VBT Stop~Tempted by Trouble/Contest

Tempted Banner (2)

Hi and welcome to my blog, Michelle Smart. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?

Hello and thank you for having me! At the moment I am working on revisions for my second Harlequin Presents book. My debut Presents, The Rings That Bind, will be released on the 23rd July.
How would you describe yourself using only five words?

Bubbly, open, loyal, honest, scatterbrained.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

The Seychelles. I went there for a friend’s wedding and it’s the most beautiful place in the world. If I won the lottery, that’s the first place I would head.

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

Music is a MUST. I’ve organized my tunes into playlists that are selected depending on the mood of where I am in the story. I’ve got some stuff on there that’s so soppy and sappy even sweet little Cinderella would puke at its sickliness!

If you could collaborate with one author who would it be?

In the contemporary romance world, I would choose Sarah Morgan. Her books are full of so much humor, tension and heart, all the things I aspire to with my own writing – Abby Green is another author I hugely admire for the same reasons (sorry, I know you said one!). I would love the opportunity to ply them with vodka and prise their secrets from them.

TbT Cover

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

Ooo, I like this question – this has really got me thinking!

I think the strangest must be when I was at an Open Farm with my kids a couple of years ago, and I kept noticing this man with his daughter. They seemed so ill-at-ease with each other that it was obvious he was probably even less than a weekend dad – maybe an occasional Saturday dad. By the time we got back home, I’d plotted this poor man’s whole life and future out: suddenly he was a workaholic gazillionaire who’d put his young, motherless daughter into boarding school and had taken her to an Open Farm for her birthday, the first time he’d seen her in three months. Whilst there, he bumped into his daughter’s old nanny, a woman he had sacked for insubordination a few years previously and a woman whom his daughter adored… from these humble beginnings, hate would flourish, followed by passion and then, naturally love. Sigh.

Alas, I was nearer the mark with my first assessment – he was an occasional Saturday dad. I know this because a friend of mine dated him very briefly a short while later, meeting him via an online dating agency. By all accounts he was a total poseur!!! And I never did write the book – maybe one day. That’s if someone reading this isn’t hit for inspiration and writes about a gazillionaire taking his young daughter to an Open Farm for her birthday!

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would they tell?

Unfortunately I’m an open-book and completely incapable of keeping my own secrets. I think my muse would probably complain that I don’t know when to shut up!

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? (links, news, etc)

I would just like to say thanks for having me here – it’s been an absolute pleasure. If any of your followers would like to contact me, they can reach me via my website http://www.michelle-smart.com or via twitter @chellebellwrite or via facebook http://www.facebook.com/michellesmartauthor.

Tempted Banner (2)

Blog Tour Contest Information:

Fill out the raffelcopter below to be entered for a $30 gift card of the winner’s choice of Amazon, Amazon U.K., Barnes and Noble or Book Depository.  The giveaway will be given at the end of the tour to one international winner.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Tempted by Trouble:

As far as Marco’s concerned, wild child Pippa has ruined his life once and he’ll be damned if he lets her do it again. But it’s hard to reconcile the adolescent he knew with the mature, beautiful woman who stands before him. Soon he’s questioning if everything the media is claiming about Pippa is the truth, or if he should trust his heart.

Socialite Pippa Rowantree has always provided excellent fodder for the UK’s gossip rags. After another unfortunate scandal sends the gossips into a feeding frenzy, her shamed family retaliates by forcing her into hiding at old family friend, Marco Capello’s lush Caribbean estate—literally the last place on earth she wants to be.

Michelle Smart Author Photo (2)A bit about the author Michelle Smart:

Michelle’s love affair with books began as a baby when, according to her mum, she would throw her teddies out of the cot and cuddle with books instead. This love of all things wordy has never left her. A voracious reader, her tastes cross all genres. Her first experience with romance was as a child devouring copious amount of fairy tales. As her reading tastes evolved, she discovered something special–a book has the capacity to make her heart beat as if falling in love the first time.
When not reading or pretending to do the housework, Michelle loves nothing more than creating worlds of her own featuring handsome heroes and the sparkly, feisty women who refuse to take crap from them. She hopes her books can make her readers’ hearts beat a little faster, too.
Links:
Visit Michelle Smart’s website: http://www.michelle-smart.com
3 thoughts on “VBT Stop~Tempted by Trouble/Contest

  1. Thank you for an honest, open, heart to heart interview.
    It was heartwarming.
    The book Title has a nice ring to it.Like it 🙂
    Also special thanks for making the contest international.
    Very thoughtful and generous of you,
    My best wishes to you,
    Sydney W
    Bookaddict100(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Leave a Reply

