Welcome Paloma Black today

Couple Closeup JoyDid you always want to be an author?  If not, what else would you have done?

I’ve always wanted to write – being an author came in high school. One of my teachers was working on publishing a book at the time. You might know him – Wally Lamb has since published several books and was actually featured on Oprah’s book club.  Anyway, the writer’s lifestyle fascinated me. I’m an introvert so there’s a lot going on in my head on a daily basis. Writing is a great way for me to get it all out, on paper, without having to interact with too many people.

But when I was preparing for college, I focused on a degree that would get me a job. Creative writing was definitely off the table. It was something I did in my free time but never serious until my parents cleaned out their house many, many years later. My mother brought me a box filled with old things I’d written and I was inspired to try to pull some things together, to write and see if I couldn’t get published.

I was staying at home raising my sons by then so I wrote at night after they went to bed. And it’s now evolved into writing full-time with all my boys off in school. It’s exciting! I’m living my dream – not everyone gets to say that. I feel extremely fortunate and thankful for a husband who supports my choice.

What is the first book you wrote?

I wrote a young adult story over the course of fifteen years. It’s still sitting in a file. When I really got serious, I wrote Coming Home and this is the book call my first. I wanted to tell a story of three sons raised by a quirky mother/ author. They’ll each have their own book because they find their HEA through very different paths.

Even though Coming Home was the first book I wrote, it wasn’t the first to be published. Many publishers turned it away before I found a place where the story fit. So here’s where I tell aspiring authors not to give up. Submit. Submit. Submit.

Where did the idea from your book come from?

Many of the themes from Coming Home come from my life. I am a mother of three sons who are each unique people. We’ve spent a lot of time at lakes and I hope to live at one someday. On a sad note, seeing my husband go through the loss of his father recently inspired the story of Ryan’s loss. I wanted to incorporate the grief of a “man’s man” into a romance.

What comes first for you: plot or character?

Definitely character. I follow the character’s urgings when I write. I always want my story to be true to them, which means I’m what you’d call a “pantser”. I can develop a basic idea of where I want to go but then I just allow my characters to lead me. And the characters always come to me first with their stories, not the other way around.

In fact I am usually working on a few manuscripts simultaneously. Whichever character is loudest in my head that day gets my attention. Fighting your personal thread of creativity is only one step short of insanity. Allowing my characters to lead keeps the writing flowing.

Describe your writing process please.

My writing process goes something like this… After I generally plot my story lines, I sit down with a bottle of wine and my two beta readers. They give me their take on it and I make changes. Then I do research important to the themes. A lot of the time, I’m creating a photo board (Pinterest is great for this) with photos to inspire scenes and characters as well. Then I draft – without an outline – and I do not necessarily write the book in order because it’s all about letting the characters guide me. After draft one, I edit and send it off to my beta readers. When I get it back and we’ve shared another bottle of wine, I do one more sets of edits before the book is off to my editor.

What is on the horizon for you? Any interesting news or books we should know about?

With the first two books in my paranormal series, the Seven Sin Sisters, out so far and the rest being released by August 2013, I’m busy getting those books done. The next book in the series, Holiday Gem, comes out this month.

I also hope to make some time to write book two in the Porter Brothers series. Ryan got his story in Coming Home but the other brothers want their stories told. You can get the specifics on all my projects, including another WIP, on my website… http://palomabeck.weebly.com

Couple Closeup JoyTitle: Coming Home

Series: Coming Home, Book One

Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance

Elements: Adult Language, Explicit Sex

Author: Paloma Beck

Publisher: Secret Cravings Publishing

ISBN: 978-1-61885-425-4

Page Count: 142

 

Rachel Porter, a romance writer, has told her three sons tales of finding their true soul mate since they were just boys.  She lives with the belief that there is but one match for every person.  Now as men, they have yet to discover their soul mates.  That is, until they come home…

Ryan Porter, Rachel’s oldest son, needs a change from his busy city lifestyle.  After five years of living in New York and establishing his own real estate firm, something is still missing.  When a family tragedy brings Ryan back to his family’s rural home, he meets Tyra.  She just might be the catalyst for the change he needs, redirecting the course of his life.  But first he must accept his relationship with his parents and embrace Tyra’s secrets.

BUY LINKS

SECRET CRAVINGS: http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/ 

PG13 EXCERPT

The woman with the fiery red hair tossed a look over towards Henry at the bar, then snuck a look at Ryan and back to Davis. She smiled—a shy smile through her lashes—and Ryan’s heart ramped up. He noticed the shorter brunette standing beside her when she said, “Next game, you’ve got the winner.”

“I hope so,” Davis replied, “I do truly hope so.”

Ryan shook his head and blew out a laugh. How did Davis always pull it off so easily with women? One woman, Ryan could handle just fine—more than fine. But a group of women, no way, it felt like a swarm of bees were attacking him to even be in a room with so many women, gorgeous or not. And gorgeous was only the beginning when he checked out the ass on the fiery red head as she bent down to consider her next shot. She turned quickly at the sound of his laugh and the slap of the high-five he exchanged with Davis.

Caught. Her eyes jumped to Ryan and he gave her a sly grin when she raised her eyebrows at him. Not as broad as Davis, Ryan met his height at an even six feet. All of his brothers took after their father in their height. But it was Davis who looked most like their father with his darker coloring and chocolate brown eyes. Ryan and Henry had their mother’s lighter skin tone and green eyes. It was those green eyes that locked onto hers when she turned around. Yep, she was looking at him—not lover boy Davis.

Ryan definitely liked what he saw. She was tall, with legs that went on forever until they met with the sweet crossing he knew could bring this boy to his knees. As she bent over the pool table for her next shot, her ass stuck up into the air and swayed just slightly as if teasing him to inspect it further. Her entire body called to him. Shit, he hoped Davis had his sights on any other woman in that group because in his mind, he’d already laid claims on this one. And he wasn’t prepared to share. It had been a long time since he had a little harmless fun.

“Like old times, Ry, seems to me this night might be just like old times,” Davis said, bumping his shoulder when he noticed Ryan’s stare. “Knock it off. Quit the staring. You’re going to scare them away before I make our move.”

“I got news for you, Davis. I got moves of my own. It’s been a long time since I’ve needed you to pick up women for me.”

“Interesting. Hear that, Henry? Ryan says he’s got game,” Davis teased.

“Can’t wait to see this,” Henry snorted as he sat down at the table. They’d made up back in the bunk house but Henry was still sore. He knew how to hold a grudge, damn little shit. But Ryan knew just how to take his mind off his troubles tonight.

Ryan licked his lips, considering how much more interesting the night just got. He certainly liked what he saw and he knew she liked what she saw by the way her eyes roamed from his head to his toes. Ryan was dressed in an old pair of jeans that were tighter than the usual suit pants he wore and a tight black t-shirt he’d pulled out of his old dresser. He didn’t feel like himself but it felt good. Actually, maybe he felt more like himself than he had in awhile—the Ryan before his business became his life.

When Henry poured the beer out, Ryan grabbed up two glasses and headed straight for his target. Her eyes were glazed a bit, definitely looking down and he gave a little cough to catch her attention. Busted—guess they were even now. She blushed and it was beautiful—her flushed cheeks brightened her eyes, mesmerizing. When she reached out to take her beer and their fingers brushed, her hand shot back and some beer sloshed over the glass. Her soft feminine fragrance mixed in with the faint scent of the beer touched his nose and he took in a deeper breath to savor it.

She cleared her throat, seeming as taken in private thought as he was. “Thanks,” she said, giving him an intense stare while a smirk spread across her face right up to her gorgeous blue eyes, “So, you like my ass?”

Ryan swallowed back his surprise. She was forward…this was going to be fun. “Sure do,” he grinned, “And I’m pretty sure you like what you see too.”

Her look of surprise was priceless.

banner Coming Home

About the Author & Links

Paloma Beck is an erotic romance writer in both the contemporary and paranormal realms. Happily married and living a life of total contradiction, Paloma runs carpool service for her three sons, volunteers in PTA and teaches religious education.

DSC03985Then in the moments when her characters talk to her, she journals their stories – and they are anything but PG. As a natural introvert, quiet time with her characters is necessary to keep sane while writing is the perfect outlet for her creativity.

Paloma believes a daily dose of espresso and a good book make any day better.

BLOG:                                     http://RomanceBeckons.blogspot.com

WEBSITE:                     http://palomabeck.weebly.com

TWITTER:                      https://twitter.com/PalomaBeck

FACEBOOK:               http://www.facebook.com/PalomaBeckAuthor

FACEBOOK PAGE:   http://www.facebook.com/thePorterBrothers

GOODREADS:           http://goodreads.com/PalomaBeck

AMAZON:                  http://www.amazon.com/Paloma-Beck

TUMBLR:                     http://palomabeck.tumblr.com/

PINTEREST:                  http://pinterest.com/PalomaBeck

One thought on “Welcome Paloma Black today

Leave a Reply

