Guest Author Day with Patricia Pellicane

Hi and welcome to my blog, Patricia Pellicane. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.
So tell us a little about your latest book. What inspired this masterpiece?
 
First, thanks for having me, Raine. I appreciate the opportunity.
 
The title was inspired by a road in East Hampton, N.Y. A relative of mine used to live on one with a similar name.
When it comes to the story I have to tell you I’m rarely inspired. What I do is search my brain for a subject, a scenario, a heroine, anything, even a name and work from there. I twist it, turn it, and pull at it, until I have something resembling a story. Then I jot down a few notes and start to work on that.
I can’t remember ever having a story turn out like the original synopsis. If the story is really working for me, my characters take on a life of their own and they’re sometimes a little hard to control. All my stories are character driven, which reads well, but isn’t a good thing because every agent and editor out there is looking for a plot driven story with strong characters. I sort of write the other way around.
I’ve added a small excerpt to the end of this post for the book published in April. This is the first of a three part series about three best friends, all in some way involved with an inn on South Tiana Road.
 
 
If you had any super powers, what would they be and why?
I’d make sure no one I love ever gets hurt.
 
What genre haven’t you tried yet but want to in the future?
I write love stories between a man and a woman. Contemporary and Historical. Often they have an added element of mystery, or murder. I haven’t found any other genre’ I’d rather write.
 
What is one thing readers might be surprised to know about you?
My life’s an open book, I’m afraid. Have six kids, fifteen grandchildren, taught religious instruction for years, also led a brownie troop. Totally normal, slightly boring, probably no different from anyone else. Except for the sex tape, you say? Well yes, now that you mention it, there was that.
All right, I’ll tell you if you promise not to tell anyone.
When I first heard this question, I thought, what the heck, I’m so boring, I’m going to have to make something up. I’m a writer, I can do that. Right? I racked my brain. What have I ever done that could surprise anyone? And then I remembered.Oh yeah……The Sex Tape!

That’s right. Get over yourself Paris Hilton. Been there, done that, before you were born.
Okay, so what happened was, my husband and I bought a camcorder. So what do you do with a camcorder besides taking pictures of your kids at Christmas and birthdays? You record sex, what do you think?
So my husband sets up the tripod and we go for it. It’s all great fun. Especially since we had a bed that had mirrors on the ceiling…ah…forget I said that.
So we watch the video when we’re done. It’s good. I could lose a few pounds but, it’s fine.
Now this is my husband’s first and greatest toy. He loves that stupid thing. Takes pictures of everything from me with no make-up, to the kitchen table, to the miniature orange trees on our patio. We lived in Florida at the time.
And he shows these pictures to everyone.
Guess what happened.
No, thank God, not that, but almost.
He’s showing the video of my grandchildren, it’s still in the camera. It’s a Christmas video. He’s showing it to my son-in-law. We’re all talking, while Frank is watching it. Later, when everyone went home, my honey comes into the den and says, “I taped Christmas over our video.” Oh my God! Our video!! That can only mean one thing!!! I started to shake. He showed it to Frank. NOOOOO!
After I calmed down I realized he didn’t rewind that far. I watched Frank watch the Christmas video. There was no way he wouldn’t have looked at me with shock if he’d seen me posed the way I was posed. Which you’re better off not knowing, so don’t ask.
Needless to say this video with my grandchildren’s first Christmas no longer exists. My nerves will never be the same. Thoughts of camcorders and Florida will never be the same. I still can’t look at a video from Florida without breaking into a sweat while imagining that one particular scene will suddenly, miraculously appear, even though I fried the damn thing in my barbeque. I still think it somehow might happen. Are you surprised?

If we asked your muse to describe you in three words, what do you think they might say?

I hope they’d say, honorable, honest, and fair. I never lie because I can’t remember most of the truth. If I lied I’d be totally messed up. I strive to be fair and honorable.
What authors can be found in your library of books?
Jane Austin, of course. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice a dozen times. James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Robin Cook, Janet Evanovich and more.
Have any guilty pleasures you want to share with us?
After the sex tape? I’m afraid that’s about it.
 
Is there anything you’re currently working on that you can give us a taste of?
Here’s what I’m working on at the moment. Let me set it up. It’s 1850 and the heroine is on a wagon train heading to California. She’s running from an abusive husband, closer to a super rich, spoiled, psycho jerk, actually. Hero is a detective sent to find her. Despite his usual professionalism for he’s worked many cases like this before, he’s falling in love with this little beauty, while she knows some tenderness for the man, herself. In this scene, he’s taken an arrow in his back and the doctor has just left her wagon.
EXCERPT:
“The doctor had to push the arrow through,” Nora said. “He couldn’t pull it out or cause even greater damage. If fever doesn’t set in, which it probably will, he’ll be up and about in a day or two.”
“Oh God,” Mattie groaned weakly. “I’m glad I didn’t see that.”
“I think he’s drunk,” The two women smiled as they listened to Zach voice break the soft quiet of the night. They smiled again realizing the words didn’t rhyme and mostly made no sense at all.  “He downed more than half the bottle. I know I would have drunk at least as much if I had an arrow pushed through me. He’s going to hurt tomorrow, for sure.”
“No doubt both his side and his head,” Mattie said while nodding in agreement.
“Does anyone know what happened?”
Nora shook her head. “Folks are saying a renegade brave must have come across our camp. They think he’s long gone by now, cause only Zack and Rogers were attacked. Rogers was killed. Just as an added precaution, all fires were extinguished.” Nora glanced toward the wagon. “The men are taking turns patrolling the perimeter of camp. So far everything is quiet.”
“Almost everything,” Mattie corrected with a smile, for Zack’s singing was only now beginning to wane.
Now that he appeared weary of singing, Zach began calling Mattie by name. Only he did it in a sing-song voice. At Nora’s grin, Mattie murmured, “Oh dear,” and hurried toward the wagon. “Stop calling me. Everyone can hear you.”
“Come here. Hold my hand.”
“No.”
“Mattie I need you. You know how bad I’m hurt. I need you to hold my hand.”
“If you promise to be quiet,” he whispered. “I mean, I promise to be quiet.” Much to Mattie’s dismay he said the words even louder than he’d been singing.
“Shush,” she said as she scrambled into the wagon, careful of where she moved lest she fall on him in the dark.
“Mattie is it you?”
“It’s me.”
“Come closer.”
She did as he asked, lest he continue on with his less than quiet urging. God, there was no telling what the man might say next. “I’m sitting right here, holding your hand.”
“I want to hold you.”
“You’ve been hurt, you can’t hold anything or risk further injury.”
“Then hold me.”
Mattie’s gaze narrowed with suspicion. Were his ramblings those of an injured man, daze by whiskey and the shock of his attack? Or was he using his wound as an excuse to get her into bed? She couldn’t see her hand before her face and couldn’t know if his eyes held that particular devilish twinkle.
“You’re going to get hurt.”
“Rub my forehead, it will help my headache.”
 Her gaze narrowed further. Was he playing her for a fool? How was his head hurting when he was shot with an arrow just above his hip?
Mattie reached for his forehead and began to rub and if she was a little rough in her administration, she couldn’t be held at fault. She didn’t for a minute believe he was really as bad off as he claimed, not with the amount of alcohol he’d consumed. “Ow, that feels good.”
“Does it,” Mattie asked. “Why are you saying ow, if it feels good?”
“I didn’t say ow, I said wow.”
She pulled her hand back. “You might as well stop this nonsense. You’re fooling no one but yourself.”
Zach laughed. “I had you for a minute though. Tell the truth.”
“Why? You never do.”
“I’m telling the truth when I say I need you to hold me.”
“Too bad, now I don’t believe anything you say.”
“I got shot by an arrow. The doctor had to push it all the way through.”
Mattie gave a soft moan and forced back a wave of nausea at the very thought. “I heard.”
“Where were you? I needed you.”
“I don’t know what happened. I felt a little weak.”
“Did you faint?”
“I don’t think so.”
“You fell on me. Landed on my face. You were so soft, I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. It felt wonderful.”
“I think we both know when you die you won’t be going to heaven.”
He chuckled a low wicked sound. Mattie could just imagine the sight of that grin. “You are depraved. You had an arrow in your back and you’re thinking about how good I felt?”
“I can’t help thinking; it was almost worth taking that arrow.”
Her sigh was a woeful sound of despair. “Go to sleep, you’ll feel better in the morning.” 
What is your favorite way to relax after a hard day working and writing?
My favorite would be to jet off to a private island and enjoy a massage, a quick swim in a heated pool, a delicious meal of lobster with melted butter and crisp, white wine. What I actually do is make dinner and watch TV. Exciting, right?What is one historical figure you would love to chat with and why?

I have many I’d love to chat with, from Jesus to Charles Manson. In Manson’s case just to see what makes an egomaniac, psycho tick. But the one person I’d truly like to chat with is anyone of Jesus’ sisters. She could tell the things he did as a child, what their home life was like. Was he a good kid? Was he a brat? Did he get punished? How do you punish someone like that? I think that would be interesting. 
 
Would you care to mention any upcoming or WIP projects that readers can look forward from you in the future?
May 9th ‘Tomorrow ‘ comes out, this is the second story in the South Tiana Road series. On July 11th, Forever the third book of the series will be available. Both are contemporary hot and sexy reads.
Here’s an excerpt from the second book. My apologies in advance since it hasn’t been professionally edited yet.
Excerpt:
“Tell me about Diana Lancaster.”
“Diana Lancaster is twenty five and about to make her mark upon the world. You’ll understand after she does, she won’t have much time for the little people.” She pulled back and looked into his shocked expression for a long silent minute before she burst into laughter.
Reid breathed a deep sigh of relief and shook his head. “You forgot to mention she’s a brat.” His arms tightened around her and he swung her in a quick, dizzying circle.
Diana chuckled softly, even as her hand slipped up his chest to the back of his neck. There, her fingers played with his hair. “I didn’t get to that part yet.”
“Will she want to work after she gets married?”
“Well, since she doesn’t believe that marriage is the ultimate achievement in a woman’s life, I can’t see why not.”
He nodded. “Does she want children?”
Diana shrugged, and apparently hoping to shock him again, remarked simply, “Only about five or six.”
“Is that all? You mean a man would have to settle for six. He couldn’t persuade her to have more?”
“Why? Would he want more?”
“Some men might. Personally I have a thing for pregnant ladies. I think they’re so hot.”
“Do you? Why?”
“I don’t know.” He shrugged, “Maybe because they’re so perfectly full in just the right places.”
A creased formed between her brows. “I never gave that a thought.”
He nodded. “You probably wouldn’t. A lady doesn’t look at it like a man does.”
“I believe you’re right about that.”
“I remember hearing Robin Williams once describe his wife, while pregnant. I believe he said in the third month the titty fairy comes.”
Diana laughed. “And you believe that?”
“Like it’s gospel and I’m looking forward to it.”
He smiled into her humor-filled blue eyes. “What else should I know about her?”
“Well, you mustn’t think she’s perfect, because she’s not.”
“I already know that.”
“Do you? Tell me what you know.”
“I know she’s got a quick-temper. I know she’s stubborn.”
“Now that doesn’t sound appealing, does it?  One can only wonder why you’d be interested in getting to know a quick-tempered, stubborn woman.”
“Oh, that’s easy. You see she’s much more than a stubborn, pretty lady with a quick temper. She’s lovely, almost beyond belief, and has a wicked sense of humor.”
She shot him a quick frown as she raised one brow. “What do you mean almost?”
He laughed aloud. “She’s adorable and the sexiest woman I’ve ever known.  Hotter than I could have imagined once I get her in bed.”
“Or in an alley,” she reminded.
 He nodded in agreement. “Or behind a door, or in a shower and finally in a bed.
“Jesus, she almost killed me that day.”
Diana smiled. “And you don’t mind putting your life in jeopardy?”
“Some things are worth it.”
Diana chuckled as she pressed her face to his chest. “I love the way you smell. Did I tell you that before?”
“I’m sure I would have remembered if you ever mentioned it.”
 “Well I do. I like it very much.”
“What else do you like?”
“I’m not going to say you, so you might as well stop begging.”
He laughed again. “I’ll try to control myself. In the meantime, tell me more.”
“In the meantime let’s get something to eat. I’m starving.”
“You’ve come to the right place. I’m told the lady who runs this place is a great cook.”
Diana nodded in agreement and smiled. “I can put on five pounds just imagining her cheesecake. Have you ever tasted it?”
He shook his head. “This is the first time for me.”
“Prepare to be astonished.” Diana moved to the dessert table first and placed a small slice of cheesecake and a miniature pastry on her plate. Reid glanced at her and asked, “What are you doing?”
She smiled. “That’s another thing you don’t know about Diana. She always eats dessert first.”
“What do you mean, first? Before dinner?”
“Exactly?”
“Why?”
“Because, I like dessert. Especially, I like ice cream and I don’t enjoy it half as much if I’m full.”
Reid grinned. “Good thinking.”
“Are you going to let our kids eat ice cream before their meals?”
“Not every meal, only before dinner,” she corrected. “How could I eat it and let them watch?”
Her gaze narrowed as she realized what she’d just said. She watched as his slow, wicked grin grew in confidence. And she clarified with, “I’m going to let my kids eat it first. I haven’t decided yet if any of mine will be ours.”
He grinned at her response. “You’ll let me know when you decide, won’t you?”
Diana allowed an elaborate shrug and remarked with pure cockiness. “If I feel like letting you know, you’ll know.”

Out of all your books, do you have a favorite one?
I have a few that I like more than the others, but if I had to chose one, I’d say, ‘Fire’s Tender Kiss’ is probably my favorite. It won Best Seller in Readers’ Market two separate weeks in one month. It’s a deep love story between drastic opposites. I like the way the characters grow in this one, slowly they each come to know neither are truly complete without the other. Lots of conflict as the story evolves. 
Thanks for coming. Is there anything else you want to add?
Just a sincere thank you for allowing me to post on your blog. I really enjoyed it.
Here’s an excerpt from my most current release.
 
TONIGHT, a hot and sexy contemporary read, came out on Wednesday, April 4, 2012, published by Resplendence Publishing.
BUY it at:
EXCERPT:
Carlie had just finished her third glass of wine when, without warning, the background music grew silent, the lights unexpectedly dimmed and a sensual beat filled the otherwise suddenly quiet room.
The door to the hallway opened and a man and woman entered. The moment they did the man took the woman in his arms, pushed her up against the door and slipped his hand under her skirt. They kissed. The lights were dim, but a bright light was somehow focused on the couple. Carlie shook her head and realized Diana had arranged entertainment. Knowing her friend, there was no telling the heat level planned or how this clearly sensual act might end.
The couple moved away from the door and into the room. The crowd formed a circle, the entertainers at its center. Most of the men stepped behind their dates, allowing the women a better view. The man Carlie was with did the same. The beat grew louder, harder. Carlie could feel it in her chest, realized the pounding of it in her brain, in her throat and uttered a soft gasp as the man at the room’s center slipped the woman’s blouse off one shoulder as he kissed her neck. Unable to tear her gaze away, she wondered if both were going to strip.
The music was loud, the base almost an aching throb against her, vibrating through her. Carlie couldn’t think beyond the need to see more, to see much more.
The man grabbed the woman’s long hair and held her face to his, her red lips parted and his mouth took possession of hers. As one, the crowd gave a low gasp. Suddenly he pushed her away. She appeared to almost fall as he glared angrily into her upturned face. Slowly she began to open the buttons of her blouse. There wasn’t an eye in the place that wasn’t on her fingers, her blouse, the thin line of smooth, white flesh slowly growing wider as the blouse parted.  Naked beneath the blouse, she suddenly exposed her breasts.
A soft hiss of indrawn breath came from every eyewitness. Her black, silk blouse and contrasting milky white skin was lusciously sensual. Her nipples were small and soft pink in color. Carlie wondered if she’d ever seen anything half so erotic. The woman held the blouse open and moved in a slow circle so every eye in the room might see. She shimmied and her breasts wiggled freely, tauntingly, daring her man to refuse the offer. He did not.
It was a dance. They moved together, then apart. The crowd held their breath, barely blinked. The man pulled her close and took his partner’s breast deep into his mouth and the entire room moaned as if every occupant personally experienced the pleasure.
The music beat like a drum in her brain, in her blood. She felt drawn into the scene, unable to fight her need. Carlie couldn’t reach the bottom of her breath. She felt light-headed. Was it the entertainment? The man behind her? Was it his warmth, his scent, his obvious excitement pressing hard against her hip? All she knew for sure was she couldn’t take her gaze from the couple. As she watched she leaned back into his solid strength, thankful for his hands on her hips, wondering how much longer she could remain standing.
Leave a Reply

