Welcome Elysa Hendricks Today

 

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Elysa Hendricks. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?

Jake, I’d like a frozen Marguerita, please. Thanks.

Raine, my latest book – STAR CRASH – was inspired by my love of STAR TREK with a little bit of PLANET OF THE APES and the Twilight Zone episode PEOPLE ARE ALIKE ALL OVER thrown in. It’s what might happen if human beings found themselves on a planet where they weren’t the reigning species. Where they’re considered and treated no better than farm animals.

 

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?

Being able to read minds sounds interesting, but I decided I’m better off not knowing what other people are thinking.

Super strength? Nah, then I’d end up having to do all the heavy lifting.

Maybe invisibility? Of course, sometimes I feel invisible anyways, so that’s not really high on my list of super powers.

What I’d like is to be able to fly. To defy gravity. I think it would be fun to be able to and move around without having to deal with cars, trains, and planes. To see the world from a different perspective.

 

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future?

Well, I’ve written sci-fi, fantasy, paranormal, historical and contemporary. What else is there? Maybe mystery, horror or suspense. I don’t pick genres. I just write the story as it needs to be told.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?

My real life is pretty vanilla, bland, boring, so I’m not sure there’s much about me that would surprise anyone.  And while my fantasies might surprise or even shock some people I’m going to my grave without revealing any of them. Of course, readers can possibly glean some of them from my books.

 

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say?

She’d probably tell people I’m lazy – at least about writing. While I love having written I actually hate writing. It’s damned hard work. My muse gives me great ideas all the time, but I keep putting off writing them. But she gets her revenge. If I don’t work on the ideas she gives me in a timely fashion, she sulks and won’t talk to me. Then I have to feed her tons of chocolate and sit at my computer for hours and hours until she relents and starts speaking to me again.

 

What authors can be found in your library of books?

Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Cathie Linz, Nora Roberts, Lori Foster, Gena Showalter, Ann Macela, Karen McCullough, Isaac Assimov, Robert Heinlein, Arthur C Clarke, Piers Anthony, and Michael Crichton are just a few of the authors whose books jam my shelves. This list goes on and on. And there’s not enough paper to list all the new authors I’ve added to my ebook shelf. I’m a voracious reader and I love all different genres of fiction and non-fiction.

 

 Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us?

I have many pleasures in my life – my family, reading, writing, gardening, crafts, CHOCOLATE – but I don’t feel guilty about any of them. Life is meant to be lived, savored and enjoyed, so why feel guilty about doing so.

 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?

I’m currently working on a contemporary fantasy about a matchmaking cat. Playboy TC Riley is mad, bad and DEAD. In order to redeem his soul he’s sent back to earth to play matchmaker. Only catch – he has to do it as a cat.

 

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

When the weather cooperates here in central OhioI like to putter around in my garden. Otherwise I read, work on some craft project or spend time with my husband of nearly forty years.

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?

I’d love to spend time with Chief Quannah Parker of the Comanche nation. The half-white son of the Comanche captive Cynthia Ann Parker, Quannah’s story fascinates me. The story of the Comanche Indians is a subject I deal with in my book HER WILD TEXAS HEART.

 

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?

A friend and I have co-written a humorous mainstream fiction book. GRANNIES AND TRANNIES: VEGAS OR BUST is The Golden Girls meets The Bird Cage on a wild, wacky, and heartfelt road trip to Las Vegasto rescue a friend from the Mob. We’re shopping it around to agents and editors.

I’m in the process of re-releasing my backlist from Dorchester Publishing. STAR RAIDERS, the sequel to STAR CRASH, and THE SWORD AND THE PEN, a contemporary fantasy should be available for Kindle and other ereaders soon.

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart?

Oh, it would be difficult to choose a favorite “book baby.” I love them all dearly; each has a special place in my heart. But I think that of them all THE SWORD AND THE PEN comes closest to being my favorite because it deals with a writer whose fictional heroine appears in the real world and causes chaos in his well-ordered but boring life.

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

First I want to thank Raine for having me here to visit. I love talking about writing and connecting with readers and other authors. And I love hearing from people. They can reach me through my web site: http://www.elysahendricks.com or at: elysa@elysahendricks.com

 

 

STAR CRASH

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Star-Crash-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B007T2J9T0/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1335281528&sr=1-1 

Blurb:

When Planet of the Apes meets Star Trek what’s a girl to do?

After recon pilot Cora Daniels crash lands on an alien planet she finds herself a prisoner of the Flock: a race of birdlike humanoids. Trapped in their zoo she discovers they intend her to mate. To breed. To be part of their human herd.

 

She’s placed in a cage with a man – a powerful, virile man, but not just any man – Alexander. Was he her lost love, who’d disappeared so long ago? Here he was: naked, glistening, a warrior trained by the Flock to fight for their amusement. How could the brilliant man, the tender lover she remembered have become this animal born to dominate and destroy? Was he a pawn of the Flock or would their flight to freedom be a long-sought reunion?

Excerpt:

Cora paced the perimeter of the room, her need for release growing with every step. Earth drug companies would pay dearly for whatever the hell aphrodisiac the Flock used on her. Only the sense that she was being watched kept her from touching herself and relieving the increasing ache.

 

What did it matter? At this rate, she’d ravage whatever abomination entered the room.

A subtle snick of sound and the enticing aroma of warm male flesh told her she was no longer alone. The fear that wouldn’t come to her aid before now blossomed in her. She knew that she should look up, should brace herself for an attack, but she couldn’t make herself move. When she found herself quaking like an untried virgin, anger usurped her fear. She sprang up and turned to face whatever the Flock had sent her.

Shock froze her.

“Alexander,” she whispered.

One thought on “Welcome Elysa Hendricks Today

Leave a Reply

