Welcome JL Hammer

Outmaneuvered_SMHi and welcome to my blog, J.L. Hammer. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

In April my first romantic suspense novel, Blue Horizon, will be reissued by Secret Cravings Publishing.

Part of a secret government project, Elena Davidson’s life is in serious jeopardy when she is kidnapped by terrorists. Beckham Connors has a simple mission: the retrieval of Elena Davidson, no matter what the cost. He has orders to rescue Elena from her captors or if necessary—kill her. Whatever happens, she cannot be left alive on Iranian soil. Forced into a whirlwind adventure, she can depend on no one. Elena must decide if she can trust the ruggedly handsome Beckham—or if he poses a greater danger than the terrorists.

 

How would you describe yourself using only five words?

ambitious, high-strung, emotional, sarcastic, creative

 

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say? 

Warning: If J.L. becomes glassy-eyed, she is not having a seizure, just envisioning a scene involving either a hot guy or a serial killer.

 

Do you have any guilty pleasures? 

I love to hit the dance floor, work a little Cuban hip with my husband.

 

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you. 

I have a phobia of sharks. Yes, I am another victim of the movie Jaws.

 

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? 

Kona, Hawaii. Best shark-free snorkeling in the world. (Don’t I wish.)

 

How do you get yourself in the mood to write? 

I crank up my MP3 player with the type of music that will get me in the mood. Never fails.

 

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? 

I teach full time  so I write at night. I’m a visual person. I use pictures to help draw me into the story. In my office, I have pictures from magazines of my characters and of the settings.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors? 

Karen Robards and Sandra Brown

 

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for? 

Diplomat’s Daughter by Carolyn Wren and Justice by Karen Robards

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? 

My husband’s hobby is gourmet cooking. He makes me a special dinner, and we enjoy a glass (or two) of wine.

 

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss? 

Hell on Wheels, The Voice, and Love in the Wild.

 

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books?

When writing Outmaneuvered, I had to resist Cruz Romero whispering sweet words into my ear. With those Latin good looks and that charm, he’s a temptation, but I’m married so I had to send him on his way.

 

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had?

I had a dream where I ran into Steven Tyler in a bar, and he told me the name of my next book. I think it’s catchy, so I’m keeping it.

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell?

I’m obsessed with Post-it Notes. I have them stuck all around my writing desk. Reminders, tips for writing, websites, quotes, you name it, it’s on a Post-it.

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

Website: http://www.JL-Hammer.com

 

Outmaneuvered_SM

Outmanuvered by JL Hammer

Sweet Cravings Publishing

Buy at http://store.sweetcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=book_info&cPath=4&products_id=109&zenid=6aff095fb6b8599095921f7ccac36881

To FBI Special Agent Cruz Romero the assignment seems cut and dry: shadow Amanda Price, the estranged daughter of a missing high-powered CEO, and find evidence linking her to his disappearance. The last thing Romero expects while on surveillance is for her to strut right up to him, insisting they’ve met before. Once he gets a good look at this familiar sassy blonde, he knows he’s in
trouble. He must throw her off track before the entire investigation is jeopardized.

As the evidence stacks against Amanda, Romero brings her in for a round of heated questioning and his suspicion of her guilt deepens with every evasive answer. When a sniper makes an attempt on her life, he is forced to protect her. Plunged into a maze of deceit, Romero fears that his blinding attraction for Amanda might be his fatal downfall.  

Story Excerpt:

Romero gave her shoulder a slight shake. “Come on. Time to get up.”

Her face twisted into an unattractive frown.

“You’re not going to throw up on me again are you?”

Amanda rolled away, draping her arm across her forehead. Groaning, she pleaded, “Go away. You’re like a rash on my butt.”

Romero smirked. “Wow, that’s a nice place for a rash. Here, sit up. I have some 7-Up and crackers to settle your stomach.”

As soon as she sat up, she started to teeter. He crouched on the cement floor and reached out to steady her. She peered at him, her mascara forming coon eyes and one side of her blond hair was moist and plastered to her cheek.

“You took a shower,” she accused.

He glanced down at his black suit. “I have a strict shower policy I follow anytime I’m vomited on.” After snatching the plate off the counter, he handed it to her.

“Yeah…well, I’m sorry about that.”

“Glad to know.”

She sniffed the air. “Are you wearing cologne?”

“Sure am. Smells a lot better than vomit, don’t you think?”

She shrugged a shoulder. “How long did I sleep? Am I under arrest?” Amanda bit into a cracker and chewed.

“You’ve been out about an hour.” Romero handed her the soda can. “Drink-up. And no, you’re not under arrest. Like I said before, you were just brought in for questioning.”

Her eyes widened. “I…I can go home?”

He pushed to his feet and stretched his arms above his head before dropping them to his sides. “Yes, I’ll take you home.” He added, “Just don’t leave town.”

Amanda set down the plate and soda can. She stood up and scowled at him. “You’d know if I left town, because you’re tailing me. Right?”

He shrugged in a non-committal fashion.

She patted down her disheveled hair.

“You look fine,” he lied. Romero opened the door and waited for her to walk through before following. “Oh, by the way, your roommate, Courtney, left a message on your cell phone.”

Amanda pivoted to face him.

He continued speaking while he gave her a nudge to walk. “She said she’d be gone for several days. Some hot Spanish guy named Pedro took her to Cancun.”

Amanda sighed. “Great, just my luck she gets to go to Mexico and all I get to do is vomit on some FBI agent’s shoes.”

 

 

One thought on “Welcome JL Hammer

Leave a Reply

