Welcome Erika Lindsen

Hi and welcome to my blog Erika Lindsen. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

Quite a bit actually. Or more, my desires. I am a shy person and have a hard time connecting with people. In my writing, my heroines are strong and feisty, something I wish I was. On the same hand, my main characters are very tight nit when it comes to friends. I have only a few that are very close and that’s how it is in my writing.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

Since I novellas, usually about 20-25k words, maybe a month to write and a month to a  month and a half to edit. If I’m really in to a story, I can write it in a week.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

I just go with it. I’m a pantster so whatever flows is how it goes lol. I am always thinking about my writing, even staying up late at night dreaming about it, so I have a good plan as how I want it to flow.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

My latest release Soul, is a paranormal romance. It is a nice, short read for those who are limited on reading time. The premise is the main male character, Drebin, is a demon called a Taker. His job is to entice people into committing suicide so he can Take their souls and give to Lucifer for a source of food. He is sent to Take Ally’s soul next. Only once he meets her, things get a bit complicated for him…

As for what inspired it, I grew up Catholic so religion and all things in that realm have fascinated me. I have always loved the dark and edgy things in life so a mixture of the two is where I get my stories. Paranormal elements are my favorite things to write about.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? 

Soul is sex free, well the first in the series, but I actually enjoy writing love scenes. It isn’t about the sex or the act itself, more of the intimacy of it. What does she smell? How does his body feel? Is sweat running down his temple? These are things that make a great love scene.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

Since I write paranormal, I do a ton of research on myths and legends. It is fun to learn what has been made up by Hollywood and what the truths are behind the legends.

What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

I enjoy first and foremost writing. When not doing that, I love spending time with my husband. We are having a blast watching old TV shows. I used to be a hairstylist so I often find myself still learning all I can about that.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

I am a total romance junkie. If there is a love story, I’m game lol. My favorite author is Iris Johansen. Then Johanna Lindsey. Although I am fast becoming a huge Jill Myles fan.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

My fave is from my still work in progress. The heroine is Alex and the hero is Tristan. I  don’t want to give too much away and jinx it.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?

Characters. I think of a type of character or creature and work from there.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

I hate to sound like this, but the whole story is easy as long as I’m in the flow. The hard part is if I’m not feeling it.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Basic elements. Attractions, humor, love at first sight. Sure they are caught up in something, but the relationship stands out first.
What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you?

Finding motivation is the easiest and hardest. Some days are better than others.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

They got me in handcuffs with a knife to my throat to write for them lol.

What are some of your current projects?

I also write children’s stories, so I’m working on the sequel to my popular Three Sibling

Adventures book. There is the also named story above. On submission is the sequel to Soul and I’m editing the third.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

Boxers. I find the rest gross lol.

What is your strangest habit?

I pick my inner knuckles. I know, weird, right?

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I should have washed my makeup off last night.

What is your favorite pizza?

Five cheese with stuffed crust.

What is one thing scientists should invent?

A pillow that keeps itself cool no matter what.

If you could time travel, where would you go?

In the future and get the cure for cancer and bring it back.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer?

The creative. Learning what others (my characters) are thinking is an adventure.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

Obvious for adults I’d pick Soul. I really like the unique premise and how it all worked out. The evil to nice guy thing was interesting to travel through. If you have kids I recommend my Three Sibling Adventures book under my alter ego Erika Talbot. 100% of the royalties go to the Toledo Children’s Hospital oncology unit.

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

I just want them to get that good feeling you get after reading an amazing book. That sense of calm and wanting more of the characters. Not wanting it to end.

Anything else you want to mention?

I love hearing feedback from readers. If I am lucky enough to have you pick up my novellas, reviews and just general feedback is always appreciated.

I would also like to thank everyone for taking the time to learn about me and my work. And thank you Raine for having me!

Soul by Erika Lindsen

Solstice Publishing

Buy at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Soul-ebook/dp/B00729G1KU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1328560577&sr=8-1

Blood runs across the floor like a winter’s creek. It always puts a smile on his face. As a Taker – a demon sent to entice humans to commit suicide in order to gain their soul for Lucifer – Drebin is at the top of his game. He has already claimed 421 souls and there is no sign of him slowing down. Much like a fine wine, Drebin gets better with age.

Alexia Downer is just a few months into her freshman year of college and still undecided about a career. Ally is more than eager to meet new people and live up to the college stereotypes. But her gentle nature may cause her to put trust in the wrong person.

The stage is set, the hound is released, but Drebin begins to have second thoughts about his next victim, Alexia, his 422nd victim. Her beauty is mesmerizing and her spirit is captivating.

As much as he tries, Drebin cannot bring himself to destroy her, yet he must. He has a higher, more vicious power to answer to, after all…

Leave a Reply

