Give a warm welcome to author Samantha Cayto

Hi and welcome to my blog, Samantha Cayto. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you for having me, Raine. I may be a middle-aged married woman, but I still appreciate both cabana boys and drinks! I work full-time as a business lawyer, so it’s always nice to kick back and relax.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

There’s not much of my experiences in the books. Besides being married and having a career, I have three teenage children and a typical suburban lifestyle. Nothing too interesting is going on there to write about. I do always star in my own fantasies, so it’s fair to say there’s a lot of me in every heroine.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

It depends on whether I have a strict deadline. I write very quickly which means I can finish a short story in a couple of weeks. I can write a novella in a month or two and longer pieces can take a few months. That being said, the hard part is finding the time. I try to snatch an hour or two when I get home from work. If I don’t have a deadline, I procrastinate as much as the next person.

What is your writing routine once you start a book?

I grab whatever time I can to write as much as I can. I’m a “pantser” meaning that I start with a germ of an idea and just sit down to write the story from beginning to end. I always know where I’m headed, but not how I’m going to get there.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

My latest is a short story called “My Booty Call Valentine”. It’s a short story included in The Edge series at Decadent Publishing. It is the second series I wrote with my good friends, Desiree Holt, Allie Standifer, Cerise DeLand, Nicole Austin, Regina Carlysle and Brenna Zinn. We call ourselves the Sassy Seven. When we get together, watch out! The thread for this series is chocowine. We all love it.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? 

This is going to sound weird for an erotica writer to say, but while I find writing sex scenes easy and a turn-on, sex to me it has always been second to the emotions of the characters. It can be difficult, too, to fit sex into the story soon enough and often enough. Sometimes I feel like I’m forcing it, but I also know it’s a major reason why someone has bought the story in the first place. I want the reader to always feel satisfied.

What kind of research do you do for your books?

I usually don’t need to do much, but when I do, I use the internet.
What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

I love to read. I rarely go to sleep without reading for a half hour or so. I also love power yoga. It is truly wonderful for your mind and body. I don’t go as often as I would like, though. Time is always an issue in my life like everyone else.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

Nora Roberts (JD Robb), Suzanne Brockmann, and Jessica Andersen. What these three writers have in common are smoking hot heroes, kick-ass heroines and lots of action. Romantic suspense is definitely my favorite genre to read. I also have a soft spot for historical romance, especially Regency. Madeline Hunter is always a good read. I like science fiction and fantasy, too, as long as there is some romance in the story. I’m a sucker for romance.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

I’m going to give the mom answer and say I love them all equally. Each story, each character is special to me.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting? 

The story comes first. It’s often really a small idea that grows. I add in characters, then setting. Everything evolves as I write.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest? 

Dialogue is always the easiest thing. That comes naturally to me – I’m a talker myself. The hardest part of any story is the ending. Not the last scene so much as the last sentence. I agonize over that because I feel a pressure to make it the best sentence ever.
What are the elements of a great romance for you? 

Likable characters, genuine emotion, hot sex and action. I like external and internal conflict but I don’t like it when the hero and heroine constantly snipe at each other or when she does something completely stupid just because it shows the reader she’s “plucky.”

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you? 

The easiest part is coming up with a story. People ask me how I come up with my stories and the truth is that they just pop into my head. The hardest part is finding the time and the energy to do it along with all the other things I have going on.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you? 

It’s a bit of both. I’m not as used to characters talking to me and taking charge the way some authors are. I am sometimes surprised when a character reveals something about themselves that I hadn’t thought of before. They always live inside me after the story is done, too. I could write sequel after sequel for all of my stories.

What are some of your current projects? 

I’m writing a story about the secondary character from Locked and Loaded, which was a Cougar Challenge story. This guy was suffering from PTSD and the readers reacted so positively to the plot line that I just knew I had to tell Sean’s story.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

It depends. If a guy is wearing jeans, I love the idea of commando. Otherwise I think the person who came up with boxer-briefs deserves a medal. It’s the best of both worlds.

What is your strangest habit? 

I’m always checking to see that buttons are buttoned and flies are zipped on me. I don’t know why because I’ve never had a problem in public with them. It’s a nervous habit, I guess.

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? 

It’s the same thought every morning – I can’t believe it’s time to get up. I am not a morning person! Once the caffeine kicks in, though, I’m fine.

What is your favorite pizza?

Bacon cheeseburger

What is one thing scientists should invent? 

A way to move objects with your mind. Telekinesis is the coolest thing and I’d kill for that ability.

If you could time travel, where would you go? 

The future. There’s nowhere in the past that being a woman isn’t a hindrance and I’m basically an optimistic person. I think the future is going to be wonderful.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (Romance or other genres) 

I love sharing my stories with other people. When I’m at a conference and someone wants my autograph or picture or they just tell me they enjoyed my story, it’s the most satisfying thing in the world.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why? 

Locked and Loaded because although it’s a cougar story, it’s pretty tame. There’s no ménage, no BDSM. Besides, the hero is an army captain and military men are always hot!

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories? 

I hope that when the book ends the story continues in their minds. If I can create a world for my readers that seems real to them and matters, then I’ve done what I hoped to do. One of the nicest things anyone ever said that after reading one of my stories, she thought about it the next day while going through her usual routine. I love that!

Anything else you want to mention?

I love hearing from readers and meeting them at conventions. I’m going to be at the Romantic Times convention this April inChicagoand hope to see readers there.

About My Booty Call Valentine by Samantha Cayto

The Edge Series

Decadent Publishing

A snowy Valentine’s Day means pizza for one and another lonely night for the now-divorced Aaron. Or so he thinks. Then a knock on his door introduces him to the decadent delights of choc-wine and sexy new Senate staffer, Susan. She’s offering him one night, but if he’s a very good boy, it might turn into more.

Excerpt:

His visitor’s eyebrows rose above her lovely green eyes in an obvious question. After a second or two of continued silence, she said, “Okay, here’s the story. We’ve been eyeing each other around the halls of the Senate for several weeks now. This is my first Valentine’s Day without the man I dated and lived with for over five years. He was supposed to be ‘the one.’ But when I received the career-altering offer to become the junior senator from Massachusetts’ chief of staff, he refused to move down here with me or maintain a long-distance relationship. He said those things never work out when in reality he was looking for an excuse to bang his dentist. I should have known his smile was getting way too bright.”

She paused and swiped at a trickle of water running down her cheek. Aaron’s gaze followed the movement, and his tongue twitched. He pictured lapping up the moisture and reversing course to trace the edge of her face. He imagined capturing the pretty pink lips that were going a mile a minute and holding them in a bruising kiss. He wasn’t sure where all this talk of an ex was leading but his cock sure wanted to follow.

“Anyway, I’ve checked up on you and am convinced that you’re not gay and probably don’t have a freezer full of severed heads. Word is you got divorced a year ago and aren’t known to date. I figure with this weather you’re in for the night. The way you people down here tend to panic when there’s only a dusting of snow, it was a safe enough bet. Why don’t I join you?” She held up the bag. “I stopped at my new favorite wine store, Valentino’s, and bought a bottle of choco-wine. Ever had any?”

Samantha Cayto is a Boston-area native who practices as a business lawyer by day while writing erotic romance at night—the steamier the better. She likes to push the envelope when it comes to writing about passion and is delighted other women agree that guy-on-guy sex is the hottest ever.

She lives a typical suburban life with her husband, three kids and four dogs. Her children don’t understand why they can’t read what she writes, but her husband is always willing to lend her a hand—and anything else—when she needs to choreograph a scene.

http://www.samanthacayto.com/

2 thoughts on “Give a warm welcome to author Samantha Cayto

  1. Sam, what a fabulous interview. I knew you were an interesting person, but I had no idea just how amazing you are. Thank you for your stories. You know how to bring out your characters to the point they nearly leap from the page.

  2. I absolutely loved your interview with Raine Delight. I especially want to read your book My Booty Call Valentine. It sounds great! Can’t wait to read it. My debut Historical Romance through The Wild Rose Press released 1/27 in e book and print. The best luck to you in your writing career. I was born in Pawtucket, RI and love Boston, though I now live in the Finger Lakes region of NY. I’m hoping to visit Salem and get some good research. There’s got to be a good romance story to be found there. Bev Lewis aka beverlywells

Leave a Reply

