Welcome Cara Marsi today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Cara Marsi. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you for the drink. Your cabana boys are indeed hunky. I need to get myself a couple of them. Here’s a little about me:

I’m a former corporate drone and cubicle dweller. Now that I’m no longer a slave to the corporate world, I can more fully indulge my love of romance. I like to write about feisty, independent women and the hot guys who love them. I’m published in traditional romance, romantic suspense, and paranormal romance. In addition, I’ve sold more than a dozen short stories to women’s magazines.

My husband and I like to travel, and I love to write about the places we’ve visited. We share our home with a fat, black diva of a cat named Killer.

So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece? 

A few years ago an epub put out a call for romances where the hero and heroine were stranded together by bad weather. I didn’t submit to that epub but the plot stayed with me. I love the idea of two people who have a history and who are hot for each other forced by weather to deal with their issues and their feelings. So I wrote “Storm of Desire,” about a January nor’easter raging outside while a different kind of storm rages inside. 

If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?

Call me shallow, but I wouldn’t want powers to change the world. I’d just want to free myself of housework. I’d want the powers Samantha from the TV show, “Bewitched,” had. I’d twitch my nose and my house would be clean. Think of all the time I’d save. 

What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future? 

I haven’t tried historical romance, but I have a story idea that’s been rattling around in my mind for years so I may give it a shot.

 

What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you? 

I’m not at liberty to say.

 

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say? 

 

Creative, bookish, short

 

What authors can be found in your library of books? 

Jude Deveraux, Kim Watters, Kate Welsh, Jess Lourey, Sandra Edwards, Sue Fineman, Aola Vandergriff, Ann Whitaker, Lynn Reynolds, Victoria Holt, J.K. Rowling, Tony Hillerman, Robert Harris, and a slew more. 

Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us? 

I like wine, but not in excess. I love to eat dark chocolate with rich red wine. 

Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of? 

I’m writing a sequel to my romantic suspense, “Logan’s Redemption.” A reader asked me if I planned a sequel with my heroine’s playboy brother. That got me thinking, but I’d made the guy such a playboy in the original book that I had to figure out a way for him to “man up.” Hopefully I’ve done that. “Franco’s Fortune,” my work in progress, is also a romantic suspense. 

What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing? 

Cooking dinner, then relaxing with my husband in front of the TV while we eat. We’re political junkies and have our favorite political shows to watch during dinner. After dinner, I enjoy other TV shows, like police procedurals and sitcoms. My husband and I both love “Once Upon a Time” and “Grimm” and “Nikita.” Besides being a political junkie, I’m a TV junkie.

What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why? 

Julius Caesar. I love Ancient Rome and read anything I can about it. I’d want to ask Caesar to describe the streets of Ancient Rome, and also to describe the forests of Ancient Britain and Gaul. And I’d ask him why he wanted to conquer the world. 

Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?

In addition to “Franco’s Fortune,” I plan to do a series of Storm stories. I’ll call the series The Rourkes of Rehoboth. Each story won’t be centered on a storm like “Storm of Desire,” but each one will feature another member of the Rourke family. My hero in “Storm of Desire,” Aiden Rourke, is the youngest of three brothers. There’s a sister too. My heroine, Samantha Greco, has two brothers she’s never met. So I can keep on with this series for awhile.

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one? If not, then which one is closest to your heart? 

Asking me to pick a favorite is like asking a mother to choose her favorite child. They’re all close to my heart in a way. If had to pick the one closest to my heart it would be “Logan’s Redemption,” my second published book. I had to force myself to finish writing that book. I just went on and on because I love my characters so much. I cut 20,000 words out after I’d completed it. I especially love my hero, Logan Tanner. He grew up on the mean streets of Philadelphia and he thinks he’s damaged goods. But he’s a strong warrior who will do anything for the woman he loves. 

Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add? 

Thank you for having me. It’s been fun. Readers can read excerpts from all my books at my website: http://www.caramarsi.com 

Another book I didn’t mention but I’m very proud of, is “Murder, Mi Amore,” a romantic suspense set almost entirely in Rome, Italy. “Murder, Mi Amore” is a 2012 EPPIE finalist for best romantic suspense. My hero in that book, Dominic Brioni, is another warrior who puts his job and his life on the line to save the woman he loves.

 

**********

Storm of Desire by Cara Marsi 

Corporate attorney Samantha Greco needs some peace and quiet to come to a decision about her career. Instead, while an icy nor’easter rages outside, she finds herself trapped in a cottage onFenwickIslandwith Aiden Rourke, a man she used five years ago when she ran from the heartbreak of her fiancé’s betrayal.

Aiden Rourke has loved Sam for years. For one glorious night she was his. But then she fled, wounding his ego and his heart. Thrown together again, they soon discover time hasn’t diminished their fiery passion for each other. Only Aiden has ever been able to melt Sam with just a look or a touch. But the fear that she’s like her mother, who used men mercilessly, scares Sam to death.

The storm outside is nothing compared to the storm of desire, fear, and guilt raging inside Sam. But during their wild weekend together, Sam and Aiden draw closer and realize their all-consuming passion for each other masks deeper needs and desires.

When the storm ends, will they go their separate ways? Or will they find the courage to face the future together as one?

 

HOT Excerpt: 

With a groan, he crushed her mouth in an urgent kiss. She parted her lips, welcoming his possession, as she slid down on the sofa, Aiden moving to lie on top of her. Slipping her arms around his neck, Sam kissed him with all the pent-up sexual frustration she’d been afraid to release.

“Sam,” he whispered against her lips. He nibbled on the corners of her mouth and trailed hot, hungry kisses along her jaw line.

She squirmed beneath him, her hips seeking his erection. Moaning under his touch, the storm inside her drowned out the storm outside.

“Keep still, baby,” he muttered. “You keep moving like that, it’ll be over before it starts. We’ve got all night.”

He slipped his hand under her sweater and cupped one breast, massaging her through the thin lace of her bra. Uttering tiny cries, she wound her fingers in his hair. It was as silky as it looked, as silky as she remembered.

“Your breasts–so beautiful,” he murmured. He continued caressing and massaging until she bucked under him, nearly crazed with wanting him.

“Easy, sweetheart.” He grabbed the edge of her sweater and slipped it over her head. Then he tenderly and expertly removed the skimpy red bra and threw it on the floor.

Her nipples puckered and her juices flowed, wetting her panties. She was so ready for him.

He took one breast in his large hand, rolling the peaked nipple between his fingers. “Beautiful.” Still cupping her breast, he captured the other nipple in his mouth, sucking, licking until she was a puddled mass of need.

“Aiden,” she breathed.

He kept up his relentless worship of her breasts, his talented hands and mouth working their sensual magic, taking her higher and higher, closer to the peak. It had been so long. She felt her climax building, a flame burning out of control. Purring her pleasure, she twisted her fingers into the soft fabric of the sofa.

Her climax rolled over her in fiery waves, and she moaned his name until she finally lay still beneath him.

Aiden held her close and kissed her hair. “Liked that, did you?”

“Yes,” she croaked. “Oh, yes.”

“You’re so responsive.” His soft breath whispered against her neck. “I remember how I made you come just touching your breasts.”

His mention of that other night hit her with the force of the sleet outside. Humiliation and guilt reared up. She pushed against him and struggled to sit.

He released her and she quickly stood, then bent to pick up her discarded clothing, holding the sweater over her nakedness.

He stared up at her, the desire in his eyes slowly replaced by confusion. “Sam, what’s wrong?”

She stared at him for long moments, her body on fire. She didn’t know what she felt for him. Lust? Love? Or was he just a convenience, someone to take her mind off her problems? Until she knew, she had to resist Aiden’s pull. For his sake.

7 thoughts on “Welcome Cara Marsi today

  1. Great interview!! I’m loved Storm of Desire and didn’t know there were more storm stories to come!!! Can’t wait!

  2. I love all your work, but I’m especially glad to hear there is a sequel to Logan’s in the works. That was the first book of yours I read and it’s the one that got me hooked on your writing.!

  3. Julius Caesar, that’s an interesting choice. That’s one era that hasn’t pulled me in yet. I’d love to hear about the ancient forests, though.

Leave a Reply

