Welcome Helena Harker Today

Art of DesireHi and welcome to my blog, Helena Harker. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

Ellora’s Cave just released my cougar Quickie, “Art of Desire.” I also have a steampunk novella coming out with them soon. It’s called “Carnal Devices”, but I don’t have an official release date yet. My BDSM story, “The Whip-Maker” was also released recently (from Secret Cravings). So I’ve been busy lately!

 

How would you describe yourself using only five words? 

Impatient, imaginative, irritable, absent-minded, lazy (Those aren’t very good things, are they? But they’re the first words that came to mind! LOL!)

 

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say? 

Watch out! Will bite when provoked.

 

Do you have any guilty pleasures? 

Chocolate. Chocolate. More chocolate. ANYTHING that is chocolate.

 

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.

I used to take pole dancing lessons. It was fun, but really hard! I got tons of bruises from banging myself repeatedly on the pole.

 

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? 

London, England. I lived there for 3 months, and I’d love to go back on a permanent basis.

 

How do you get yourself in the mood to write? 

I don’t need to. I just sit in front of the laptop and the ideas start to flow. Some days the ideas flow better than others, but I look at writing as a job, and I find I get a lot more done that way!

 

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? 

I write in snatches whenever I have the time. Since I’m a teacher, I might write in the morning at work and then do my class prep in the evening. When the kids are in bed at 7, I jump on the laptop and write for about 3 hours.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors? 

Philip Pullman, PC Cast, Kristen Callihan. I love stories that deal with the paranormal and sweep me away into new worlds.

 

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?

Hmmm, let’s see. Kristen Callihan’s Moonglow. I read Firelight and now I have to read Moonglow!

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

My erotica identity is top secret, so I don’t do anything special.

 

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss? 

Dexter, The Big Bang Theory and True Blood. I am addicted to all three. Otherwise, I don’t watch much TV at all. When I quit watching TV, my writing output increased a lot!

 

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

Probably from some episodes of MythBusters, when I try to plan out these crazy stunts for my spy stories. They had a segment on how to trick a fingerprint ID lock, and I used that in one of my chapters. Lately, I also found an article online about these metal devices that men put on their penises in Victorian times to stop “nocturnal emissions.” I plan to write an M/M story about that device!

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell?

Oh my, probably about the amount of research I do about how to murder people without leaving any evidence behind, about all the sex toy research I do, etc., a whole lot of stuff I don’t really want the average person to know about me.

 

Art of Desire“Art of Desire” blurb:

When Jenna runs into a former student she used to have a crush on, she decides to make her lusty fantasies a reality. Justin is studying Fine Arts in university, and when he asks Jenna to pose nude for a sculpture, her inner cougar tells her to go for it. But while Jenna can’t wait to teach him how to pleasure an older woman, Justin turns the tables and decides to teach her the art of patience.

“Art of Desire” excerpt:

His arctic-blue eyes met mine, and shivers of recognition danced through me.

I hadn’t seen him in a year, but it felt like only days. As gorgeous as ever, Justin arched his brows in surprise, giving me a shy smile before pouring red wine into two long-stemmed glasses.

So he worked as a bartender in a hotel restaurant. Maybe I’d ask him for a Sex on the Beach or better yet, a Screaming Orgasm. I grinned. Still eyeing his dirty-blond hair, neatly trimmed beard and square jaw—God, I’d love to trail my fingers along that jaw—I walked to the bar, swept my short ruffled skirt under me and sat down. Long, black hair fell past my shoulders. I tucked a few strands behind my ear, glad I’d taken extra time this morning to apply Bold Bordeaux, my favorite shade of lipstick, and matching eye shadow.

Hey, scrumptious, I wanted to say, but opted for a more acceptable, “Hi, Justin, how have you been?” My teeth snagged on my lower lip, and butterflies came alive in my stomach. Why the hell was I this nervous?

Because he’s half your age, my conscience snapped. And in case you’ve forgotten, he’s your student.

Former student, my inner cougar growled back. He graduated last June, remember?

“Hi, Mrs. Fall—”

“Jenna!” I corrected him. No need for formalities, especially since they reminded me of my age. “I’m not your teacher anymore.”

“Jenna,” he said slowly, savoring every syllable as it rolled off his tongue. He returned the bottle to its shelf and offered me the wine list. “Great to see you. I’m going to the University of Montreal now. I started a massage therapy program last summer, but I quit. Needed something more intellectually stimulating.”

Oh I could stimulate you in all kinds of ways, the cougar inside me purred.

In my media class, he’d always made insightful comments about current events, and he eagerly dissected social issues. University suited him better than massage school. Although massage school had its perks. I pictured myself lying on a table, a towel draped over me from the waist down, Justin’s oiled palms sliding down my back, and then creeping under the towel, reaching all the way to my ass. In long, firm strokes, his hands glided upward, along my spine, past my shoulders, his thumbs working at the muscles, melting the tension at the base of my neck. Another smooth descent, his touch making me wet, his index finger slipping into my crack, still lower, until it dipped into my moist folds. My definition of bliss.

The waitress whisked the wineglasses off the bar. Except for two other women chatting away in cozy armchairs by the window, the place was empty. Good. We had privacy.

Whip-Maker“The Whip-Maker” blurb:

Bad-ass Bella is always on the defensive and sick of being burned by guys who run out on her after a month. When she’s given a Psychology assignment on the connection between pleasure and pain, she ends up doing research at Sextravaganza, smack in the middle of the BDSM section. She meets Darius, a sexy whip-maker who’s more than willing to give her a practicum on pain. Yet Darius has an unexpected soft side, and his particular method of inflicting pain produces highly unexpected—and highly pleasurable—results. He knows a bit about psychology himself, and he’s determined to convince Bella to let down her guard and let him into her life.

One thought on “Welcome Helena Harker Today

  1. Congrats on the new release. Sounds yummy!

    I do a lot of research on how to kill people and get away with it and sex toys. I can only imagine what people would think if they scanned my browser history. 🙂

Leave a Reply

