Guest Author Day~Jennifer Simpkins

ForgivingPatience_LRGThe Inspiration behind Forgiving Patience

When I first decided to try my hand at writing a romance book I knew two things for certainty: the hero would be a former major league baseball player and the story would take place in a small, Tennessee town. Being interested in baseball for me started in 2010—the year I wrote Forgiving Patience. I guess it was the end of 2009 when I read a romance book from a popular romance author whose hero played in the Major Leagues. Even though baseball didn’t play a major role in that book, those couple of chapters where the author described the atmosphere at a stadium when it’s bottom of the ninth, a man on third…and on the last pitch of the last out the man at the plate hit a walk off home run, sparked something inside of me.

Now, because of a book, I have a passion for a sport I never before thought much about…well, except for the guys in their tight uniform pants. You don’t have to be a baseball fan to appreciate that part of the game. I even convinced my mom to take a girls’ only weekend trip with me to Tampa, Florida so we could watch the New York Yankees play the Tampa Bay Rays. To me that’s pretty amazing.

Setting Forgiving Patience in a quaint little town was only fitting because those are my favorite types of books to read. I love the sense of a close-knit community. In Patience, Tennessee the person who cuts your hair is also your best friend from high school—such is the case with Anna (the heroine in Forgiving Patience) and her childhood friend Em. And the guy who used to travel from city to city playing a boy’s game under the big lights is now the third baseman for the town’s adult softball team.

I have always lived in a small town. The home I share with my husband, daughter, and two dogs is surrounded by nothing but family members. My sister-in-law lives across the field from us. We don’t separate our property with a fence because we like to be able to yell at each other from our back porches. Of course, this little fact might change if my dogs don’t quit terrorizing her dogs and chasing her cats up the trees. And we don’t knock on the door before we come inside the other’s house because we are family…simple as that. I guess my love for these kinds of towns spilled over into my books.

The story of Jake and Anna, and their hometown of Patience, seemed to take off from there. Before long I had a brooding ex baseball player, and an emotionally broken woman who is coming home after being away for eleven years.

I hope readers find my books heartfelt with a touch of sizzle. And just maybe my books will send readers exploring until they stumble across a new passion of their own.

ForgivingPatience_LRGBlurb:

Anna Kelly had no intention of returning to her hometown of Patience, Tennessee. At eighteen, feeling powerless from an abusive childhood and heartbroken from her high school sweetheart, she needed to put distance between her and the small town. Now, eleven years later she’s invited to her best friend’s wedding and has no other choice but to return. Though she feels much stronger the second time around, nothing can prepare her for when she sees her ex again.

After a baseball injury, Jake limped back into Patience, damaged and angry. Throwing himself into remodeling Anna’s childhood home has given him purpose again. He is just getting his life back together. He can’t risk sending it all back to hell again, but the woman who broke his heart has whipped back into town…and she wants her house back. In hopes of reminding Anna of what she ran away from all those years ago he makes her an offer she can’t refuse—three dates, that have Anna rethinking Patience…and the life she was supposed to have with Jake.

Forgiving Patience, Book 1 in the Patience Series is due to release January 2013 with Secret Cravings Publishing.

Be looking for Loving Patience, Book 2 in the Patience Series March 2013 with Secret Cravings Publishing.

To connect with Jennifer:

Website

Facebook

3 thoughts on “Guest Author Day~Jennifer Simpkins

Leave a Reply

