Welcome Eve Summers

ElevatorWithView_small

Hi and welcome to my blog, Eve Summers. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

Thank you for hosting me, Raine.

I have a Cruise Ship series of romances published by Red Rose Publishing, and my current work-in-progress is the 3rd book in the series. The title is The Captain Of My Soul. I love my Cruise Liner Adventure series, because every time I write a new story, it’s like being back on the ship, sipping champagne and staring at the big blue ocean.

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

Oh, yes. My husband and I married young, and we’re still together after two decades. Every time a new book of mine comes out, we share a bottle of bubbly. In warm weather, we’ll sit on the terrace overlooking native New Zealand bush, otherwise it’s the Jacuzzi. You see, I firmly believe that to write romance book, the author needs to lead a romantic life… or so I tell my husband when motivating the next exotic holiday plans, LOL.

 

What influenced you to get published? How long did it take for your first book to get published?

I always wanted to experience holding a book I wrote. You know, holding it in my own two hands, smelling the paper and the glue, paging through it, placing it lovingly on the shelf. And so I queried publisher after publisher until – four years later – one offered me a contract.

 

Do you have a book that was easiest to write or one that was the hardest?

The first book is always the hardest to write. Not saying that the second or the twentieth is a breeze, but they get easier with experience.

 

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write?

As a teenager, I devoured the classics: Gone With The Wind, Rich Man Poor Man, The Robe. They made me respect books, but they never inspired me to follow in the author’s footsteps. It’s only when I started reading more modern novels that I realized I could, one day, write a book, too.

 

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

Music with a strong beat and lots of energy (Another One Bites The Dust, Losing My Religion, I Was Made For Loving You Baby) energize me and make me want to type away at the keyboard. Well, it’s either that, or aerobics, and exercise is not my strongest passion….

 

If you could collaborate with one author who would it be?

Joshilyn Jackson – she writes books layered with emotional depth.

 

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

Holidays. Whenever I go to a new country, I just itch to set a book there. That’s why some of my romances have these exotic backdrops like Thailand, Fiji, Tahiti….

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would they tell?

“She chews gum when she works. Ew, and her fingernails! Oh, look, she stopped writing again, bet she’s gonna check Facebook again and then make another cup of tea… see, what did I tell you?”

 

Other than writing, what are some of your passions in life? 

Reading. Scuba diving. Lounging around a hotel pool with a cocktail. Being with my family. Cooking gourmet meals (but not daily dinner). Wine tasting. I used to say “chocolate”, but, would you believe it, sugar makes me fall asleep lately, so I can’t have any!

 

What books are currently on your nightstand? 

I often read more than one book at a time, and I always plan ahead so I’m not caught without reading material, so currently on my nightstand, in a precarious pile, are:

  • A Nigella Lawson cookbook (Feasts)
  • Jane Porter’s Mrs Perfect (I read this one at least once a year to remind myself it’s ok not to be perfect)
  • Jane Porter’s Odd Mom Out (to remind myself it’s ok to be quirky)
  • Jennifer Crusie’s Welcome To Temptation
  • Keeping The House, a novel by Ellen Baker
  • Love Poems by Pablo Neruda
  • An empty space waiting for Joshilyn Jackson’s upcoming release

 

What can readers expect next from you?

Insert Name Here, a romance set off the African coast, will be coming out shortly. Watch Red Rose Publishing for details.

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?  

My blog: http://eve-summers.blogspot.com/

My author page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Eve-Summers/55853654786

DanceLikeEveryoneWatching small

 

Dance like Everyone’s Watching by Eve Summers

Red Rose Publishing

Holiday, Interracial/Multicultural, Romantic Suspense, erotic contemporary

http://redrosepublishing.com/books/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=295&products_id=838

Cruise Liner Adventures Series, Book One

As a dancer on a luxury cruise liner, Taffy has a dream job: earning tax-free money for something she’s passionate about, while not spending a cent on bed & board. Taffy, however, has a secret and the money is not coming in fast enough for her liking, especially when her focus turns away from money towards the steady, sexy and dark Ashton, whose ex-girlfriend shares Taffy’s crew cabin. 

The pool boy, Ashton, is in reality the undercover heir to the shipping company’s fortune. When an emerald pendant is stolen, Ashton has to discover the culprit before the company’s reputation is compromised. As much as he hates to admit it, Taffy is the prime suspect….

Teaser Excerpt: 

Taffy was dancing, dancing, dancing. Throwing her head back, laughing, laughing. The music melded with her soul, and they moved as one, rocked by the gentle swaying of the cruise ship.

“Woo–hoo,” a male voice from the audience shouted. “You go, girl!”

She knew she couldn’t stop… because if she did, people wouldn’t know they were enjoying their deluxe cruise holiday. She knew she couldn’t stop, because she was paid heaps of tax–free money, money she needed urgently. And so she kept on dancing.

“Show the passengers a good time,” her manager had said just a few hours earlier. “They will want to take lots of colorful snapshots to put in their photo albums. Make sure all their friends envy them, will you.” It was an order, not a request.

“I’ll do my best,” she had promised. She always wanted to do her best.

Now she found it hard to keep her promise. This was Taffy’s first night on the cruise and already a trickle of disappointment seeped into the back of her mind. The blue–green–red disco lights by the swimming pool were tedious. The welcome–aboard party a waste of time.

What am I doing here? Taffy tossed her hair from side to side and smiled at the front row of people with too much jewelry. Yes, she did it for the money of course, but…. Where was the magic?

The ship, so majestic in photos and 360–degree views when she browsed the Internet, up close revealed its age. Used by two thousand passengers last week, at present used by two thousand more, only to tart up its grimy surfaces for the two thousand who’d come in seven days’ time….

Hello, who was that? Taffy’s heart dropped a beat mid–dance as her gaze fell on a dark–skinned man… boy… no, his body was that of a man, strong and angular, yet his eyes said they’d never seen sin. The white military shirt identified him as one of the crew. Taffy felt an inexplicable pull. She was certain she’d never met the man before, yet the urge to reach out and touch his cheek was overwhelming.

His mouth… oh, dear gods, she got lost in his grin. Romance books called it captivating, and they got it right. It was an intimate grin, a grin meant only for her, as though she were the only woman in the world. Its warmth percolated into her body, eliciting a smile in return. He grinned as though the world was his lover, and Taffy was next. The thought sent a prickling awareness straight into her inner core.

I want you to look at me like that again. The dance forced Taffy into a slow pirouette.

When she could look toward the audience again, the man–boy was gone. Her stomach clenched with regret. The one magical thing on this enormous ship was gone…

… and Taffy had no choice but to keep on dancing.

Leave a Reply

