Welcome Tony-Paul de Vissage today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Tony-Paul de Vissage. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself. 

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece? 

I saw a poster advising the movie The Last Man Standing and my creative little mind substituted the word “vampire” for “man”.

“Wow,” I thought.  “That’d be a great title for a book!”  Then, that same mind started weaving the story.  This has happened before so I knew what was coming, and as much as I tried to stop it, it just wouldn’t quit.  It was inevitable. So I accepted I was going to have to sit down and write it.  As usual.

So I did.

 

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why? 

The ability to type 300 wpm.  Then it wouldn’t take me so long to write a manuscript.  Of course, I’d probably burn out the keyboard and the computer, too, going at that speed, so maybe some superbreath or something to keep the electronics cool while I did it.

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future? 

Oh, there are plenty of them…mystery, western, suspense…I’ll admit I tried my hand at a historical erotic…it ended up being more historical (actually I should say hysterical) than erotic, however.  Don’t know what that says about me.  Maybe I’m just not the romantic/erotic type.  Darn it! 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you? 

That I’m 5’1?  (Remember…good things come in small packages.) That I’ve a degree in Fine Art and a certification in Graphic Art?  (I’ve even had a painting exhibition.)  I once played “Death” in a version of the play “The Thracian Horses”?  (The make-up was so good, the other cast members wouldn’t even speak to me off-stage.)

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think he might say? 

Leans toward procrastination.

What authors can be found in your library of books? 

Tony Richards, Stephen King, Joe Hill, Neil Gaiman, Edgar Allan Poe. HP Lovecraft.  I used to live next door to a Lovecraft scholar and he very generously loaned me books to read.

 

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us? 

I admit to a weakness for pomegranites, chocolate-covered raspberries, cherry merlot, and watermelon…not necessary all at the same time.

 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of? 

I’m currently toying with the idea of taking the novelette “Blood will Freeze,” which was released in September by Silver Publishing and turning it into a full-length novel.  That was my original intent, then I got lazy and made it into a long short story.  Now, perhaps I’ll do what I started out to do.

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

It’s a bit of a busman’s holiday but I like to read.  If I run out of other people’s books, I’ll even read one of my own.  It’s fun to take a book I wrote early on and go through it and see what mistakes I made when I was starting out, as well as the good points.  Sometimes I wince (“How could I have written that?”), other times, I read a passage and think, “That was damned good!”


Who is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?
 

Edgar Allan Poe.  Did you know he never used “Allan” but just the initial “A”?  I’d like to encourage him to write a novel to go along with all his short stories and poems.

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?

Thank you.  I thought you’d never ask!  I’ve got a very full slate for the end of 2012 and the beginning of 2013.

Silver Publishing will be releasing “The Best Dentist in OrangeCounty” on October 27.  It’s a novelette about an encounter between a vampire with a toothache and a very unusual dentist.  On November 10, they’ll also be publishing “Unpath’d Waters, Undream’d Shores,” which will feature two stories, “The Lover in the Lake” and “Shadow’s Crossing.”  In December, Class Act Books will release my Mayan vampire novel, Dark God Descending.  I’ve got a vampire series coming up in 2013, The Second Species.  So far, there are 3 books written, and a projected 7 in all.  It’ll be released through Double Dragon Press.  I’ve also several novels which Class Act Books will also handle in 2013. 

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart? 

I guess my favorite book would be The Shadow Lord, which is Book 1 in The Second Species Series.  That book and I have been through several publishers and some very hard times but now it’s finally going to see the light of day (knock on wood and I hope).  It’s a different take on the vampire myth and I’m hoping the premise and the characters will find an audience.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

I’d like to invite everyone to stop by my site: http://www.tony-paul.com/.  It’s devoted to vampires but all supernaturals are always welcome.

 

The Last Vampire Standing

Available October 15th, 2012

Class Act Books

Blurb:

Meet Vlad Chemare, a blast from the past who isn’t to be denied. He’s up-to-date, traveling by jet, and seeking revenge against the master who buried him alive for daring to lead a revolt back in the 15th century.  Armed with a Chase Sapphire and a Kevlar vest, Vlad’s out for blood—specifically Baslo Rigla’s—and he isn’t about to let his feelings for mortal Meredith Swanson stand in his way.

After all, a woman’s just a woman, but revenge is a dish best served cold, and six hundred years makes for some pretty chilly morsels.

EXCERPT:

She was standing on the balcony, looking out over the park across the street. I could See cigarette smoke wafting upward, a pale mist between her and the darkness.

“Damn,” I said. “And I was going to be so suave and flick out my Bic and light that for you.”

The way she turned to face me had to have been rehearsed. It was perfect; silent, dramatic, just enough movement to make the folds of her dress ripple and her hair flow over her shoulders. Like one of those slow-motion effects cinematographers have so fallen in love with. If there had been violins singing in the background, it would’ve been a cinematic moment.

She was even more beautiful up close and personal.

“You’ve already lit my fire, baby.” She dropped the cigarette, crushing it with the toe of her strappy little shoe. Her eyes did the fastest inventory imaginable. They were green, the translucence of jade, and they paused for the briefest glance at my fly. Cool eyes, hot gaze. I could feel my cock heating up. “Nice Bic. But if there’s going to be any flicking, I’ll do it.” She held out her hand. Valerie.”

“Vlad.” I took it in mine.

Then we were in each other’s arms, mouths crushed together, not even a molecule of air, cigarette smoke, or anything else between us. She pulled away first.

“Your place or mine?”

“Mine. It’s closer.”

“You don’t even know where I live.”

“I don’t care. We’re going to my place.”

And that was that.

The Last Vampire standing will be available from Class Act Books on October 15.  www.classactbooks.com 

Blood Will Freeze, is now available from Silver publishing, https://spsilverpublishing.com/product_book_info/new-release-c-1/products_id/1210/

 

7 thoughts on “Welcome Tony-Paul de Vissage today

  1. I love these kinds of instant-chemistry scenes! I know some readers pine for the long-drawn-out glances, the heavy sighing, the “is he/she interested or not?” phase…but I find that boring, which is why I don’t read Regencies. I like hot, lush, love (or a reasonable facsimile thereof) at first sight, followed by toe-curling sex that gradually becomes so addicting one can’t imagine living without it anymore!

  2. Thanks for this great excerpt! Love the “was going to be sauve and flick out my Bick”…then there’s post-sex smoking after the “workout” 🙂 I’ll definitely check this book out…thanks for sharing!
    ivegotmail8889@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

