Welcome Amber Skyze today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Amber Skyze.  Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  Thanks so much for having me here today, Raine.

So tell us a little about yourself. First of all I’m a mother, wife and writer. I’m forced to work a dreaded day job.

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?  My newest release is a M/M. Grant the main hero is a detective and he’s on the hunt for a serial killer. He’s also battling the repercussions of coming out at work.

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say? Warning – will love you endlessly unless you cross me and then you better sleep with one eye open.

Do you have any guilty pleasures? Yes, Butterfingers and licorice

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you. I’m a survivor of domestic abuse.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? California.

How do you get yourself in the mood to write? If I waited for the mood to strike me I’d never write. LOL

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing? I get up before the family and I try to get an hour of writing in. I try again when the baby goes down her for first nap.

Who are some of your favorite authors? I’m a huge Maya Banks fan, I enjoy all of Jayne Rylon’s books and my new writing partner Katalina Leon. I feel blessed to be writing with such an extraordinary writer.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for? Oh man, my Kindle is full of books.

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released? I used to buy myself a new CD or the hubby would take me out to dinner. Now I’m just boring and don’t really do anything.

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss? I’m currently addicted to Chicago Fire.

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books? I’d date Nathan Donovan from Splashing Good Time my first EC book. I wrote the book about a guy I once knew. 😉

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had? Hmmm, nothing yet.

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? She’s a procrastinator!!!!

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

Thanks so much for allowing me to be here today!

**********

 

Out to Protect by Amber Skyze

Loose Id

Suspense M/M

http://www.loose-id.com/out-to-protect.html

Blurb:

Someone is killing prostitutes and Grant Wesson has been assigned to find out who the killer is. Problem is he just came out to his best friend and partner. Ralph didn’t take it so well, so Grant’s been reassigned to the new kid on the block, Parker Townsend.

Parker is young, sexy and very much in the closet. Grant fights the growing attraction he’s feeling for his new partner, until Parker changes things up. He wants to break the rules and have sex with his new partner.

Against his better judgment, Grant agrees. It’s the hottest sex either of them has ever had, but it’s a distraction. The killer has Grant in his sights. Parker promises to protect him, but it’s his heart that needs protecting.

Excerpt:

“I’ve got to be a fucking fool.” He dragged his fingers through his hair, knowing the gelled look was ruined.

“Fool for what?”

Grant spun around, surprised to see Ralph behind him. He hadn’t heard him enter the room. How long had he been standing there? Had he said anything that would reveal what he was about to confess? The air grew heavy; the walls seemed to draw closer. Grant felt a panic attack coming on.

He walked over to the table and took a seat.

“You don’t look so good, partner. Are you sick?”

Was he sick? Possibly.

“Is it hot in here?”

Ralph shrugged. “The air seems to be working.”

Grant struggled to breathe. He slowly took a deep breath.

“Do you need me to call medical? You don’t look so hot. You’re white as a ghost.”

Somehow Grant felt that was an understatement. He felt physically ill. Nausea rolled in his stomach, threatening to charge up and out his mouth.

“I’ll be okay in a minute.” He needed water. “Just give me a sec.”

“Sure.” Ralph took a seat and tapped his hands on the table.

Grant shook his head. Ralph was always a restless person. He tapped his hands on his legs or on the dashboard if he wasn’t driving. It surprised Grant that Ralph wasn’t a beat officer. Walking the streets would give him the opportunity to get the excess energy out.

After a few deep breaths, his nerves started to subside. He had to get this off his chest and tell Ralph the truth. In the end he prayed it would be all right. They were not only partners; they were friends.

Grant slapped the table louder than he expected.

Ralph jumped.

“Shit, if you wanted my attention, you could’ve cleared your throat or something,” Ralph said.

“Sorry.”

“Now you have my full attention. What’s this meeting all about?”

The time had arrived. Grant had dreaded this moment for the last ten years but knew he couldn’t keep the information from his partner another day.

Here goes nothing.

“I’m gay,” Grant said.

“Ha-ha. What, am I being punked or something?” Ralph looked around the room as if he expected a camera crew to pop out of the corners.

He looked at Ralph, the guy who had protected him many times over the last ten years. The image of Ralph standing over him while he bled from a gunshot wound came to the forefront. Ralph had given him words of encouragement while holding the bleeding wound on Grant’s leg. Ralph had kept Grant calm through the pain, and damn it had been painful. That was the first time he’d been shot. Grant had had a few superficial wounds over the years. Par for the course when one was a police officer. Ralph, on the other hand, had always been the lucky one. He’d never experienced what it felt like to be shot.

Ralph stared at Grant. “What the fuck? Where are the cameras?”

“You’re not being punked. I’m being serious, Ralph.”

“What are you fucking talking about? Are you saying you’ve just discovered you’re gay? ’Cause if that’s what you’re trying to tell me, you’re fucking wrong. I’ve known you all these years, and you ain’t queer.”

2 thoughts on “Welcome Amber Skyze today

Leave a Reply

