Welcome Belinda McBride Today

BmB_BlacqueBlue_coverlgHi and welcome to my blog, Belinda. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?  

My current release is Silver/Steel, which is part of the Arcada series at Loose Id. It’s the follow-up to Blacque/Bleu. I’m currently working on an update of the Truckee Wolves book Toxic, which was originally released at Changeling Press. I’m expanding that book quite a lot. We’ll see more of the pack as well as Briony’s family.

 

How would you describe yourself using only five words?  

Procrastinate, obsessive, imaginative, opinionated, curious

 

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say?  

In case of excessive sleeping, release Siberians in the bedroom.

 

Do you have any guilty pleasures?  

I love M&Ms. Sometimes I think they are the most divine food in the world, other times they’re just evil. I’m addicted to The Body Shop’s body butters. Have been since they first introduced their first two formulations: Mango and Avocado. I nearly cried when they discontinued the Avocado and changed the Mango.

 

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.

My IQ is in the 150s. Most people who know are surprised because I’m not always the sharpest tack. Last to get jokes and all that. I still haven’t figured out why it’s that high, since I can only do basic math.

 

bm_silversteel_coverinIf you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?  

My two favorite places (to date) have been the Hebrides Islands in Scotland and the US Virgin Islands. I’d alternate between the two.

 

How do you get yourself in the mood to write?  

I sit down and pick up the computer. It’s a job and a discipline and if I’m not in the mood, I switch to another project or task. Inspiration is random, if we rely on it to write not much would get done. Sometimes I write a very wooden, dull first draft. Its later that I can layer in the depth and make it flow.

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? 

I need a degree of peace and quiet. I generally get up around dawn with the dogs, get them fed and situated, then check my email. Then I write for a couple hours, till my niece wakes up. From there, my day pretty much revolves around watching her, so I do things that don’t require too much focus: marketing, answering email, etc. In the evening after everyone is in bed, I start writing again. All this is subject to change.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors?  

I’m generally happy with anything written by Patricia Briggs, Charlaine Harris, Neil Gaiman and Nalini Singh. There are so many indie authors I love (and that I’m friends with) I can’t really dive into that list!

 

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?  

I’m eagerly waiting for the newest JR Ward (Qhinn and Blay!) and haven’t yet read the latest from Harris and Briggs. I’m trying to do better about reading a little every day. Unfortunately, when I start I can’t stop!

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released?  

For whatever reason, my appointments to donate blood always came on release day, so I try to do that. Generally I try to relax, go to lunch with someone, or maybe catch a movie. Just a little indulgence to keep me away from the internet for awhile!

 

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss?  

Nah, I’m not really hooked into TV. In the spring I sign up for HBO so my sister can follow Game of Thrones and then my mother watches True Blood. I’m hit or miss on both.

 

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books? 

Hmm…probably Shadow from Neil Gaiman’s American Gods. There’s a quiet strength to the character that always grabs me.

 

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had? 

I was donating blood once and near my chair was a big picture of a family whose daughter had been saved by blood transfusions. I started thinking about a futuristic society where a blood disease runs rampant and how a strange species of vampire rises emerges because of that disease. That became the book Dragon’s Blood, which is part of the Black Planet anthology at Changeling Press.

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? 

“Do you know she lets the dogs sleep on her bed? How tacky! And…she sleeps with her laptop. I can bother her any time I feel like it!”

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

Just my URLs:

My website: http://www.belindamcbride.com

My blog: http://www.belindam.blogspot.com

The Arcada Series:

BmB_BlacqueBlue_coverlgBlacque/Bleu

Book 1

Loose Id

Paranormal, M/M, BDSM, Werewolves/Vampires

Lukas Blacque is a deeply closeted werewolf, and almost more than anything in life, he desires his neighbor, Oliver Bleu. Oliver is a vampire who is slowly dying from insomnia. More than anything, he needs Lukas Blacque and the rich blood that flows through his veins.

On the day that Blacque makes an important commitment to his family and pack, he also succumbs to temptation and agrees to a passionate weekend with the alluring vampire. At sunset on Friday, it’s all about urgent lust and the drive to lose his virginity. When the sun rises on Monday, lust has shifted to love and devotion. He’s not sure he can walk away, even for the commitment he’s made. He’s even less sure Bleu will let him go.

In Blacque’s world, vampires and werewolves make uneasy bedfellows, and a gay werewolf is an impossibility. In Bleu’s world, all living creatures are little more than vessels for food and sex. But in the mysterious and magical town of Arcada, the unexpected is always waiting right around the corner. Now Blacque and Bleu just need to survive long enough for Arcada’s magic to work for them. 

Note:Blacque/Bleu is related to Chrysalis and Mad at the Moon, which are available at Changeling Press. This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Bondage, domination, male/male sexual practices, violence.

bm_silversteel_coverinSilver/Steel

Book 2

Paranormal, M/M, Vampires/Werewolves

Loose Id

Buy at http://www.loose-id.com


When dream hunter Dylan Ryve spots a beautiful shapeshifter raising hell in a bar, he knows he wants the wild young man. But Travis Feris is more to Dylan than a few hot minutes outside in the snow; he’s the assassin’s ticket into the magical town of Arcada. He didn’t plan to rescue the kid, but when he found the shifter being attacked, the opportunity to play hero was too good to pass up.

Through the solitude of a long winter night, Dylan walks in Travis’s fevered dreams, learning about Arcada and the pack, and showing the shifter the man he’d been so very long ago. When morning comes, both men know their lives will be forever entwined.

From Dylan, Travis learns that he is a strong, valued member of the pack. The dreamwalker sees his own worth reflected back at him in the dark blue eyes of the wolf. Yet when Dylan has the chance to free himself from centuries of enslavement, can he betray the man he has come to love?

One thought on “Welcome Belinda McBride Today

  1. Love both excerpts. I agree with you on several points as far as vampires go. How do you feel about werewolves?

Leave a Reply

