Welcome Paula Martin Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Paula Martin. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.   

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?

My latest book, ‘Her Only Option’, released on November 1st, is a romance combined with intrigue and suspense, and is set in Egypt. It was inspired by my visit there two years ago when I went on a cruise from Luxor to Aswan, and then spent a week in a wonderful hotel overlooking the Nile at Luxor. This was an experience of a lifetime as I was able to see so many places I’d always dreamed of visiting, especially the Valley of the Kings and the Abu Simbel temples. These and other ancient Egyptian sites play a big part in my story.

 

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?

I’d like to be able to click my fingers (like Mary Poppins) and tidy everything up, because I do tend to let things pile up on my desk. Another useful power would be to fly (like Superman) to anywhere in the world to research background settings for my novels.

 

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future?

I used to be a history teacher, but have yet to embark on a novel with an

historical setting. Maybe it’s because I’m only too aware of the huge amount of research I would have to do to get all the smaller details about clothing, furniture etc. just right. One day I may decide to embark on that research.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?

Probably a lot of things – but one thing is that I have a mind that enjoys collecting all kinds of trivia, which is one reason I enjoy doing quizzes. I won’t tell you how much time I spend on an online trivia quiz site. I can recall all kinds of completely useless information – but can I remember what someone said to me last week??

 

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say?

Perfectionist, Passionate – and Procrastinator!

 

What authors can be found in your library of books?

A quick look at my Kindle shows my current favourites are Celia Yeary, Linda Swift, Lynette Sofras, Jenny Twist, Joanne Stewart and Gilli Allan. Also Sharon Kay Penman’s historical novels have been a long-time favourite of mine.

 

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us?

I do like what I call my ‘high cholesterol meal’ of fried egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and fried bread – and I’m quite partial to a few cans of lager, too, but I don’t really feel guilty about that!

 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?

I’m part way through another novel set in the English Lake District (one of my favourite places) about a veterinary surgeon and an actress. It’s provisionally titled ‘Different Worlds’ because the hero and heroine fight against their attraction to each other as they feel the different worlds in which they live make it impossible for them to have any future together.

 

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

Even though I’m retired, I tend to do all my writing in the evenings (maybe a throwback to the time when I was working during the day), so in a sense that’s my way of relaxing!

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?

Definitely King Richard III. He’s had a bad rap (mainly due to the Tudors and Shakespeare) but many contemporary records show him in a different light. I’d love to find out what he’s really like – and, of course, ask him about the mystery no one has been able to solve i.e. whether or not he had the Princes in the Tower put to death (and if not, who did kill them).

 

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?
I’ve just submitted a new novel, ‘Dream of Paris’, to my publisher. It’s a complete revamp of a novel I wrote in the 1970’s and needed a lot of updating because, of course, the world has changed dramatically in the last 30+ years. Computers, cell phones, and the Channel Tunnel (which didn’t exist in the 70’s) were just a few of the changes I had to incorporate in the story. The heroine has a dream of living and studying in Paris, until she meets the hero. However, he seems to be fighting the attraction between them, and the heroine is shocked when she discovers the reason for this.

 

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart?

That’s so hard to answer, as my favourite tends to be the one I’m working on at any given time. Maybe ‘Fragrance of Violets’ is closest to my heart, though, as it’s a story of forgiveness opening the door to love. I still have a soft spot for Abbey and Jack as they struggle to overcome their past resentments and guilt.

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

Thank you so much for having me as your guest today, Raine, and for giving me such interesting and thought-provoking questions to answer!  If anyone wants to find out more about me, they can ‘meet’ me at my website (paulamartinromances.webs.com) or at my blog (paulamartinpotpourri.blogspot.com)

 

**********

Don’t forget to add your book info along with book blurb and if you want, up to a 500 word excerpt, any heat rating.

 

‘Her Only Option’

Neve Dalton loves her job as a tour guide on a River Nile cruise ship as much as she values her independence. She isn’t ready to settle down with her Egyptian boyfriend, despite his repeated proposals and his father’s desire to see him married.

Nor is she ready to meet Ross McAllister, a compelling and fascinating archaeologist. She struggles against her growing attraction to him until she can no longer ignore what her heart is telling her. This is the man who sets her soul on fire.

When she starts receiving cryptic messages, and Ross’s work in the famous Valley of the Kings is threatened, Neve has to make a heart-breaking and life-changing decision which she feels is her only option.

Can they discover whose enmity is forcing them apart before it’s too late?


Excerpt:

(Ross has taken Neve into the tunnel leading from the underground burial chamber, but when they lights failed, they had a tortuous journey in darkness back to the chamber again) 

“Are you okay?”

“Yes. Just a—a bit jittery now we’ve actually made it back here.”

Ross smiled, seemed about to say something, but then his smile faded.

“Neve…”

He took a step towards her, put his hands on her arms, and kissed her. His mouth and tongue were soft to begin with, tenderly exploring her lips so that everything started to melt inside her.

A quiver of arousal shimmied through her body. Her hands came up to grip his firm biceps and at the same time, helplessly, she opened her mouth to him.

He let out a small groan, tightened his arms around her, crushing her against his chest. His mouth hardened, claiming hers with sudden, fiery urgency and his tongue slid between her lips, probing and questing hungrily.

Neve felt as if she was drowning as she yielded to his demands. Involuntarily, she moved one hand to his shoulder, the other to the back of his head where her fingers delighted in the silky strands of his thick hair. Warm, sensual waves swamped her, flooding her with delicious thrills which reached down to the centre of her being. It was intoxicating and she wanted more, still more.

Only when her body, of its own accord, arched against him did she break their kiss. Sudden embarrassment at her complete lack of control made her cheeks burn. “I—I—” She stopped, moistening her lips, not knowing what to say.

Even in the dim light, the seductive gaze from his blue eyes made her heart jerk. He leaned forward and planted gentle kisses along her jawline until he reached her earlobe. A small moan escaped from her throat.

“I want to make love to you,” he whispered into her ear.

The sheer incongruity of what they were doing and where they were broke into her consciousness. Panic surfaced, a panic she couldn’t define or understand.

“No, we can’t.” She put her palms against his shoulders to push him away.

Ross caught both her hands in his and laughed. “I don’t mean now or here. Especially not with all those ancient figures on the wall watching us. I’d prefer somewhere more comfortable, when we have all the time in the world.”

The word ‘time’ reached into her confused mind and she latched on to it. Wrenching her hands from Ross’s grasp, she looked at her watch. “It’s quarter to five. I have to get back to the ship. I can’t miss the sailing.” She swung round to the exit from the burial chamber.

“Neve—” He caught hold of her arm and, reluctantly, she turned back.

She tried not to look into his eyes but failed. “What?”

“We both felt it. Why are you denying it?”

“I didn’t feel anything,” she lied.

Quickly she moved towards the passage, knowing she had to get away. Away from his hands, his mouth, his hard male body, and the transparent desire in his eyes. Away, too, from the sensations his kiss had aroused in her and from the churning tension in her stomach.

 

‘Her Only Option’ is available from Whiskey Creek Press  http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=1057&zenid=15a5191e68465e536374e581775b04c4

Also from Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Her-Only-Option-ebook/dp/B00A00CAE4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1352034389&sr=8-1&keywords=Her+Only+Option

 

16 thoughts on “Welcome Paula Martin Today

  1. Hello Paula,
    I’d love to visit Egypt someday..I guess for now I’ll have to make due by reading your book!
    Congrats on another release! You are really cranking them out these days!

  2. Hi Paula
    Every time I read one of your blogs I find out something else interesting about you. Several in this.
    Oh, to have the Mary Poppins click!
    I share your trivia addiction. I am a fund of useless information. But, who knows? maybe one day, under a bizarre set of circumstances, some of it may come in handy.
    I see we have an almost identical favourite authors list.
    And we are both intrigued by Richard III. Of course he didn’t do it! He had no motive and anyway Henry didn’t announce their deaths till several years into his reign. You’d think if he’d discovered they were missing on taking over the throne it would have been the FIRST thing he did,
    Fab post. Raine is VERY good at asking the right questions.
    xx

  3. So we have yet more in common, Jenny – didn’t realise you were a trivia buff too! As for the Princes in the Tower – so many theories abound! I think Maggie Beaufort was behind it all 😉

  4. Utterly thrilled and flabbergasted to see my name on your bookshelf, Paula! Bless you. As for quizes – I can hardly remember my own name. If the police came to my door asking where I was or what I was doing on a particular date I’m sure I’d be arrested as I’d be totally unable to come up with an alibi. As for Richard 111? For me the jury is still out. gx

  5. Lovely post! As Jenny T said, it’s always fascinating to discover new things about people who interest us. Mind you, I’m having to bite back jealous spite because you’ve been to Luxor and visited the Valley of the Tombs of the Kings, which is something I’ve longed to do ever since seeing the Tutankhamun exhibition in London as a teenager. But the problem is, I want to turn back time and be there 90 years ago!

    I love your excerpt. I can’t wait to read Her Only Option. Thanks so much for this.

    Oh and I love trivia too – how about us forming a virtual pub quiz team and taking on anyone who fancies their chances against us?!

    Thanks so much, Raine Delight for your great blog.
    Lyn

  6. Thanks for the mention, Paula! We have another thing in common! I love historicals, but I don’t write them for a very similar reason. I just could do that amount of detail.

    This sounds like a fabulous book. I’m jealous you went to Egypt. I dream of going!

    Many happy sales to you!

  7. Lynette (manic scribbler!) – I’m going to write a blog about Tutankhamen’s tomb on Nov 26th, the 90th anniversary of the day Howard Carter first saw inside the antechamber. I’d love to have been there too! But it seemed totally surreal walking down the steps and sloping passageway into the tomb when I was there two years ago.
    A virtual pub quiz team would be good!

  8. Joanne – it’s the small details that scare me. My History degree dealt with politics etc, but not with the intricacies of costume, furniture and food! And it would be so easy to slip up and include some anachronism!

Leave a Reply

