Welcome Arlene Webb today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Arlene Webb.  Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I’ve been told people recognize my voice in my writing, I’m sure that’s true of all authors. I love to create characters with unique points of view, which gets interesting when I’m writing in the paranormal genre.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

Up to a year for a novel, three months for a novella.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

Just do it. Anywhere and anytime I can.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

Last Request is part of the one-night stand series. The authors and editors at Decadent Publishing are so talented and fun, I wanted to be a part of it.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write?

I find all scenes are difficult. Like pulling a thin thread out of a huge blanket of chaos, but once something’s down, whether it’s sex or setting, the polishing is the fun part.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

I love Google.

What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

Read, write, edit.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

Too many authors to list of all genres.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

Hard to pick favorites but a guy in a four book series, Malcolm James has been with me the longest.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?

The idea. No outline, just pulling it out of a dense skull.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

None of its easy, but I’m addicted. The hardest is opening and end lines.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Honest emotion between flawed characters who show growth by the happy ending.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

We’re all control freaks.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

Boxers. Commando for the cuties.

What is your strangest habit?

Being predictable.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

Damn. I knew I forgot to do something this morning.

What is one thing scientists should invent?

Means to control time

If you could time travel, where would you go?

Place and time I could stalk cool people who’ve died.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (Romance or other genres)

Losing myself in a story.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

Last Request. It’s part of a great series with excellent authors.

Anything else you want to mention?

Thank you, so much, for hosting me. I’m so lucky to have met such fun and interesting people in this world of writing and, Raine D, you’re on the top of the list.

 

Secrets:

Joan not only knows how to keep them, she hoards information. After all, blurting truths could prolong life and that’s not something she’s willing to allow.

As a renowned journalist, exposing lies is Wesley’s job, but being honest extends to revealing his own agenda as well. He admits on the application he’s been asked to write a story kicking up any dirt he can on Madam Evangeline’s dating service.

Desires:

Joan has a reputation to uphold. Labeled a promiscuous monster, authorities shouldn’t be surprised her offer to finally tell them where the skeletons are comes at a price. One date, one night, one final fling.

Wesley doesn’t need one date, one night, a simple fling. Women eyeball him all the time. He knows some hookup service can’t find him his heart’s desire, a sweetheart to cherish for a long and committed lifespan, but he won’t make it a slam-dunk for them by saying otherwise.

Warning Notice: If secrets stay buried and desire is feared instead of embraced, electricity will flow and not in a good way.

Teaser Excerpt:

Dear Madame Evangeline,

As you can see by my attached application, I am an ideal candidate for your matching service. Unless you believe in ghosts (ha ha), it’ll be impossible for me to breach contract by attempting to find anyone who wishes to remain a stranger after a one-night stand.

This would surely be a risk-free set up for any potential date. Please consider leaving out details of my identity, as I fear opportunistic journalists/news reporters. With that in mind, I left the preferred height, weight, shape, race, personality, and so forth options blank. Clean with an XY chromosome is more than I deserve, and all this sinner would hope for.

If you’re wondering how one such as me could have the audacity to even contact you, well, what do I have to lose? I beg pardon for my crudeness, but seeing as electrocution is currently an acceptable form of execution in this sovereign state, I’ve fantasized for months about a bang the night prior to the roast.

I have the means to persuade the warden into allowing this rendezvous to happen. Authorities may agree just to avoid agitation between the anticipated media spectacle and me. There’s been much controversy concerning a woman in the electric chair for the first time in a decade, and the warden expects I’ll remain steadfast in my refusal to appeal or prolong the inevitable. With consideration of my right to exit this world sooner rather than later, I anticipate every home within a thousand mile radius will have their power off Saturday afternoon, two weeks from today.

I’ll be moved to the D ward shortly and unable to converse further with anyone but the chaplain and warden. Please consider this my last request.

Sincerely,

Prison number 24609

Joan Bennett

http://www.decadentpublishing.com/

http://www.arlenewebb.com

http://arlenewebb.blogspot.com

https://twitter.com/#!/Arlene_Webb_

https://www.facebook.com/arleneannwebb

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3448136.Arlene_Webb

4 thoughts on “Welcome Arlene Webb today

Leave a Reply

