Welcome Leona Bushman

Hi and welcome to my blog, Leona Bushman. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. So tell us a little about yourself. 

*Takes drink and purrs* It’s the drink, it’s the drink, I swear 😀 I’ve been here before, so quick sum up, have a large family and love to be busy 😀 right now, I’m crocheting an afghan for my friend across the pond (UK) and writing/editing etc and winterizing my house.

 

To get us started can you tell us a little about what you are working on or have coming out?  

I’m still working on sequels to The Ulfric’s Mate, two at a time, and they’re both over 20k. One of them was supposed to be finished already. *Glares at muse* I told my muse, keep it around 15k. A short teaser. But noooo. Had to go and write a major plot point of the series in it. Sigh. That muse of mine.

As for what’s on its way… *grins* I have TWO of them coming in the very near future. One in November, Rick Sexed up the Doc, a Naughty Nursery Rhyme, a tale with some hot steamy interracial sex. It’s scorching erotica, with m/f, m/m, and m/m/f sex scenes.

The other is a Christmas/holiday tale, The Captain’s Christmas. This one is a sci-fi I wrote just for the Christmas/holiday season and it will be out end of December. Projected date at this point is December 28th, still in the holiday season lol I’m so excited. Christmas is my favorite time of year (Halloween a close second. If it wasn’t for the spiders, then it would be a tie :P) so it’s been exciting knowing I’ve got a Christmas story coming out.

Both Rick Sexed up the Doc and The Captain’s Christmas are short stories that are a lot of fun to read.

I have another short, Daryn’s Slayer (an historical vamp novel) in the Crimson anthology scheduled out for sometime in February.

 

How would you describe yourself using only five words?  

Stubborn, creative, loving, compassionate, tough

 

If you could write a warning label for yourself as a person or an author, what would it say?  

As a person: Don’t mess with my family. As an author? Don’t assume with me. You just never know what I might do or say (write) next!

 

Do you have any guilty pleasures?  

I told you about my fashion one. *looks around* but I don’t mention that one much. In fact, you’re readers are probably the only ones to know. *thinks* Maybe I put it up on my blog once. I hope not. My other guilty pleasure? I just started Roller Derby. *grins* It’s going to take some…creative…financing but we got a brand new team and I can’t wait to learn all the rules.

 

Name one thing readers would be surprised to know about you.  

The roller derby lol It’s fairly new and I haven’t blogged about it yet.

 

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?  

OH that’s tricky. Within the US, probably the ocean, any coast, or New Orleans, or Montana. Outside US, Scotland, Ireland, England, France, Italy.

How do you get yourself in the mood to write?

I don’t really. I’m nearly always in the mood to write. If I’m not, I just keep plugging away until I either get in the mood, or I get what needs doing accomplished.

Can you share with us your typical writing day.  Is there anything you have to have while writing?

My typical writing day involves LOTS of distractions. I have a 3 kids still at home when not at school. Except a couple hours two days a week when he’s in early start program, my 3yo with Down Syndrome is at home even when the others are off, and he’s VERY active.

I look at FB when I’m thinking. It’s like putting whatever problem is ailing me on the back burner. Usually, I fix the problems quickly that way, or at least get a good starting point. On the other hand, I just play on twitter cuz I like it lol

But if I’m not stuck or researching, very little gets through my consciousness that’s not the story, except silence (when you’ve got young kids, silence usually means the worst kind of trouble) or my son is hungry. No one can work if there’s a hungry 3yo in the house. Trust me on this.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors?  

LOL the list is soooo long. And really, it depends on what I~or my muse~need. I love to read. I’ll try anything. Right now, I’m so busy writing and editing that the only reading I’m doing involves research or grammar. Blah. Although, history fascinates me, so that’s not so bad. Agatha Christie probably tops the list as I can reread her books at nearly anytime and be happy with her style and her smartness.

What is in your To Read Pile that you are dying to start or upcoming release you can’t wait for?

OH shoot. Diana Paz is a new author with an historical on its way. I really want to read that one. CJ Redwine has a YA recently released that I’m pining for. But would really like to read the next JD Robb,  or Kay Hooper’s Bishop series. I’m so behind on that one! UGH. So many books, so little time!!

 

Is there something special you do to celebrate when one of your books is released?  

One time, I got a tattoo. My first and only tattoo. LOL My muse is tapping me on the back and giving me dirty looks. I’m not including her enough. I also do a lot of dancing. But, I have a little ritual I do for myself. I have chocolate that I DO NOT share. And I plan a dinner for my husband and I to have out when I get paid. 😀

 

Do you have a favorite TV show you can’t miss?  

I don’t have TV in my house, so unfortunately, I miss all my shows. But, I watch them on Netflix as soon as they are out. My favorites are Doctor Who, Supernatural, The Walking Dead, and Once Upon a Time. CSI and Criminal Minds used to be a couple of my favs, still are really, but they’re not easily accessible for free viewing on the net. At least not that works in my area.

If you could date any character from any book, who would it be and why-no it doesn’t have to be from your books? 

Probably Acheron from Sherrilyn Kenyon, er before he fell in love. Why? He has great power, but greater control and compassion. Not to mention, smart, good looking, and strong.

What is the strangest source of writing inspiration you’ve ever had? Well, Rick Sexed Up the Doc was inspired by a buddy of mine tweeting while drunk. He’s gay, his good friend he was out drinking with is straight, and I’m married, but we had a ball tweeting and talking. The reason I think it’s strange is, even though I’d never met nor seen pictures of either of them before this book had finished edits, they inspired me to write it and it really wasn’t about “them” or a drunken night.

 

If your muse were to talk behind your back, what secrets would he/she tell? 

She would tell you…*ow* my muse would like to speak for herself this time.

I’m Leona’s muse and I want to tell you she is a cupcake with that creamy filling most of the time. But tough as nails and stubborn. *glares at writer* And lordy, you wouldn’t believe the things that inspire her, or how easy she blushes. You’d think after five kids, she’d be beyond blushing, but not her.

Now, for the right bribe, I could be tempted to tell you her latest crazy writing idea…

 

 

 

The Ulfric’s Mate is available here:

http://www.breathlesspress.com/index.php?main_page=product_free_shipping_info&cPath=13&products_id=220

Blurb: Nolan and Alexandria fight their sexual attraction, but can’t deny the pull of being mates, despite a serial murder investigation.

Nolan Littlebull is the alpha of the Wahpawhat pack of Werewolves and the lead detective on a series of murders of pregnant women from his pack. Torn between human justice and were justice, he travels deep onto the Yakama Reservation tracking the ones responsible. He is attacked by one of the rival pack, only to be defended by another from the rival pack.

Alexandria George is the healer for the Lupins. She defends the mysterious wolf in their territory from her pack’s bully and escapes with the stranger. Nolan and Alex face the complications of being mated and together they must find and identify the killer while facing an uncertain future.

 

 

 

Rick Sexed Up the Doc is scheduled to be available on November 9th for preorder.

Short Blurb: Rick wants something fun. His break up with his fiancé has left him with a bitter taste in his mouth, but he’s ready to try again. His time with the Doc gets his fires burning, then Brian struts across the parking lot, hot as hell. Will he get to strike twice? Will they let him? Or will he give his ex-fiancé another chance?

 

Leave a Reply

