes an exposé proving vampires are real…

When the sun sets on SavannahBeach, they meet a smart-ass adolescent named Tony-Paul de Vissage…they entrust their life story to him…

Twenty years later, it becomes a novel…

EXCERPT: 

Hovering, though his wings seemed to cut the air with crashes loud enough to wake the most deeply slumbering Undead, Marius landed before the gate of Janos Crancina’s cetate. Once they’d seen the Domnitor’s sigil on his sleeve, the noble’s men had no choice but to allow him inside the castel’s compound, though they did so silently and with great trepidation.

Notified he had a visitor, Janos appeared readily enough, his chestnut hair gleaming in the moonlight, striding forward eagerly to greet his friend. Coming happily to his death, Marius thought. “Marius. This is well-met. Come in, please.”

Ignoring the outstretched hand and the smile of welcome, Marius pulled the Royal orders from the gauntlet of his riding glove, unrolled it, and read aloud the command ordering his friend to give up the woman he loved.

Janos’ smile faded. He looked past Marius as if just now seeing the six armed men standing behind him. His gaze moved back to rest upon the embroidered crest on the riding coat.

“I see.” His answer was calm enough, though there was desperation in his eyes. “Is there no way I may dissuade you from taking any action in this?”

Behind him, in the doorway, the female appeared. Marius recognised her, one of the castel’s maidservants. Most of the vampires had humans amongst their household staff but most were thralls, pledged to their masters through blood. He remembered her from his many visits to the castel. She was one of the servants who waited on table when Janos’ had guests, but he’d never seen him treat this woman any differently from the others, at least not when his friend was around. In private, apparently his behavior had been quite different. Marius had to admit she was pretty enough, with the moonlight gleaming on her hair, brown eyes dark as night-wells, and her figure…Oh gods! She was with child, her belly a rounded little bulge swelling the front of her gown.  For an instant, he felt physically ill. How can I carry out an execution against a breeding female, even a human oneJanos, you are doubly a fool!

Seeing his hesitation, Janos tried to capitalize on it. “Don’t do this, my brother. Don’t punish us because we dared to cross the boundary between human and vampire.”

“If it were my decision alone, I wouldn’t care, Brother. But…” Marius shook his head, closing his eyes so his friend wouldn’t see the brief glitter of tears. “You know I’ve no say in the matter. If I rebel against the Domnul’s orders, I place my own family in danger.

Very well.” It appeared Janos expected that answer, for he didn’t argue further, simply nodded, just as sadly. He looked over his shoulder at one of his men. “Bring my sword.”

The female began to sob and Janos turned to take her in his arms, speaking softly to her. Briefly they seemed to argued, words coming in short, sharp whispers. Marius imagined she was offering to surrender, and his friend was forbidding it. The lovesick foolIs any human female worth dying for?

As if not wanting to witness what was about to happen, the moon slipped behind a dark cloud, hiding its face.

At the age of six, Tony-Paul de Vissage was allowed to sit up and watch the old Universal classic Dracula’s Daughter on TV. He was scared sleepless…and is now paying his parents back by writing about vampires.

Leave a Reply

