Guest Author Day with Beverly Price

bp-lm-justherluck3

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Beverly Price. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

First I want to thank you for having me here today. It’s a real treats.

Right now I am working on the third book for the Lucky Series. The name is still unknown, and will be determined as the story unfolds. I am waiting to hear back on the second book “Unlucky (Lucky, Montana #2)”.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

I would love to say getting plowed, but truth is, it consists of going out to eat as a family. Nothing too exciting about it. Husband got a cake that has “Getting Lucky” on it, so that was funny. So now that is my new saying.

What influenced you to get published? How long did it take for your first book to get published?

My first book took a bit, as I was finishing going to school at the same time. However actually writing to book is a funny story. You see a friend of mine had just read a book, and was very disappointed in it. So we both joked back and forth saying what would be better, until I said I could do better. She laughed and dared me. So I sat down one say and started to write, and now here I am. I can honestly say it was the best dare I have ever done (and I have done some stupid ones!) 

Do you have a book that was easiest to write or one that was the hardest?

 Not really. I tend to write whatever pops in my bed. I have a special file for all my rants so I tend to go in there when I am stuck. I think the first book was a little harder as I was not sure what the publisher would like. So I went in blind, turns out I was on the right track!

Could you tell us a couple of favorite books that inspired you to write?

I love all of Sophie Oak’s books. She has a way with words, along with Melody Monroe Snow. All of their books, even Jane Jamison has influenced me in some way.

Is music a factor for you while you are writing? Do certain songs put you in the right frame of mind to write certain stories?

I do have to listen to certain music depending on what I am writing and time of day. In the morning it is something fast pace, while in the evening I tend to listen to classical music when I put the children to bed. But to answer music is always going when I am writing anything. I have special headphone that tune the world out so I can jump into mine.

If you could collaborate with one author who would it be?

I really don’t know. I would love to do something with another author, but cannot pick just one. Each author has his or her own style, so trying to add mine would be interesting. There are a couple new authors that would be fun to write something with, but we’ll see.

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

I would say the people I talk to at my children’s school. A lot of adults sit at a table and talk before the children are released. Half the time I just sit there smile and nod, while my brain picks over how they move and speak.

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would they tell?

Oh good lord I would be in so much trouble. I tend to do things or say things that even my husband blushes. However, my little annoying muse tends to pop in and out at the worst moments. She would tell everyone how I would write some then get stuck and walk or do sit ups to increase blood flow, then go back to write. I was never one to sit still…Oh along with my weird obsession with red wine and chocolate at night (great combo!)

Other than writing, what are some of your passions in life?

I am huge into baking. I have a small at home bakery where I tend to sell a lot of cakes. I am known for my unique cupcakes, such as peanut butter and jelly, and even the breakfast cupcake (French toast cupcake with maple cream cheese frosting and bacon on top). So I am always in the kitchen. 

I also sing as well. Any chance I get. I even do musical numbers in my head to help me think of what to do next when I am stuck (Yeah I have a bit of weird in me!) 

Since I have four children I spend a good chunk of my evening with them, so be all have big into reading. I reach one to two chapters a night. Currently we are reading the Hunger Games, them moving on to Journey to the Center of the earth.

What books are currently on your nightstand?

I actually have my Kindle loaded with all types of goodies. I am not just a romance fan, but I love murder mystery as well. Sometimes my brain needs a break from all the lovins.

What can readers expect next from you?

I have in the works a total of three for the Lucky Montana series, but then I am switching it up and finishing up a shifter series I have had working in the back. I will work on anything my muse throws my way.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

You can find me on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com/beverlyprice01

At Bookstand: http://www.bookstrand.com/beverly-price

Or email me at: Beverly_price@yahoo.com

 Just Her Luck by Beverly Pricebp-lm-justherluck3

Blurp:

Riley O’Connor has been on the run from her past, but when her luck turns south she ends up in a small town just outside of the Canadian border. She is not used to allowing others to take care of her, however, Riley must face her demons and rely on two strangers. Will she try and run again, or stay and fight for the life she has created for herself with the men she has fallen for?

Cooper and Cash Jackson live a perfect small-town life, but when a small broken woman enters their world with her past following right behind her, the men stick together to try and save her. When an attack on Riley happens, they discover someone within the town is actually behind the attacks. Cooper and Cash are faced with the question of who they can trust to keep her safe.

Adult excerpt

Lunch went by quick, and soon she found herself back at work. Cooper had not returned from his call out to one of the ranches, and the sheriff was nowhere to be found. Riley sat down and started filing the reports that were left on the desk. The door rang, and Riley looked up to a very pissed-off Cash.

“Where the hell were you? I tried calling you on the cell and here. Cooper is out on a damn call and the damn sheriff is gone. There is no one here with you. I agreed you could take this job as long as someone was here to watch you, and you ran off without a damn care in the world. Now where the fuck did you go?” Cash was screaming hostilely as he approached Riley, who was now backed against the wall of the office.

“I can do whatever the hell I want, Cash Jackson! But for your information, I went to lunch with Sam. It was nothing big, but I went there and came right back. So don’t go getting your panties all in a twist. No one is going to get me in here.”

“Kitten, you’re skating on thin ice. I have had just about enough and should put you over my knee and watch that tight ass turn bright pink and hot under my hand for not listening to me and Cooper. Then maybe you would think twice before putting yourself in any danger again.” Cash knew he was hanging on by a thread. His heart had stopped when he had not been able to get a hold of her, and he knew Coop was out on a call.

“You wouldn’t dare spank me. You talk a big talk, Cash, but you have used this line on me before and you haven’t once followed through. So go blow it out your ass.” Riley knew she shouldn’t be baiting him, but she had had enough of him telling her what she could and couldn’t do. As soon as the thought popped into her head, Cash was on her and dragging her into the sheriff’s office and locking the door.

“Oh, kitten, now you have done it.” Then the next thing Riley knew, she was being turned around, facing the desk, as Cash worked on the button of her jeans.

Cash was well aware that Riley was pushing her luck, but he was more than happy to play. He did warn her, and his palm twitched with anticipation of heating her ass up good. The stunt she pulled with her leaving and just now had earned her ten good spankings.

 

Leave a Reply

