Welcome Sydney P. Berns today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Sydney P. Berns. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself. 

I’m what you call a professional student. I love learning new things and visiting new places. I live in Northeastern part of theUS. I currently live inNew Englandbut I go home (NY) often. I’m a foodie. Every week, my girlfriends and I patronize a new restaurant. I’m for anything ethnic and well-seasoned. Nothing exotic, please.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it? 

Ocaria is my first published story. It was released last month by Amber Glow Books. It’s a novella set partly on an underwater world and in two locations in theUS.

I’m a big fan of sci-fi and fantasy movies. One of my favorite stories is 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It was partly my inspiration for the setting of the underwater world.

If you could throw a party with any five people (living or dead) who would you pick and why?

I would invite Shakespeare, Edgar Alan Poe, and Elizabeth Gaskell. Shakespeare would be very entertaining and mysterious. I’ve always been curious about the extent of Poe’s melancholy.  I want to observe how he interacts with the other guests. Since Gaskell’s female characters have strong wills, she would probably spark some tension with the male guests. I also would invite Chris Cuomo—I like his personality, and we can talk about the law—and Arianna Huffington—I respect her climb to success.

What are at least five things you have on your bucket list and have you done any of them?

Visit a pyramid (In the Americas orEgypt).

Learn to finally swim (I’ve taken 6 classes since I was 9 years old. I still can’t swim).

Take a road trip toNevada.

Go scuba diving.

Go to the UK and Ireland.

Do you work on one project at a time? Or do you multi-task?

I like to multi-task but this year I decided to work on one project at a time.

What song would best describe your life?

All of the Lights

Do you listen to music when writing? Do you feel like some stories write themselves a soundtrack with specific music? If so, what book and what kind of music influenced it?

Sometimes I listen to music. However, I’m not far along in my writing career to have experience with stories that create soundtracks.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

I love any stories with romance, but I can’t wait to read Kresley Cole, Alexandria Ivy, and Laura Lee Guhrke’s latest books. I’m more drawn to darker paranormal, historical (set in 1800 to pre-WWI) and witty chick lit romances.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

Damn, I need a facial.

What is one thing scientists should invent?

I machine that creates the perfect hair and a cure for chronic diseases.

Anything else you want to mention?

Don’t forget to check out my book.

Ocaria by Sydney P. Berns

Amber Glow Books

Buy at http://www.amberglowbooks.com/ocaria.html

Syyren Kantrella, captain of the guards, leaves her underwater world to seek the aid of the self-exiled prince. The oracle, the woman who maintains the underwater ecosystem in Ocaria, has disappeared.

The prince is the only other person in existence who can take her place, but … there is a price. The last thing Marcus Versar Ay Seamius, a real estate mogul, wants to do is to return to Ocaria. Yet, for a chance to be with Syyren, he is willing to make a devil’s bargain, even if it means remembering why he left in the first place.

 

 

Leave a Reply

