Welcome Natalie Hancock Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Natalie Hancock Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Hello! And thank you.
I’m Natalie Hancock, as you know,
I’m a hyperactive writer of Paranormal Romance books, originally from Plymouth Devon, but now live in Skegness with my partner in the middle of nowhere… Where no one can hear you scream.
I write about vampires mainly, but would like to write stories of other paranormal creatures.

I love to read, listen to loud rock/hardcore music, game, and look after my crazy animals. I have a hamster, three guinea pigs and a chinchilla. He’s the crazy in the crazy animals.
We both love animals and hope to have an army of guinea pigs, hamsters and chinchilla’s. Along with a goat.

I have been to University of Lincoln, Riseholme College, studying a course on Animal Care, which I did for two years. It was while I was at college that I started writing when I had this weird, but awesome dream, and because I didn’t want to forget it (which happened a lot) I wrote it down, and I guess I never stopped writing.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

Personality? None. Only in my dreams. I wish I was the sexy awesome fighting half-breed that Layla is. But unfortunately, I’m not.
Life experiences? Well I will admit to putting some life experience in my books. Most of it is bad, but romance Layla shares with Shade I’ve written from how I feel with my partner. The sex scenes I do not write from experience like many people have claimed. How would they know? I experiment, yes, but never write from the experience Reece and I share together.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

Depends on the mood. If I’m in a mood for writing, I can normally finish a book within a month, doing a chapter or two a day. If not, it takes me three or four months.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

Stick on my favourite rock/hardcore band, You Me at Six on loud until I can’t hear myself sing. Put the laptop in front of me with my folder of plans and notes, a pen or two… One for chewing, another just in case I need to write something down. And I will just… Write.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

My latest release is Dark Awakening, which is the third book in the Cursed in Darkness Series. That is released today.
I wasn’t exactly inspired to write this book, or the second one, Dark Shadows. Before I was contracted, Eternal Darkness was Eternal Darkness, Dark Shadows and Dark Awakening all in one book. I was told to cut it into three because it was too long.
The inspiration for writing Eternal Darkness when it was all three books in one came from dreams I have. I just fall asleep, and when I wake, I’m already writing down ideas that I’ve dreamt. It’s just that simple for me.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? (if you don’t have love scenes in your books, disregard this question)

I love a romance book with love scenes in it. Though if it gets to the point where I’ve read five or six chapters and the couple, threesome or foursome is still going at it like horny rabbits without even breaking a sweat or taking a break, then I get bored of it.
Sometimes I don’t find them hard to write, no. Other times, if I want to try something new, something even I have never tried before, then it is hard because I really have to use my imagination. I have to remember that my characters are vampires and they are able to do a whole lot more than a human ever could.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

For the first five books, the only research I had to look into was about the Book of the Dead because I needed a detailed description of what it was, what it could do and what was inside it for Eternal Darkness. The Book of the Dead does play a vital role in my book… Though you have to have read it to understand why.
Otherwise, no research was needed.
For my sixth book, however, my vampires are going to be changing location. So I will have to research the location and know everything about it because I don’t want to say  one thing, and really, it’s a completely different thing.


What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

I read, a lot. Listen to loud rock/hardcore music, game or watch and look after my animals. My life is simple. All the excitement and imagination goes into my books.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

Storm Savage is my favourite author with her Night Angel books. I’ve read all of her books as soon as they have been released, and can normally email her my thoughts on the book within four or five hours. I just love how she’s written her books.
My favourite genres to read are paranormal romance. I love vampires, werewolves, shifters etc. I love the romance too. I’ve always been a sucker for romance.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

Out of the books that are out, my favourite is Dark Awakening. This book is where the good and bad unravels for Layla and those around her, and the ending is just a shock, even for me. Writing the ending was hard. I didn’t want to write it how it ended because I just didn’t like it, but my vampires are stubborn.

Out of all the books in the series, my favourite will be the fifth one. Everything is explained in this book. Any questions anyone has after reading the books before this one are answered and there are more shocks and surprises along the way.

My favourite heroine throughout the entire series is Layla. The story is based entirely around her. She’s a beautiful, fearless and deadly dhampir living in a world full of vampires. She has a past that haunts her, and secrets just waiting to be exposed. Throughout the stories you learn more about Layla and everything she doesn’t want anyone to know.

 

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?

Story first, setting second. Once everything has been put together, my characters just make their way into the story.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

So far, the ending has been the easiest to write. I normally have the ending already written even before I’ve thought of what’s going to happen.
The hardest is actually writing what happens before the ending.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Love is the element of great romance. Real love.
I know a lot of people who think that just because they say, “I love you,” or buy presents and things like that, that’s romance and that’s true love.
If you really love someone, you smile each time you hear their voice, your heart hammers every time you hear their name, or you get lost in their eyes when they look at you, you really don’t think that buying presents, going out to meals is romantic.
Me and my partner had our anniversary sat in front of a computer playing games, and I said to him that
it’s not the cards he get me, or the presents. It’s not the chocolates either. It’s the kisses and hugs and the way he looks at me and tells me he loves me, that makes me love him more and more each day.
Now for me, that’s great romance.

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you?

The hardest part of writing is the bad things. Killing characters off or making bad things happen. I hate it, but to have the story I want, I have to have it.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

Well… I like to think I control them, but really, they control me. These vampires don’t want to be told what to do. Don’t want to be told what the story is, or how it goes. They want to be the ones to tell the story and seeing as it is their story to tell, I let them.
They don’t listen to me anyway.

What are some of your current projects?

All the Cursed in Darkness series. I’ve already planned on what they’re about, what’s going to happen, the endings etc.
I have a few spin-off books I intend to write in relation to the Cursed in Darkness books.
And Untouched, a new vampire romance book on its own that I plan on finishing soon.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

Hmmm… I’ll have to say boxers.
I like the thought of a man going commando, but then I would think that was weird.

What is your strangest habit?

Arguing to myself. I do it all the time.
I’ll ask someone a question, but then I’ll realize what the answer is, or how stupid that sounds, and it’ll just turn into an argument. My partner has learnt that if he just sits and pretends to be listening, it’ll be over soon.

She starts it.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I need a brush.
No, I actually don’t have a mirror in my room. I smashed it accidently. But when I did, my first thoughts were, I need to go back to bed.

What is your favorite pizza?

Cheese.

What is one thing scientists should invent?

Teleportation. It will save you from being stuck in traffic, or buying petrol, or getting up early to go out to work etc.

If you could time travel, where would you go?

I’d go forward a couple of hours so Reece would come home early.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (Romance or other genres)

Writing. I love writing romance and have been doing it for a long time. Even if I was not contracted, I would still be writing.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

Eternal Darkness. It’s the first of the only series I’ve had published. Cursed in Darkness.

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

A new insight on vampires.

Anything else you want to mention?

Yeah, I’ve finished my drink, hehe

Eternal Darkness by Natalie Hancock

Pleasure and hunger ignite when a vampire tempts a dhampir with everything she desires. Can she resist the forbidden lust or will she surrender? 

Layla, a twenty-one-year-old half-breed known as a dhampir, is incredibly beautiful and deadly. She drinks vampire blood for power and to stop the burning hunger.

The vampire academy is a hundred acres of land surrounded by high tech security to ensure that none enters or leaves. She is in the protection.

When she has lessons with the vampires, she struggles with her hunger and has to learn to trust them—a big issue for Layla because of her past, something she can neither forget nor run from. The past that haunts her dreams reminds her that she cannot hide as she lives her life in the academy.

Then there is Shade—an impossibly handsome vampire and Layla’s one-on-one instructor. Desires she never knew rise whenever he looks at her. She cannot stop how her body reacts to his touch or how much she wants his body and his blood.

It is a forbidden lust that they share, one they must keep a secret from those around them or Layla risks everyone finding out who she really is.

Someone wants her dead. Layla’s goals, deal with the vampires who hate dhampir’s and keep herself alive. Can she do it? 

 

Adult Excerpt 

He breathed onto my skin as his soft lips trailed kisses up my breast, to my nipple. He licked the hard bud before sucking on it. I moaned as desire shot though me, and I felt my legs open while large hands cupped the cheeks of my backside. I groaned and ran my fingers through his soft hair as he worried both of my nipples and sucked on them hard, turning the soft pink skin into dark pink. I cried out at the sensation as pain laced with the pleasure shooting through me.
He stopped, his lips sliding down my body once more until he was pressing little kisses on the inside of my thigh. I watched him do so, pleasure coursing through me along with a little fascination. He licked me, leaving a trail of heat before his tongue plunged deeply inside me. I moaned, my head falling back when he slid his tongue up over my clitoris. My legs went weak but he didn’t let me fall, he just simply shifted, putting my legs over his shoulders and resumed pleasuring me.
“Please…” I moaned, needing more, wanting more as I pressed his face closer to me. He shifted and dropped one of my legs, but kept the other over his shoulder, which opened me wider to his touch. He bowed his head and his tongue snaked out to lick my clitoris again as he slid a finger into me slowly and easily. I growled loudly, the sound echoed around the room. The pleasure in the pit of my stomach grew, burning me, bringing me closer to ecstasy as he slid his finger out and then back in before adding another one at the same time. I felt myself clenching around his fingers, close to exploding, when he stopped. I growled, unable to help myself.
“Be still,” his voice commanded while his free hand gripped my hip tightly. I squirmed, only a little, but did as he said, hoping he would do something, anything, to reignite the fire deep inside me. His fingers were unmoving inside me and I struggled not to move myself up and down on them. My heart was thumping rapidly in my chest and I could feel his matching the beat of mine on my thigh. He put his lips around my clitoris, his tongue gently running over it, making me clench a little before he sucked…

Buy link – http://www.extasybooks.com/Eternal-Darkness/

Leave a Reply

