Blog Tour Stop with SR Howen

VBT Medicine Man Book Cover Banner copyHi and welcome to my blog, S.R. Howen. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?  

I am working on the editing phase of Medicine Man II: Raven.  I am also working on a contemporary Romance with a slight edge of paranormal involved.  My next release will be a fantasy romance The Wizard’s Heart also from Wild Child Publishing.

How would you describe yourself using only five words? 

Imaginative, sarcastic, crazy author bitch. (My daughter helped with this question)

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say?

My first reaction to this one was: see above.  There are so many that apply.

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

The first thought that came to mind was not PG.  I’d have to say FB, I spend way too much time on it, and have to check it regularly on my phone as well.  But then again I might trade that for a nice steak and baked potato dinner.  But just for a day.

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you. 

I’m over 50, and female.  A lot of readers expect me to be younger and to be male, if they have never seen a picture of me.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? 

In the center of 3000 acres in the foot hills of the rocky mountians.  Yes, I like my isolation.  I’m not anti-social I just like ot choose when I interact with people.

How do you get yourself in the mood to write? 

I’ve trained myself over the years to sit, fingers to keys and write.  I don’t have to be in the mood.  But my novels do have a soundtrack to them.  I start with one song and build as the novel goes on, most times ending up with 12 or so tracks.  Then when I want to edit or work on the project I put that sound track on and I am instantly in the world of that story.

VBT Medicine Man Banner copy

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? 

I start my days at sunrise.  I check e-mail and work on marketing the first 2 hours of the day.  I am also an editor, so I spend about 6 hours on editing, so another hour of marketing, and then spend 4 or so hours on my own writing.  I only sleep about 4 to 5 hours a night.

I need my mason jar of unsweet ice tea (with Lemon), and my music.

Who are some of your favorite authors? 

Do we have several pages?  Sue Grafton, JA Jance, JD Robb, Tony Hillerman, Kurt Vonagut, Stephen King, Orson Scott Card, RR Martin . . .  So many I am always trying to catch up with their newest releases, and I read in many different genres.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for? 

Wow, hard one, my to read list on Goodreads is pretty long.  Right now I am looking forward to the nexr JD Robb book and another by JA Jance would be nice as well.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

We usually go out to dinner.  A book release is always exciting.  But it also means a lot of work coming up with marketing and so on.

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss? 

Dexter and The Walking Dead

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books?

Another hard question.  I don’t too often fall in love with one of the characters out of a book.  I have a story I am working on right now that I wouldn’t mind dating the main character, he’s dark, dangerous, and damaged.  What’s not to love?

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

Plot bunnies like to attack when I am in the bathroom.  No idea why they do this other than I am captive so they can bite and bite with no way to escape them.

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? 

Hmm, I write in the dark with the screen off most of the time, have my ear buds in and if someone touches me I yelp and startle.  I also yell at my characters at times.

 Contest Information:

S. R. will be awarding a $10 Wild Child Publishing GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour. Leave a comment with your email address (in case you win) to be entered into this contest.

For more entries into the contest, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2012/12/virtual-book-tour-medicine-man-i-chief.html

Cover_Medicine Man I The Chief of All TimeMedicine Man I: The Chief of All Time

By S.R.Howen 

Genre: Ethnic/Horror/Romance/Spiritual
Book Length: Plus Novel
Word Count: 109,283
Pages: 332
Price: $5.99 for ebook, $10.99 for print.

Shannon Running Deer is American Indian by blood, but he has forsaken his people’s ancient ways to embrace the “modern” world as a wealthy, highly successful trauma surgeon.

His comfortable existence begins to unravel when, seemingly by chance, Shannon finds himself gradually drawn into the past. Pursued by an ancient evil, he knows he can change the future, if he can survive the past.

In the tradition of Diana Gabaldon, S.R. Howen’s MEDICINE MAN is a distinctive and atmospheric novel full of spirituality, mystical time travel, romance, passion, and suspense.

Teaser Excerpt:

She stood up, undid her jeans, and started lowering them as if I were not staring at her like some lusty teenager. I fled the room and shut the door on her seductive form. I stood in the hallway, leaned against the wall with my eyes shut, and tried to still the passion she invoked in me. I knew she didn’t wear a bra; the absent top buttons on her shirt made it obvious. She also didn’t wear any underwear. Not unless they were much lower on her hips than her partly lowered jeans. In all my adult life, I had never felt like this before.

“You could have her. Take her,” the elk-man’s voice echoed.

“You’ve been too long without a wife,” my grandfather said.

“Leave me alone,” I said, as much to the elk-man voice as to my grandfather.

“You have been too long without a wife,” my grandfather repeated.  “Even I remember what it was like to be that ready for a woman.”

I tried to yank my shirt down farther before I opened my eyes to tell him to mind his own business. I got a good view of his back as he went into the guest room. The door shut with a firm thump. The sound of the lock turning made me shake my head.

My grandfather was at his exasperating best. Later, he would wander out of there to raid the refrigerator for whatever he could find. I went into the kitchen and put the teakettle on the stove. The burner lit with a faint whoosh, and I experienced a flash of the medicine dances I’d attended in my youth. The tribal medicine man would throw fine sulfur dust into the fire to make it do the same thing. A grand show, as was everything medicine men did. None of their tricks had worked for my father.

My father, being a firm believer in the old ways, would’nt seek out modern medicine past the point of being told he had terminal cancer. He wouldn’t even consider modern healing mixed with the old beliefs. My own mother turned her back on me after he died.

The teapot shrilled, and Morning Dove’s voice came from the doorway. “I am very tired.”

I took a mug from the shelf above the sink. From a different cupboard, I took down the box of nighttime tea I kept there. I added water and tea to the mug and watched the steam for a moment, before I held it out to her.

“It will help you sleep,” I said when she just looked at the cup.

“I have had enough white-man’s medicines put into me already.” Her eyes flashed with what I took for humor.

“This is a mixture of natural herbs, no preservatives, no artificial colorings, no caffeine. . . ”

With a smile, she took the cup. Her fingers brushed against mine, sending an electric chill along my nerves. I led the way to my study and turned on the gas fireplace. Morning Dove went to the thick sheepskin rug in front of it and sat down. While she sipped the tea, I went to the closet and retrieved a pillow and some blankets. I paused with them in hand to watch her. She sat in the terry robe and held the mug in both hands. She took a small sip and stared into the fire.

Her hair hung down over the robes back in a glimmering wet curtain. One corner of the robe slipped down to reveal her shoulder. I wanted to sink to the floor and wrap myself around her. With a grunt, I pulled myself away from thoughts of intimacy with her. I covered the couch with a sheet and punched the pillow a few times–to fluff it.

The gate buzzer sounded loudly in the silent room. What nut would be out on a night like this unless they had to be? I pulled the door to the study shut and went to answer the gate intercom.

No one answered. When I turned away from it, thinking the storm had made it go off, it buzzed again. Loud and insistent. I jabbed the button.

“Who’s there?”

I heard nothing in return except the thunder rumbling overhead. I pulled open the front door. Down the drive, through the sheets of rain, it looked like a set of round headlights on the other side of the gate. My brother’s Jeep?

I reached back inside and pushed the button to open the gate.

Lightening cracked so bright I couldn’t see for a moment. I blinked back the brightness, tried to blink it away again.

It didn’t help. The deer filling my driveway didn’t go away. They ran past the house in a steady stream, an entire herd. Where had they come from? The drums sounded behind me.

Buy Links: 

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (Wild Child Publishing): http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=106&products_id=404&zenid=8e8ea1c48ee3fc580ce3355a6fbb25e8

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (Amazon Ebook): http://www.amazon.com/The-Chief-Time-Medicine-ebook/dp/B009Z2R3BS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353081294&sr=8-1&keywords=medicine+man+howen

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (Amazon Print) : http://www.amazon.com/Medicine-Man-The-Chief-Time/dp/1617980714/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1353081294&sr=8-2&keywords=medicine+man+howen

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (B&N Ebook): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/medicine-man-sr-howen/1113712670?ean=2940015913316

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (B&N Print): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/medicine-man-i-s-r-howen/1113795431?ean=9781617980718

Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time (Kobo ):

http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/The-Chief-of-All-Time/book-_hYNNKIra06osXQdjttbtg/page1.html?s=vNIlqpUbIUaJ6gin-i4ZOA&r=1

AuthorPicAbout the Author: 

For more than 12 years, S.R. Howen has been an editor at Wild Child Publishing and Freya’s Bower. She also runs workshops on how to craft a winning synopsis and query letter.  Over the last few months S.R. Howen has been working on Medicne Man 2: Raven, as well as a second Forge book for Freya’s Bower under the pen name Shaunna Wolf.  She is also working on an epic fantasy series of books, and a Erotic Romance set in the 1980’s.  Under her pen name Vic Ross she is working on a SciFi humor series.

A former military brat, then military spouse, and a traditional naturalist, S.R. Howen currently lives in Texas, with a dozen cats (three of them the non-domestic sort) two squirrles, one raccoon, one dog, and her daughter. She works with wilf life rehab and rescue as well as running a cat shelter and rescue. For more info on her and her works please visit her web site or her facebook page.

 Find the author at the following places:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/srhowen

Facebook Author’s Page: http://www.facebook.com/srhowen1

Blog: Critters at the Keyboard http://srhowen1.blogspot.com/

Author Web page:  http://srhowen.wix.com/srhowen-1#!home/mainPage

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SRHowen

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3119305.Shaunna_Wolf

Book Blogs: http://bookblogs.ning.com/profile/SRHowen

Authors Den: http://www.authorsden.com/visit/author.asp?id=166698

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/

Linked In: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/shawn-rh/54/1a7/9b6

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour Stop with SR Howen

Leave a Reply

