Welcome Guest Author Melissa Keir Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Melissa Keir. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you very much Raine for letting me stop by and visit.  I’ll take something fruity with a little rum from the cabana boys as well please. J  I’m a full time elementary teacher who always wanted to be a racecar driver.  I haven’t given up on that dream but am pretty busy as an author, editor, wife, mom and teacher.  My family is like the Brady Bunch with two kids from his previous marriage and two from mine.  But we don’t have someone like Alice to take care of the laundry, grocery shopping and such.  That is still my job too.  I’ve been a writer since I can remember.  But the things that I used to write were either silly horror stories to entertain my classmates in boring typing class or the sappy love poems meant to endear myself to my boyfriend.  Neither worked out real well.  I’ve written for daily blogs about the behind the scenes lives of my favorite Daytime Soap characters and wrote sarcastic musings on life.  Since February, I’ve been a published author and find the stories just won’t leave my mind alone.  The other day I was driving to work and an idea crouched into my head to wait for me to get it on paper.

 

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?

My latest book is Beach Desires.  It was published and released by Secret Cravings Publishing in June.  It is a part of my Wilder Sisters series, which tells the tale of five sisters who were raised in a small town in Ohio.  Their lives have changed them and brought them back home for small family gatherings such as weddings, births, and deaths.  In Beach Desires, I wanted to acknowledge my aunt who faced many years of struggles as a woman who was in love with another woman.  When I was growing up, it wasn’t even discussed.  The two of them were roommates.  I believe that she would have loved the openness of today’s society where while we don’t always agree on what is right, at least we are having conversations about it.

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?

As a child who was raised on Bewitched and I Dream of Jeannie, I have thought long and hard about this one.  I want the power of teleportation (not just objects but also people, esp. myself).  I hate the long car trips to visit places and think it would be so much easier to travel in a blink of an eye.

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future?

I haven’t done much with Paranormal but would love to stretch myself and write a paranormal romance.  I love reading the genre which is why I’m so nervous to try to write in it.  I don’t believe I could ever be as good as some of my favorite authors like Laurell K. Hamilton and Lyndsey Sands.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?

Readers might be surprised to know that I have two tattoos.  I am deathly afraid of needles and pain.  But I still did get tats.  I have a tramp stamp.  *smile* I got it when I got a divorce.  I was too tired of being told not to do things. And just last year I got my second one of my puppy’s footprints on the top of my foot.

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say?

Bossy, workaholic, driven

What authors can be found in your library of books?

When I remarried I had to cut out some of my books.  It was one of the things I could do to make things work.  After all, I did have six full bookshelves and two boxes of books under the bed.  J  So I have kept some of my favorite books and favorite authors…Sherilyn Kenyon, Yasmine Galehorn, JD Robb and Nora Roberts, as well as Cheri Scotch, to name a few.

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us?

Do you promise not to tell?  I love to go virtual shopping for jewelry.  I go online and look at the different jewelry stores and their diamonds. I also love to look at the gemstones and band designs.  I’ve even been known to create my own ring, but always close the window and never buy.  While I love the idea of owning some diamond jewelry that would make Liz Taylor weep, I am way too practical for that!  I’d rather spend it on books!

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?

I’m working on the rest of the stories of the Wilder Sisters.  I have the third sister’s story started and mapped out.  She is pregnant and coming back to Amherst with her husband on a frigid Ohio morning.  With the turnpike closed they have to take Route 2, death’s highway…known as death’s highway because of the sheer number of deaths caused by head on collisions.  This tale will be heartbreaking but definatately one you want to read.

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

I love to spend time on the computer, catching up with my friends on Facebook, checking my email and doing some online shopping.  I also have a few favorite television shows that are must watches and so I try to never miss them!

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?

I would love to chat with Mary Todd Lincoln.  I know that the loss of her son was very overwhelming for her but she seemed like a person who would have had a lot to say about the country and the polarity of the people at the time of the Civil War.  It would have been interesting to get a woman’s perspective on those times.

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?

I always have so many WIP or as I refer to them plot bunnies going on.  I never know which one I will pick up and work on at any given time. 

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart?

My favorite book is “Second Time’s the Charm” which was released in April.  I love the idea of second chances when it comes to love and marriage.  It was the first story that I wrote and since it reminds me of my own second chance at marriage, it will always be special to my heart.

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

Just to thank you for having me visit with you and your guests today.  The cabana boys were very helpful with the drinks and moving the sun shade so I didn’t get too burnt! 

 

Beach Desires

The Wilder Sisters Series

Secret Cravings Publishing

Can a summer fling last a lifetime? Stacey Wilder escapes to the beach for a much needed vacation and meets a woman who tempts her passion. But Stacey hid her desires growing up because small town Catholic girls don’t fall in love with other women.

Mandy Kenzie is a Southern girl who also dealt with discrimination growing up over her choice of lovers. When she meets Stacey, sparks fly and passion ignites. But will their beach fling become a forever match or just a vacation affair?

Can Stacey and Mandy make their long distance relationship work? Or will they let the prejudices of their upbringing ruin their chance at happiness?

EXCERPT:

Dinner with Mandy was perfect. We had a lot in common, finding that we both shared a passion for muscle cars. Most of our discussion was innocent, yet the desire for each other simmered under the surface.

“When did you realize you were a lesbian?” she inquired as she reached over to put her hand on top of mine.

The touch of her skin on mine caused my pussy to clench. Her full lips drew my gaze. I thought about kissing them, running my tongue along them before nibbling on her bottom lip. Focusing on her question, I knew she would understand my thoughts and fears.

“I’ve known since I was a teenager. I left my hometown after graduation, never looking back. Now my sister is getting married. She asked me to be a part of her wedding party. I really don’t want to go back to Amherst to face my past, but since my dad has Alzheimer’s, I’m afraid if I don’t go back for the wedding, I won’t see him again in this lifetime.”

“I understand. Living in the South, being different was frowned upon. I hid my desires as well. Luckily times have changed. I’m able to express my needs now, rather than hide them.

Why are you so afraid to go back to your hometown?”

Speaking to Mandy about my past and my life was easy. I felt an instant connection to her in addition to the desire I had for her body.

“My town was very small. The people were small minded. If you didn’t have a boyfriend, you were teased. So I pretended to like guys, even “dated” some to keep my secret. Even with my family’s support, I’m nervous about going back and facing the people I knew. I’m worried about what they will think of me.”

“I understand your fears. However, you shouldn’t worry about them. You are a successful, caring person. Who you love doesn’t have anything to do with what kind of person you are. Let’s get out of here. Would you like to take a walk on the beach? I love the beach at night.”

“I’d love to. There is something about the waves crashing and the feeling of being alone in the world that I love,” I answered with a smile. “This has been a wonderful dinner. I’m enjoying getting to know you.”

The drive back to the condominium was quiet as we were each lost in our own thoughts. Anxious to get Mandy alone on the beach, I wanted to steal a kiss. I’d been fantasizing of her lips all night and couldn’t wait to see if they felt as soft as they looked.

BUY LINK: http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=book_info&cPath=4&products_id=329&zenid=d010e84b62237755f15f2f1148eb2146

Leave a Reply

