Introducing Rosanna Leo Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Rosanna Leo. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?

My latest book is called Up in Flames.  As for what inspired it…in short, I love firefighters! Who doesn’t, right? Well, I came up with the idea of a feisty heroine who wasn’t too keen on the firefighter uniform at all.  Her cheating ex was a firefighter, you see, so she’s vowed to stay away from them and from men in general.  But when a super-hot new fire captain comes to town, sparks begin to fly! You can find it at www.liquidsilverbooks.com

  

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?

I would love to fly!  If I could, I’d spend my time “jetting” off to various places around the world:London, the Mayan Riviera,Edinburgh,Paris.  I love travelling, so for me, this would be the ultimate super power.  Only I’d also require super pockets, so I could carry my clothes.  A girl can’t live with one outfit, after all!

 

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future?

I think I’ll always write romance in one way or another.  I’ve never written a werewolf hero, and am curious about that.  I’ve written about regular folk, vampires and Greek gods, but not wolfies.  They have such a huge following, and rightly so.  The Muse hasn’t sent me a werewolf hero yet, but you never know.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?

I am a classically-trained singer.  I studied music and vocal performance for many years and was part of a well-knownTorontochamber ensemble for a couple of years.  I loved the music, but did not love the diva scene.  Luckily, I can live vicariously through my characters, and make them singers too, if I choose!

 

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say?

Focused.  Impatient.  Dreamer.

 

What authors can be found in your library of books?

So many!  I love Maya Banks, Diana Gabaldon, Suzanne Brockman, Molly Harper, Kathy Love, Karen Marie Moning. That’s only scratching the surface, though.

 

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us?

Ooh, just thinking of a bag of salty chips gets me all hot and bothered.  Seriously, I love them!  All Dressed, Salt and Vinegar, and because I’m Canadian and we have freaky flavors, PICKLE chips! Yum!

 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?

Well, I am fortunate that my publisher Liquid Silver has picked up another of my Greek god paranormals, entitled Sweet Hell.  This one features the randy deity Dionysus and pairs him with a testy, little Italian baker fromToronto.  One who isn’t so fond of him because he thinks he’s “a Greek god.”  She has no idea….

 

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?

Actually, more writing sounds wonderful. I can’t write enough.  For me, that is my relaxation.  Otherwise, I love hiking with my husband and visiting small towns like Niagara-on-the-Lake.  If I could, I’d travel all through Britainand Europe!

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?

Lord Byron!  And sure…we’d “chat.” I suppose we’d have to do some talking, after all!  But mostly, I would just like to see if he’d live up to his hype.  Those Regency ladies used to love him!  I think it would be historically responsible to corroborate those claims! J

 

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?

I haven’t finished with my Greek gods!  I love ‘em!  Next, I’m hoping to embark on a love story for gorgeous old Apollo!  Tall, blond, buff, immortal.  Really, what’s not to love?

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart?

I love Up in Flames.  It was my second published work, and is very important to me.  When my first novel For the Love of a God was published, I spent a while thinking it was just a fluke.  When Up in Flames was accepted, I felt as if I’d “arrived” and was a real author.  Not just a lucky Canadian scribbler!

 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?

Just that I really appreciate being here and being able to talk to the fans of the excellent Raine Delight!   Thank-you! J

 

 Up in Flames by Rosanna Leo

Liquid Silver Books

Buy Here

Juliet Baker is not looking forward to coming home after six months. Yes, the fiery brunette wants to make a go of turning her parents’ farmhouse into a B&B. She’s just not looking forward to seeing the place where they died. To make things worse, she knows she’ll finally have to face her cheating, firefighter ex-boyfriend.

Luckily, her sister has found Jules a boarder. Easy money, right? Not when she realizes the boarder is Captain Shane Gaskill.  Not only is Shane a firefighter, he’s the town’s hot new fire captain.

Jules is determined to hate all firefighters. After all, the men of that precious brotherhood protected her cheating ex. Shane, however, proves he’s different from the start. He’s protective and kind, and she can’t stop looking at his smoking, Viking-hot body. She learns, though, that Shane isn’t so willing to love again either. He’s been hurt, too. They both fight the sexual chemistry, and resulting tenderness, between them. But when a stalker begins to target Jules, they realize they can’t fight their desire forever.

As the threats escalate, Shane and Jules are thrown together.  The resulting passion overwhelms them.  But are they willing to trust each other and surrender to the flames of love?

Excerpt for Up in Flames:

Jules wished she could just scurry away from the attractive, yet formidable, firefighter behind her, but he seemed insistent on following her.

“Wait,” he called, “you’re my landlady? I’ll be living with you?”

She didn’t respond and just headed to the farmhouse door, fuming. She was aware of him behind her, muttering something about wonders never ceasing, but she tried not to listen.

She began to grumble to herself. “When I get a hold of Claire, I’ll throttle her.” As she walked up the front steps ahead of him, imagining a dozen ways to punish her nosy sister, she felt her ass start to burn. She looked over her shoulder at the man behind her, only to be confronted by the sight of his smiling, brown eyes trained on her derriere.

“Why, if you don’t mind me asking?” he asked.

She spun around and almost bumped into him. He steadied her by clasping her arms. His strength and warmth shot through her like an electric shock. “Oh, she just never mentioned you were so…”

“So what?”

She took in his disarming smile and the shock of sandy hair that kept falling into his eyes. There was something altogether boyish about his crooked grin, torn jeans and mussed hair. At the same time, she couldn’t deny the manliness of his solid biceps and towering frame. And in his soft brown eyes there was a depth, a certain maturity telling of hardship and experience. Jules found it hard to look away. “I, uh, guess I expected someone with a buzz cut.”

He pushed his stray bangs off his face and laughed. God help her, he had to see what a lame attempt that was. He must know she found him attractive.

“I know. I need a trim.” His eyes narrowed, but didn’t lose the twinkle of amusement. “Let me guess. You expected someone … older, maybe?”

“I suppose so.” And someone gnarly. And homely. And less ruggedly beautiful.

“Yeah, I get that reaction all the time. For some reason, people seem to think thirty-five isn’t mature enough to be a captain.” He stretched his arms, and Jules forced herself to maintain contact with his eyes. “I look older in the uniform.”

She bit her lip, deciding it wasn’t wise to picture him in his uniform. Like many women, a man in uniform was about enough to turn her to mush. But since her experience with Kevin, she hadn’t been keen on the firefighter uniform at all. “You’re very early, you know. When we last e-mailed, you indicated you’d be here this evening. I don’t even have your room ready for you.”

He grimaced. “I know. I’m sorry. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize my motel had such an early check-out time. I should have called.”

“No, no, it’s okay. As long as you don’t mind me puttering around you with my bleach and rubber gloves.”

He got an odd look on his face then. He muttered something about not minding and passed a hand over his knit brow. Before he could hide it, she noticed the massive erection in his jeans.

Sweet Jesus, did the idea of her in yellow rubber gloves make him horny? Maybe his lascivious mind was imagining her in those gloves and nothing else.

“Well,” she interrupted his clearly sex-crazed thoughts, “would you like to see the house?”

“Sure.”

She led him into the foyer, conscious of the fact it gave him yet another opportunity to appraise her ass.

“You know, I’ve got to be honest, Ms. Baker. You’re not what I expected either.”

She raised an eyebrow. “Oh, no?”

“Nah. I thought Juliet Baker was a little, old lady.” He laughed. “I don’t suppose you spend your time knitting doilies?”

“Not lately.” He was charming, this firefighter, a little too charming. They were all the same. Kevin had won her over with his trustworthy appearance, and then he had steamrolled right over her. “Listen, maybe this isn’t what you’re looking for. I’m sure you want to be closer to the fire hall. Plus, this is an old farm and I’ll be doing lots of renovations to convert it into a B&B eventually. It’ll get noisy. It’ll get dusty. I have so much I need to fix. Surely, you want something newer, more modern.”

“You seem to know a lot about what I want.” He cocked an eyebrow at her and let his words sink in. “Actually, I think it’s nice around here, and I don’t want to be in town. I’ll be spending enough time as it is at the fire hall with ten-hour shifts. Besides, I’ve worked in construction. I’m quite accustomed to noise and dust.”

A firefighter who’d worked in construction. Could anyone get more ridiculously macho than that? “But…”

“You know, I’m pretty handy with a hammer and a paintbrush.” He fingered a piece of peeling paint on the wall. “I’d be more than happy to help you with any repairs.”

“It’s not necessary, Captain Gaskill.”

“Don’t worry. I’m not angling to get a reduction in my rent.” He was clearly trying to make her smile, but Jules refused to give him the satisfaction. “The terms you outlined in your email were more than fair, that is, assuming I get to see my living quarters any time soon.”

“Oh, right!” She scurried down the hallway, feeling badly for keeping him and his otherworldly erection standing there. Where were her manners? There was something about the man which was throwing her right off, and it had everything to do with the twinkle in his eye and the boner in his pants. “There’s a large guestroom with an adjoining bathroom and sitting area at the back of the house. It’s just through there if you want to have a look.”

“Thanks. I’ll check it out.”

As the captain made his way to the back of the house, Jules fluffed her hair in the hall mirror and then caught herself.

Look at you, preening like a peacock, she thought. And over another damn  firefighter!

She thought of Mr. Mitchell’s warning. Maybe this man was a masher, although for the life of her, she wasn’t quite sure what being a masher entailed. She just knew it wasn’t good.

“Should I really be letting this man into my house?” she whispered. She wanted nothing in her life reminiscent of Kevin and his kind. Wanted no memories of how he’d treated her. Surely having Kevin’s boss under the same roof was a mistake. A huge, head-walloping, heart-stopping mistake.

He was probably just like Kevin.

11 thoughts on “Introducing Rosanna Leo Today

  1. Totally YUM!

    And what a fantastic interview! And that is totally awesome that you are a classically trained vocalist! I’m with you on the salty chips and the writing to relax too. It is how i come down for the night before I slide into bed and ironically pick up a book to read lol

    -Bonnie

  2. Hi Rosanna, you’re right, who doesn’t like a hunk of a fireman. The book sounds yummy. I love a good romance. On my TBB list.
    Good luck with the sales.

    1. Hi Marj! Thanks for coming today! Lord Byron was one hot dude…not a fireman, but hey, maybe we could persuade him to put those suspenders on for us!

    1. Danita, you’re about the only person I’d share Shane with. I like to keep him in my pocket for lust emergencies, but you can try him on for size! Thanks for joining me here today!

Leave a Reply

