Introducing Linda Hays-Gibbs

Hi and welcome to my blog, Linda Hays-Gibbs. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?  I was reading about Napoleon and his last battle.  I thought about all those young boys lying (45,000) dead on one battlefield and wondered what would happen to the survivors?  I thought about vampires hunting prey on this battlefield and maybe the ghosts of the men slain trying to find the living.  I don’t know my imagination just took off flying.  I love to imagine all this in my head and then try and write it down.  I did think a Frenchman and an English lady would make a great love story but I ended with a Scotsman coming into the picture just to give her more choices, you understand. All those men and only one lady to make up her mind about who she would love or not love.  It was a dilemma.

 

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why? I want to fly, get my youth back and find the man I wanted when I was young.

 

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future? Murder Mystery.  I would also love to do Science Fiction.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?

I have been married a lot, like four times and I am now single. 

 

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say? Too (serious)s, too (pessimistic) but terribly (romantic)

 

What authors can be found in your library of books? Johanna Lindsey, Jo Beverley, Barbara Metzgar, William Shakespeare and Jack London, Ernest Hemingway, E. E. Cummings, George R. R. Martin, and Jane Austen.

 

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us? Chocolate, man watching and “Game of Thrones” oh, and William Shatner and Thor to play with.

 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?

 “My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls” 

From the corner of the woods Pierre Blanchard saw her. She was like an angel floating around in the carnage of hell. At least she looked like an angel. Her beauty was compelling and her grace was like a dancer and a determined little flower with serious and painful intent. He could feel her emotions. Suddenly, all he wanted was to comfort her, to take her into his arms and never let her go. He started toward her and then halted, shaking his head to clear it. He could not do that. He was the enemy, the dreaded Frenchman, and he had to stay hidden. After all this horrible battle, someone had to report back toFrancethat they were defeated.Pierreshould have already left. Maybe, God willing, this time there would be no more wars. No, that was not possible. Was it not Plato that said the only men who did not war were dead men? There would always be wars. Mesmerized by his angel, he kept following her. She had on the most exquisite gown, and though it was soiled, she still looked like a china doll.

Pierreran toward her and almost out into the clearing. He stopped just short of exposing himself. Oh, God he wanted to help her. She was so helpless and tiny and she was so broken. His heart was breaking for her as she screamed and wept, so he continued to weep too. She had found her lover. Oh, whatPierrewould give for her to love him like that and to hold him like that! His features twisted into a scowl. If he could only take her in his arms and love her! His clothes would not give him away. 

It is a Regency Romance set at the time of the last battle with Napoleon.
      Prudence Elizabeth White, the daughter of the Earl of White is left alone while her brother Michael and soon to be betrothed, Fearghass MacDonald, the Duke if Sumerled rush off to the battle. Days later neither has returned so with no one to help her Pru goes in search of her loved ones. She finds herself 
immersed in horror unimaginable and she almost loses her mind and would except for the man who holds her and kisses her in the pitch black night on the battlefield among 40,000 dead bodies. Needless to say, she falls in love with her unseen but very comforting hero. The only problem is that her hero is French and a vampire. 
     Destitute, Pru takes up residence in a ruined castle and soon finds that it already has residents, a few ghosts and demons. Her midnight love protects her until he is injured saving her.He also finds he needs other things besides food, another hunger has overcome him.
    Suddenly another man comes to the castle, the owner.  Pru is terrified and intrigued, as he looks very familiar.  Is he someone who will protect her or harm her? 
     Pierre cannot leave Pru alone.  He is deeply and hopelessly in love. He hungers for her with a fire he can barely control.  In the darkness, he holds her and protects her but how will he protect Pru from himself.
      Dughlass is stunned that someone has taken over his castle until she falls at his feet and his heart falls at hers.
He started down the stairs and heard a moan coming from Pru’s room.  He could not help himself; he was inside her room in a second.  She was having a fitful dream and he felt some presence in her room.  He looked around for this cursed man she wanted but did not see him, but there was something…what was it…then he saw it a darkness hovering over her.        
    “In God’s name what are you? I adjure you in the name of all that is holy; stop what you are doing!  You cannot have Pru!  If you must have something or someone, take me!” 

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing? I read a book. Lol yes, I read quite a bit actually.  I also watch movies but I love reading.

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why? I would love to chat with Daniel Boone since he is my great, great, great, grandpa.  I would also like to chat with Dragging Canoe as we are supposed to be related.  He was a famous Cherokee chief. 

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future? The Devil is Real” It is about an assassin from hell that goes to kill a woman that is half angel and he finds he can not kill her.  He falls in love with her but she has powers too. She can not tolerate evil.  She can taste a lie or taste evil, see evil, smell evil, feel evil and hear evil.  She falls down the stairs and has a lapse in memory and that is the only way she falls in love with him.  She temporarily loses her powers to perceive evil and therefore, cannot see the evil in this man and falls madly in love with him.  He is shattered when she gets her memory and powers back and cannot be in the same room with the man she loves.  How can they solve this problem?

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one?  ”My Angel, My Light As Darkness FallsIf not, then which one is closest to your heart?  “He Would Make Her Pay”

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

You can buy my book at: http://eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615726028 

http://www.amazon.com/Angel-Light-Darkness-Falls-ebook/dp/B00769015M/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1329171657&sr=1-1

watch a trailer on utube about it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDjuhb5n9L4&feature=youtube_gdata_player

you can contact me at:  lindahaysgibbs@gmail.com

 www.lindahaysgibbs.pbworks.com

www.lindahaysgibbs.blogspot.com

www.facebook.com/rosedru

My Angel, My Light by Linda Hays-Gibbs

Eternal Press

Historical Romance

http://eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615726028

At the mercy of the darkness which terrifies her, Pru is alone except for 40,000 dead bodies. She starts screaming with no hope as the black starts to consume her. Suddenly warm strong arms embrace her and she is sheltered from the horror all around. She sleeps until the arms leave her once again alone in the dark and her screaming starts again.

Luckily the dawn is coming and she has not lost her mind entirely before the first burst of light softens the dark. Then the horrors must leave as the day chases them away.

Teaser Excerpt:

From the corner of the woods Pierre Blanchard saw her. She was like an angel floating around in the carnage of hell. At least she looked like an angel. Her beauty was compelling and her grace was like a dancer and a determined little flower with serious and painful intent. He could feel her emotions. Suddenly, all he wanted was to comfort her, to take her into his arms and never let her go. He started toward her and then halted, shaking his head to clear it. He could not do that. He was the enemy, the dreaded Frenchman, and he had to stay hidden. After all this horrible battle, someone had to report back to France that they were defeated. Pierre should have already left. Maybe, God willing, this time there would be no more wars. No, that was not possible. Was it not Plato that said the only men who did not war were dead men? There would always be wars.

7 thoughts on “Introducing Linda Hays-Gibbs

  1. I want to thank Raine for this great interview. I appreciate your questions and want to make one correction. I changed the title of The Devil is Real to “Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul” and it launches with Eternal Press in November. I forgot that little news bit. Thank you again.
    Linda

  2. I want to thank Raine for having me today and for this great interview. You are the best.
    I also want to correct one point I forgot . I changed the name of my new book from “The Devil is Real” to “Angel in My Heart, Devil In My Soul” and it will be launched in November by Eternal Press. So my Angel Series will continue.
    I hope everyone enjoys them . I have had some great reviews so thank you again.
    Sincerely,
    Linda Hays-Gibbs

  3. Already a fan of Linda’s and look forward to her next novel. Great interview-I also would like my youth and the power of flight! Dina Rae

  4. Someone please find my youth, too! You had me hooked at Napoleon, Linda. Nice interview!

  5. I wish to convey some as a result of this writer for bailing me from this type of difficulty. Just right after searching all over the world-wide-web and receiving guidance which ended up not pleasurable, I believed my complete living was more than. Living minus the answers towards the issues this website you’ve got set all as a result of your full critique is usually a critical circumstance, and all those which might have negatively impacted my full occupation if I had not observed the blog. Your real understanding and kindness in participating in with every single portion was Continuedprecious. I don’t realize what I might have performed if I experienced not learned this kind of a stage such as this. I can at this stage anticipate my potential. Thanks a lot greatly for that remarkable all nigerian newspapers and powerful manual. I’ll not be hesitant to recommend your web page to anyone who calls for assistance on this problem.

Leave a Reply

