Welcome Guest Author Daisy Harris today

Idea Factory: Building the Perfect Dork 

For off, thanks to Raine Delight for having me on the blog today. Y’all are the best!

On with the blog—

I’m often asked where I get my ideas for stories. Now, I think all authors hear this question. But as a female writer of male-male romances, I get asked more than most people.

Usually, the answer is a mix of places—movies I’ve seen, people I know, pictures and news clips, my crazy family, and my even crazier imagination. But in the case of my latest release, My Fair Dork, I got my inspiration from one very specific place: a talk show on Canadian TV called “One Girl Five Gays.”

If you’ve never seen it before, I’m here to tell you, One Girl Five Gays (1G5G) is AWESOME. It involves a charming female host named Aliya Jasmine interviewing group of five gay men in a 20-Questions style format. The guests rotate in and out, but if you watch the show for a while, you feel like you get to know all the participants.

So here’s how I got my plot bunny for My Fair Dork

There’s a character on 1G5G I’ll call D. He’s smart, sarcastic, and smoking hot. I had the biggest crush on him, and was delighted when he mentioned on the show his tendency to be a bossy bottom. (I can’t remember if he said it outright, or insinuated it. But either way, I LOVE writing bossy bottoms. So for some reason this tickled me pink.)

Eventually D got a boyfriend, and I was intrigued. Who was the man who’d wooed this prize? Was he a big, burly dreamboat? A sober intellectual? Did he have height? Muscles? Tons of money?

After a couple weeks, his boyfriend, whom we shall call M, appears on the show, and he’s…dorky.

Now, if you know anything about me or my work, you know that I loves me a nerd. And M was the real deal. He wasn’t some slick hipster wearing nerdy-but-chic glasses and an ironic T-shirt. No, he was a soft-spoken, nervous seeming, flannel wearing, sweet and harmless dork. The kind of guy who was nerdy in high school and never grew out of it.

He was cute, and endearing, and I was even more in love with D for dating him. But then, a few episodes later, Aliya Jasmine asks the guys, “What part of your body is too big?”

And M blushed like a fire hydrant, and said, “My dong!” before burying his head in shame.

The cast ribbed and teased him, and Aliyah Jasmine, like the intrepid reporter she is, asked for more details about the exact nature of his size. (Yes, yes AJ. Viewers want to know!)

But in that moment, a story came together in my head—about a nerd with a giant cock—a guy uncomfortable in his skin and worried about his anatomy, and the smart, sexy, cool beyond belief guy who wants to pull him out of his shell.

My Fair Dork was born.

Seldom do ideas come to me that clearly, or based on something so acute. But man, when a story hits me like that, it’s like I can’t write the thing fast enough. And that’s how My Fair Dork went for me. I drafted it in 12 days, and it was submitted at day 15. I love this story. And I love 1G5G and Canadian MTV for providing such great fiction fodder.

I just hope that if M ever finds out I got my story idea from watching 1G5G he won’t be too painfully embarrassed. After all, the world is full of people shy about some part of their bodies. Even some part that society thinks they should be proud of. It’s just…well, there really is nothing like a giant cock. And when it’s attached to an adorable geek, it’s about the best thing I can imagine.

__________________________________________________________________

CONTEST INFORMATION: 

Daisy will be awarding a large-size dildo, a scented penis candle, as well as a $20 gift certificate to the winner’s choice of Barnes and Noble or Amazon to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour. 

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2012/09/virtual-book-tour-my-fair-dork-by-daisy.html

__________________________________________________________________

My Fair Dork by Daisy Harris

Men of Holsum College 8

Book buy link: http://www.bookstrand.com/my-fair-dork

They say a guy can never be too hung. Well, Harold Jacobs doesn’t know who they are, but they’re wrong. Socially awkward for as long as he can remember, Harold feels his enormous package is just one more thing to be embarrassed about. Especially once hunky and popular

Owen McKenzie notices it in the showers.

Owen knows he’s bi, but he keeps that secret close to his chest. He likes Harold, and wants to help him shed his dorky image and maybe even find a boyfriend. Still, Owen can’t stop obsessing about Harold’s equipment. And much as he doesn’t want to flip-flop on his sexuality, Owen does want to test-drive what Harold has between his legs.

Their friendship erupts into full-blown lust. But can Owen accept the loss of his golden child status and be Harold’s boyfriend? And can Harold outgrow his insecurity in time to keep the man he loves?

Teaser Excerpt:

“I was born in England. But I moved here when I was nine.” It had been too late to change Harold’s name to something more normal. But his mom seemed to think the move had been a good idea. She hated her ex-husband, Harold’s dad. And, apparently, she hadn’t been happy until there was an entire ocean between them.

“Wow. So you’re foreign? You don’t have an accent.” Owen sounded impressed, or maybe hopeful. Like Harold would pull out a smooth, James Bond burr and a tuxedo to match.

“I spoke with one when I first moved. But…” He shrugged. All the kids had made fun of how he talked when he started fourth grade. They thought he sounded posh. Some even said, “gay”. Harold didn’t know how an entire country—and all its former colonies—could be gay based on an accent. How would they make little baby Brits?

Of course, maybe the gay thing had bothered him more because at that age, he’d already realized he was.

“Too bad. Girls love a guy with an accent.”

Harold coughed, spraying a couple droplets of tea across his scone. He cleared his throat, trying to recover. “Don’t think we have to worry much about that.”

Owen paused his assault on his eggs and looked up. His blue bell eyes were wide and confused. “What? Why?”

It felt surprisingly good to know something Owen didn’t. But it was silly, really. Harold figured everyone knew. “I’m gay.”

“Oh.” Owen did a double take, and raked his eyes over Harold’s clothes once again.

Harold guessed that Owen had to re-arrange his opinion of Harold’s clothes now that he had to match them up with a different sexual preference.

“Wow. It’s worse than I thought.” Owen stabbed a sausage and bit off half.

“What?” Harold looked down at his shirt, wondering if he’d managed to spatter tea on himself during his sputtering. No. It was clean.

“Aren’t gay guys supposed to be all stylish and hip?” Owen smiled as he said it—making it sound like he was flirting, or at least teasing.

Harold frowned. “Of course. And we all have lisps, and tiny dogs we spoil.”

Owen’s forehead creased in the middle, as if he wasn’t sure whether Harold was joking. “Nah.” He ate the other half of his sausage, and then picked up another. “I know that’s not true.”

Good lord. Harold closed his eyes and pinched his lips together to stop himself from laughing. Owen was so…he didn’t even know how to describe it. It was an optimistic innocence Harold had heard about but never seen in real life. Maybe it was a Midwestern thing.

“This guy I knew from the football team, Tank, he’s gay. And he isn’t like that at all.” Owen thought about it for a moment, staring past Harold’s shoulder to look off into space. “Though I could see him with a dog.”

Harold wasn’t sure whether he was being serious or joking. But since Owen was so earnest most of the time, he guessed Tank guy was the kind to pamper a Chihuahua.

 

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Birkenstock-wearing glamour girl and mother of two by immaculate conception, Daisy Harris still isn’t sure if she writes erotica. Her romances start out innocently enough. However, her characters behave like complete sluts. Much to Miss Harris’s dismay the sex tends to get completely out of hand.

She writes about fantastical creatures and about young men getting their freak on, and she’s never missed an episode of The Walking Dead

            Links:

            My website: http://www.thedaisyharris.com

            Twitter: @thedaisyharris

            Siren Page: http://www.bookstrand.com/daisy-harris

            Book buy link: http://www.bookstrand.com/my-fair-dork

 

13 thoughts on “Welcome Guest Author Daisy Harris today

    1. There are a lot of good M/M writers a few I just recently found, which is good because now I have a lot of books to go through. I’ve been reading you, GA Hauser, KA Mitchell, Cameron Dane and Amy Lane.

      I like them because they are all filled with such emotional turmoil you feel like you are going through it with them.

      So how do you get started do you write a few chapters first or do an outline? Do you right from the beginning to the end or start at a particular spot?

      1. I tend to brainstorm, then write a few thousand words, then outline. But really, I never much follow my outline. It’s more of a set of things that “could” happen, but I don’t normally have the scenes follow that order.

        I do, however, write linearly from beginning to end. That’s the only way I can do it. 🙂

  1. Hey that’s hilarious I love that show too. I haven’t seen it in a while but the whole channel is great. I used to watch the reality show I can’t remember what it was called but they were all in Austin Texas and full of angst.

  2. Ive seen that show and your right it’s the best. Count me in for the contest. Unless a specific questions is asked this will be same the same post you’ll see through the tour. I’m running on very little time to do the things that I love. 😉

    p.s. congrats on such a great series1

    Chris
    ceagles48218@yahoo.com

  3. I do love this series. I have never seen this show, but will have to look it up and see if it is available online or anywhere like that (I don’t even watch American MTV anymore).
    Congrats on the release! I have it waiting now on my Kindle 🙂
    June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

