VBT Stop with Grace Marshall

Hi and welcome to my blog, Grace Marshall. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out? 

GM: Hi Raine! Thanks so much for having me over. Your cabana boys make fabulous Margaritas! And wow! Don’t they look fine!

Lots going on right now in my writing world. I’ve just released An Executive Decision, the first novel of The Executive Decision Trilogy and my first novel out as K D Grace’s alter-ego, Grace Marshall. Where K D focuses more on the erotic aspect of romance, I tend to focus more on the romance, though there’s still PLENTY of heat. At the moment I’m working on the second book of The Executive Decisions Trilogy, Identity Crisis, and having loads of fun with it. 

How would you describe yourself using only five words?  

GM: Obsessively writing sexy romantic stories.

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say?

GM: Warning, this person is neurotic and twitchy and functions best on high doses of writing administered on a daily basis.

Do you have any guilty pleasures?  

GM: Oh yes! Espresso. Lots of espresso. And long hot baths. Long walks in the English countryside too, but those are more virtuous pleasures, aren’t they?

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.  

GM: I’m very shy. I hide it really well. It doesn’t come across in my writing or in my public appearances, but it’s totally true.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?  

GM: Right here in the UK. My husband and I fell in love with England fifteen years ago when we were here on holiday. We moved here soon after, and have lived here ever since, minus a four-year sojourn in Russia. I’m especially fond of the Lake District. In fact I adore the Lake District, but it’s a little too far from London for me to settle there full-time. I spend a lot of time in London.

 

How do you get yourself in the mood to write?  

GM: I wake up. That’s pretty much all it takes. I really am obsessive. I do take long walks when I’m planning a story or when I’m stuck. Either that or I work in my veg garden. Sometimes I resort to ironing, but that’s never my first choice.

 

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing?

GM: Ideally, I check email and social media first thing in the morning and when my husband heads off to work, I go for a walk. Then I come back and settle in with espresso and the laptop and my bottomless glass of iced tea. I write at the dining table, which is in front of a large window looking out onto the back garden and the bird feeders. I really enjoy the antics of the birds, and I write better when I have an interesting view. I write until noon. Then I usually eat something I can eat with one hand and keep working. More coffee, more iced tea, and I write until it’s time to get dinner started. If my husband is traveling, it’s more one-handed food, and I write until bed time. If not, then when he’s home, we spend the evening together.

That’s ideal, and that seldom ever happens. There’s always PR to do. I have a very active website, and I often guest on other people’s sites. I reckon I spend about a third of my time on PR. Not complaining. It’s time well-spent, but it’s not nearly as fun as getting lost in the storyJ

 

Who are some of your favorite authors?  

GM: I love Nora Roberts. In my opinion, she’s queen of romance. She’s my hero. I enjoy Ahdaf Soueif, and Isabel Allende. I love Joanne Harris, Nicholas Evans, Marion Zimmer Bradley. These are some of my favourites.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?  

GM: Believe it or not, Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Mars stories, and Susie Bright’s Big Sex Little Death.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released?  

GM: Crack open a nice bottle of wine and watch a fun film with my husband – preferably a comedy or an action film.

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss?  

GM: We don’t really watch anything regularly anymore. We get whatever series we enjoy one season at a time, then watch several episodes at once. I’m usually working to pretty tight deadlines so it’s just too hard to settle in for telly on a regular basis.

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books? 

GM: I would have to choose my alter-ego, K D Grace’s hero, Tino, from her book, The Pet Shop. Tino is quirky and full of mischief and doesn’t need to speak to totally seduce you off your feet. Though I have to admit, I wouldn’t say no to Ellison Thorne from An Executive Decision eitherJ The man knows how to get the job done.

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had? 

GM: Believe it or not, being stuck in the Eurostar tunnel under the English channel for 4 ½ hours. That was the inspiration for K D’s novel, The Initiation of Ms Holly.

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? 

GM: She would probably joke about how totally neurotic I get when I’m not writing. She never has to push me to get me to write, so she spends a fair amount of time down at the local Starbucks commiserating with the other Muses who are between gigs.

 

Sex in the contract – it’s the only way super-focused, over-worked CEO, Ellison Thorne, is ever going to get laid. That’s what his retiring business partner and secret match-maker, Beverly Neumann, thinks. She’s convinced no-strings, stress-free sex in certain employee contracts would raise productivity and minimize stress — perfect for a busy executive like Ellis. But she’s joking, right? 

Enter her hand-picked replacement, Dee Henning. Young, hungry, gifted, Dee is the queen of no time for sex. When negotiations on a major project break down, and Dee and Ellis end up in each other’s arms, the Executive Sex Clause suddenly becomes more than a joke. In fact hot executive sex just might be the ultimate secret weapon for success. But secrets seldom remain secret, and Dee and Ellis soon learn there’s no such thing as no-strings where the heart is concerned. 

More info, excerpt and buy links: http://gracemarshallromance.co.uk/books/an-executive-decision/

 

*****

Grace Marshall lives in South England with her husband and the growing gang of hooligan birds who frequent their feeders. When Grace isn’t busy writing something sexy and romantic, she’s busy digging in her ever-expanding veg garden or walking across the British countryside. She finds inspiration outdoors in nature, and most of her best story ideas come to her while she’s walking or gardening. 

Grace is the author of the fast paced, quirky Executive Decisions Trilogy published by Xcite Romance. An Executive Decision, the first novel in the trilogy, will be available soon at all your favourite book sellers with lots more romance served hot to follow in the near future. 

Grace Marshall’s alter-ego, K D Grace, writes critically acclaimed, best-selling erotic romance. Whether it’s sexy romance or romantic sex, between The Graces, there’s a story for you. 

Find Grace here: 

Website: http://gracemarshallromance.co.uk 

Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/GraceMarshallRomance 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/GM_Romance

One thought on “VBT Stop with Grace Marshall

Leave a Reply

