Welcome V.S. Nelson Today

cover snalll

Hi and welcome to my blog, Virginia Nelson who writes under the name V.S. Nelson. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  

Thank you for having me.

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

Of Course, Cupid and Penelope – A Different Kind of Love Story was released Jan 10. It is a cute, little story I originally wrote for a Valentine’s Day anthology. After finishing the story I decided to pull the anthology from the publisher, made it a tad longer and set up a short story series. It’s the perfect short read for someone who doesn’t have time to get involved in a full length novel.

Jan 15, the long awaited for series, Sekhmet’s Guardians – Book One – Eternal Lovers launched. I’m thrilled to finally see this story come to print. Book Two, Eternal Nights is scheduled for release May 1.

I also have several other WIP but I will save those titles for another day.

How would you describe yourself using only five words?

Outgoing, ambitious, over-enthusiastic, and sexually-romantic.

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say? 

Dangerous curves ahead.

Do you have any guilty pleasures? 

Who doesn’t’? Chocolate, good wine and great sex!

cupid -and penelope  cover snallName one thing readers would be surprised to know about you. 

Hum, good one. Might be the fact I spent 12 years teaching in the Middle East and I loved every minute of it. So much so, I have started a new series based upon my experiences there, but I’ll save that plug for a latter date.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?  

Three years ago, I would have said Egypt but with all the recent changes in their government I’d have to retract that statement. Still if things settle down over there you will find me going back to Egypt for my retirement years.

How do you get yourself in the mood to write? 

I’m pretty programmed. I get up every morning before 5am (at the latest) and start my writing within thirty minutes of having my first cup of coffee.

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? 

Up, coffee, 30 minutes devoted to email, facebook etc. Then hit what ever story I’m working on. I like to do thirty minute sprints, take a 10-15 minute break and hit it again after refilling my coffee and making a quick trip to the lady’s room You’ll find me sitting at my computer until 2pm at which time I take a two hour break (or a short nap) By 4 I’m at it again only this time is devoted to edits and rewrites. Dh comes home around 7 and we tend to step out for a quick bite to eat and talk about our day. Home again, I resume my seat at the computer to answer email, etc then off to bed where I spent at least two hours reading aloud to my dh – then it’s light out for him. I read silently until I fall asleep.

Who are some of your favorite authors? 

I enjoy the works of lots of authors in and out of my genre’ but I would have to say, J.R. Ward, Lara Adrian, and Suzanne Brockman are at the top of my list.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?

J.R. Ward’s Lover at Last, Lara Adrian’s Edge of Dawn.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

Breathe then have a great glass of wine (or two) with my critique group.

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss? 

I have very little time to watch TV these days but I do tape Criminal Minds then watch it on Sundays. I tend to be more of a movie person. Sunday is the only day off I take and usually you will find me at the theatre with a bag of popcorn and a cold drink taking in the new releases.

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books?

The first character that comes to mind isn’t from a book but rather an older movie, The Scorpion King. The rock is such a hunk to begin with and with all that long hair…( I find myself fanning the sudden hot flash that came over me.)

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

The inspiration I suddenly got from reading one of those magnetic signs on an old pickup launched the idea for “Hubby for Hire”. (not yet released) The sign was for handyman services… the book is not. <Grin>

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? 

Probably the fact that I actually blush when I write sex scenes.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

I really enjoyed my time here and thank you for hosting me. I can’t wait to come back for another chat session.

Amazon along with other fine bookstores everywhere carries my books in print and e-formats. Signed print editions can be obtained through my website.

 

cupid -and penelope  cover snallCUPID AND PENELOPE – A Different Kind of Love Story

(Heat level 3, some graphic and descriptive sex scenes)
Blurb:Hiding in the circus as a clown was the best idea Cupid ever had. For years he continued to deny himself the pleasure of real love which he continued to bring to others… until he met Penelope who was looking for more then just a fling.

Sekhmet’s Guardians – Book One – Eternal Lovers.

(Heat level 3, some graphic and descriptive sex scenes)

cover snalllANCIENT LEGENDS – NEW WORLDS – Humans weren’t the only ones to migrate to America

When two hidden worlds collide near modern day Lake Michigan, Jennifer, a young Native American, is confronted with the reality, not everything is as it seems and things do go bump in the night. The questions she has long since asked are answered in this epic tale of self discovery when she meets Gabriel; the director of Guardians Incorporated.

Born in New Tuat, Netchkhet, now known as Gabriel, came to Earth some five thousand years ago to protect the human race. Disillusioned because of an unfulfilled prophecy, he has become cold and distant — even from those of his kind. Secretly, he waits for his enemy to take his head so he may leave this world for good.

Can a tiny Selkie melt his hardened heart and restore his faith in a power far greater than himself? When history repeats itself, can he save her from death’s embrace or will they be robbed of a future again?

***

V.S. Nelson has always enjoyed reading stories with strong relationships and happy endings so it’s not surprising she found herself writing across the romance genre. Even her commercial fiction, Sins of a Man, the memoirs of a Mafia Hit man, is layered with romantic elements.

Landing in Arizona, after an exciting teaching career, which took her to the Middle East for several years, she lives in Arizona where she spend most of my time making love to her computer while writing, editing or researching, seven to ten hours a day. The days she’s not writing, you will find her with my critique partners at Starbucks, attending or presenting a workshop or at a RWA meeting.

Being a Native American woman and a Scorpio, she’s always had a fondness for history, mythology, the occult, and the unexplained events which have occurred on this world we call home. It was no wonder she found herself writing a paranormal series.

She enjoys hearing from readers, fans and people with similar interests. They are more than welcome to contact her through her website http://www.authorvsnelson.com 

LINKS:

Website

http://www.authorvsnelson.com

Blog

http://authorvsnelson.com/blog

Facebook pages

http://www.facebook.com/pages/VSNelson/152633848161794

http://www.facebook.com/authorvsnelson

2 thoughts on “Welcome V.S. Nelson Today

  1. So nice and relaxed interview, I really enjoyed it. It is great to find out little bits about the author as a person such as she is a chocolate lover and blushes while writing love scenes. As a reader, I remember these little things about the author while reading a book, not the dry official author bios. As an author, I enjoy a relaxed chat when I’m interviewed. Book one of Sekhmet’s guardians is next my reading list:) My compliments to the blog owner, the blog setup is nice and clear, easy to find info without the flashy-pushy ads. I enjoyed visiting here:)

Leave a Reply

