Welcome Janice Seagrove

 

Hello. My name is Janice Seagraves. I’m a romance writer.

 

Since I wrote my book, Windswept Shores, which features an Australian as the hero, I’ve found the song “Down under” going around and around in my head.

 

Here’s a breakdown of the song “Down Under” (also known as “Land Down Under“) is a song recorded by Australian rock group Men at Work. It was released in October 1981 as the second single from their debut album Business as Usual (1981). The song went to number one on American,British, Canadian and Australian charts. It is the only Men at Work song to make the UK top 20.It has become a popular and patriotic song in Australia.

 

Down Under

 

(The lyrics are about an Australian traveler, proud of his nationality, and about his interactions with people he meets on his travels who are interested in his home country.)

 

Travelling in a fried-out combie (“fried-out” means overheated and Kombi refers to the Volkswagen Type 2 combination van.)
On a hippie trail, head full of zombie (he’s high on a type of marijuana.)
I met a strange lady, she made me nervous
She took me in and gave me breakfast
And she said,

 
“Do you come from a land down under?
Where women glow and men plunder?
Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder?
You better run, you better take cover.”

Buying bread from a man in Brussels
He was six foot four and full of muscle
I said, “Do you speak-a my language?”
He just smiled and gave me a vegemite sandwich
(vegemite is a type of Australian sandwich spread that’s made out of brewer’s yeast extract. I mention vegemite in my book Windswept Shores when my hero Seth makes Megan a sandwich. I bought some to try. It’s very salty and bitter. I imagine it’s something you have to grow-up with to appreciate.)
And he said,

“I come from a land down under
where beer does flow and men chunder
(where men drink too much and throw up. Chunder is slang for vomit. Seth in Windswept Shores uses the slang chunder.)
Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder?
You better run, you better take cover.” (Yeahhh!)

 
Dying in a den in Bombay
With a slack jaw, and nothin’ much to say
(more reference to taking drugs.)
I said to the man, “Are you trying to tempt me
because I come from the land of plenty?”
And he said,

“Oh, you come from a land down under? (oh yeah yeah)
Where women glow and men plunder?
Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder? (ooohh)
You better run, you better take cover.”

We are…

Livin’ in a land down under,
Where women glow and men plunder, (yeahhhhhhhhhh)
Can’t you hear, can’t you hear the thunder? (thunderrrrr!)
You better run, you better take cover.
(Colin Hay told Songfacts: “The chorus is really about the selling of Australia in many ways, the over-development of the country. It was a song about the loss of spirit in that country. It’s really about the plundering of the country by greedy people. It is ultimately about celebrating the country, but not in a nationalistic way and not in a flag-waving sense. It’s really more than that.”)

(Repeat)

 

(The song is a perennial favorite on Australian radio and television, and topped the charts in the U.S. and UK simultaneously in early 1983. It was later used as a theme song by the crew of Australia II in their successful bid to win the America’s Cup in 1983.)

 

 

Windswept Shores by Janice Seagraves
Cover Contest Winner
erotic contemporary romance
novel (approx 50K)
price $4.95
Cover Art by Pink Petal Books with assistance from Winterheart Design

 

BLURB:
The sole survivor of a plane crash, Megan is alone on a deserted island in the Bahamas until she finds a nearly-drowned man washed up on shore. Another survivor, this time from a boat wreck. With only meager survival skills between them, will they survive and can they find love?

 

EXCERPT: (Megan has a hurt leg, and Seth brings her a vegemite sandwich.)

 

He gestured to the boat. “I’ll prop the boat up a bit, then I’ll do it there. She’s got all the comforts of home on-board her. Even a generator so we can have the electrical going.”

 

“She?” Megan blinked up at him. “You’re referring to the boat as a female?”

 

“All boats are sheilas,” he told her. “That one there is the Dinki-Di.”

 

“Isn’t that an Aussie term?” she asked, wrinkling up her brow.

 

“It means ‘true blue.’”

 

“Oh-okay.” Every time I think I get a handle on his slang, he throws me a new one. Her gaze went to the white boat which had just a little light-blue on the trim. “True blue, but it’s not even blue?”

 

“It’s just an expression, luv. Like I’m a dinki-di, Aussie,” he said, pointing to himself.

 

“Okay, so it means the real deal?”

 

“That it does, mate. Just rest here, I’ll get you something to eat.” He walked back to the Dinki-Di, then jumped on-board.

 

Megan wondered how he could do that without a ladder. Maybe because no one ever told him he couldn’t?

 

When Seth returned, he gave her a wrapped sandwich, a bag of barbeque chips, and another Coke. “Reminders of home,” he told her.

 

“Thank you.” She unwrapped the sandwich. I wonder what kind it is. It doesn’t smell like tuna or peanut butter. When she bit into it, the smooth texture slid across her tongue, but the salt and bitter yeast taste choked her. “God, Seth, what is that?” She barely managed to swallow it.

 

“Vegemite.”

 

“That’s not a reminder of home.” Megan shook her head, making a face. “Yuck, that is the vilest thing I have ever tasted.” She drank more Coke to get rid of the lingering bitter flavor.

 

Seth took it back from her. “Reminders of my home, not yours. I was raised on this stuff. Brings a tear to me eyes, it does. It’s also chock full of vitamin B, very healthy for growing boys and girls. You don’t mind if I—?” he asked.

 

“You give that salty stuff to children?”

 

“Ya yanks feed your ankle biters food loaded with sugar.”

 

“Er, yeah, but at least it tastes good. All yours.” She ate the chips, savoring the barbeque flavor, while Seth happily scarfed down her sandwich.

 

After brunch, Seth re-bandaged her leg. Megan hissed with pain when he touched it. “It’s a might sore?”

 

“Uh-huh.” She nodded, biting her bottom lip.

 

He tossed the bandages in the campfire, then went back to work. Watching him, Megan was surprised at his resourcefulness. A downed tree became a lever, driftwood and rocks braced it up. Slowly, he raised the boat from where it was lying on the sand.

 

~* * *~

 

Windswept Shores: http://pinkpetalbooks.com/Windswept-Shores-Janice-Seagraves.html

 

Windswept Shores for the kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Windswept-Shores-ebook/dp/B003URROMW

 

Janice Seagraves website: http://janiceseagraves.org/

 

Janice Seagraves main blog: http://ladyjanice.blogspot.com/

 

Janice Seagraves on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/janice.seagraves

 

Janice Seagraves on twitter: https://twitter.com/janiceseagraves

 

 

Janice Seagraves grew up in a small California town. Her home is a hundred year old haunted house (I’m not kidding), where she lives with her husband and daughter, two overly affectionate cats and a German Shepard puppy that can’t get the cats to play with her.

The writing bug hit her late at around twenty. Her art always drew her away from the characters in her head, but after being diagnosed with tendonitis she found doing artwork painful. But she could still type and at last she turned her full attention to writing.

Her first book, Windswept Shores, is available from Pink Petal books.

Janice’s website: http://janiceseagraves.org/

Janice’s main blog: http://ladyjanice.blogspot.com/

Janice’s book Windswept Shores: http://pinkpetalbooks.com/Windswept-Shores-Janice-Seagraves.html

 

17 thoughts on “Welcome Janice Seagrove

  1. I really liked this post! Figuring out the words back in the 80’s (I still have the cassette!) took a long time. But I never knew what they meant until now. So, 31 years later, I know what they’re talking about! LOL Thank you so much.

    1. Hi Marianne,

      I think so too about the Vegemite. It was the bitterest thing I have ever ate. My daughter on the other hand had lots of fun feeding it to her friends and watching their expressions.

      Janice~

  2. Whenever that song comes on the radio I can’t help but sing and dance along. I’ve had Vegemite too. Yuck. But my aussie professor loved it. I think you definitely have to grow up with it to enjoy it. The Aussies can keep Vegemite and those huge spiders. No thanks.

    Nice excerpt Janice.

  3. This was great Janice! Learned even more about you which is delightful. I have had a vegemite sandwich…not a huge fan but I didn’t grow up on it. Fabulous excerpt as well. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I guess everyone knows what I, as Icy Snow Blackstone, think of this story. I also remember the song, and enjoyed humming along. I knew the meaning of “Waltzing Matilda,: now I know the meanings of another Australian song. As for vegemite…my son had an experience with it at Space Camp. He informed me it was “really salty stuff, Mom.” I suppose it really IS something you have to grow up with…kind of like boiled peanuts. Good blog, Janice!

    1. Hi Toni,

      Thank you. And yeah, it has to be something you’d grow up with to enjoy. I’ve tried boiled peanuts, after a co-worker brought them to work to share. Kind of interesting really. They squeak between your teeth.

      Janice~

Leave a Reply

