Welcome Kellie J. Kamryn

 

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, <Kellie Kamryn>. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? *takes chocolate martini from Zeke, finger waves at Jake* My short stories are purely imagination with the odd quirk I found intriguing from someone’s personality. The first series of novels I wrote involve the coaches in the sport of artistic gymnastics which I taught for 25 years, so I know what I’m talking about in those! I made up believable scenarios based on “what if” questions I posed to myself.

 

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book? If I have the time, I can write a 60-75,000 word novel in a month. Now that I’m promoting my work, I have less time to write, but I have to fit it in.

 

What is your writing routine once you start a book? I like to write as much as I can in a day, and usually stop when the words stop flowing. Or the kids need to eat or something…

 

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it? Rebound is book 1 in the Love and Balance series. It’s available from Secret Cravings Publishing, as well as on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, All Romance ebooks, and Bookstrand.

 

An award-winning choreographer must face the only man she’s ever loved then lost when they are teamed up to work together at a gymnastics camp for Olympic hopefuls.

 

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? Because I’m a hopeless romantic, I’m all about “getting to the good parts”. I love leading up to the love scene, having teaser scenes where you think characters will “get it on” but don’t, creating the tension. I don’t normally have trouble creating love scenes because it’s my favorite part to read or write in a book!

 

 

 

What kind of research do you do for your books? Right now, I rely on my knowledge of gymnastics to complete the series. For some of my other work, I talk to friends who work in a particular job for a character I’m trying to portray. I like finding out directly how something is done to make things more believable.

 
What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do? I read. I go out with my friends. Spend time with my kids. Our favorite TV show to watch together is Once Upon A Time. May seem boring but I love my life and wouldn’t trade it for the world!

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read? I write poetry as well, so I read that, and I read spiritual books by Shelby Spong & Louise L. Hay. I have a lot of friends now who are authors, so I enjoy reading everything from sweet romance to paranormal and erotic.

 

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?  Every book I write, I love my hero and heroine, LOL They all have their own stories that begged to be told so I love them all for what they brought to me at the time.

 

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?
Depends. Sometimes it’s a situation. Sometimes it’s a character and I say, “Hmmm…what if this happened to him/her?” I begin writing and the characters take me on an incredible journey.

 

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

 

For me, the beginning is always the most difficult. Not because I don’t have the idea, but to set it all up right so it flows smoothly is the challenge.

 


What are the elements of a great romance for you?
Believable characters, and the ability to transport me to another world so I’m not in my own.

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you?  The most difficult part of writing isn’t writing at all, but promotion. I had no idea how much time it would take when I got my first acceptance. I never know how much is too much or too little. I like interacting with people and have to keep myself on task and not talk on twitter or facebook too much. But then I worry I’m not there enough, and then there’s all the loops and groups… OY! I remember the days when all I did was write and wish I had that time again, but then I realize I’m doing what I’ve always wanted to do so I suck it up and push on ahead! People are reading my stories, publishers want to publish my novels and that’s why I’m doing it.

 

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you? I think they are in control. I plot a little, but mostly I let the characters take me on their adventure. So many times, I have this idea but as I write they take me to places I hadn’t thought of, so I’ve learned it’s better to let them. I can always edit later, LOL

 

What are some of your current projects? I have a love and erotic poetry collection due out soon. It’ll be released in paperback, ebook and audio book. I’ll be recording the audio so I’m excited about that. Book 2 in the series will be released this year as well, then I’ve got to submit book 3, and I’ve started an erotic romantic suspense that I’m totally in love with. I have a lot on the go but wouldn’t want it any other way!

 

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why? Commando is kind of sexy, but I love boxerbriefs. I just think that is one hell of a sexy look on a man!

 

What is your strangest habit? I drink a lot of tea. That’s so boring, it’s strange I even mentioned it.

 

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? My skin looks good today.

 

What is your favorite pizza? Bacon & mushroom.

 

What is one thing scientists should invent? More hours in the day!

 

If you could time travel, where would you go? Medieval Victorian times, but I’d want to be a Princess or something and have a Prince with a long sword. What? So he can defend me! What’re you thinking?

 

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (Romance or other genres) When I get an email from a reader that said my book was a good distraction from whatever horrible thing they were going through at the time.

 

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why? That depends on what you like to read. I write great poetry of all kinds, and that you can read a little at a time. If you like raunchy and fun, Monkeys, Sex and Other Birthday Surprises. If you like spicy contemporary, then Rebound.

 

 

 

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories? I hope that for a brief moment, I transported them to another world. Maybe I made them laugh or cry, or just plain forget their own life for a moment.

 

Anything else you want to mention? I always love to hear from readers and authors alike! Visit me on my website www.kelliekamryn.com, or on my blog www.kelliekamryn.blogspot.com or www.facebook.com/KellieKamryn, or twitter @KellieKamryn

Rebound by Kellie J. Kamryn

Secret Cravings Publishing

Claire LeMay is at the top of her game – she’s head of a prominent gymnastics facility with her gymnasts winning awards for her outstanding choreography. Now her biggest challenge is to coach alongside the man she’s avoided for three years after he demanded she live in his shadow instead of forging her own path.

After sinking every penny of his inheritance into his state-of-the-art gymnastics facility, Justin Black has achieved his dream. But even with hundreds of members and well-trained coaches, when Claire’s presence invades his space, he reluctantly admits she’s the one thing missing in his life. Oblivious as to why she walked out on him three years ago, he attempts to call a truce.

As their old passion tumbles out faster than a gymnast sprinting down the vault runway, they realize they are in the same impossible position as they were three years ago. Are they destined to repeat the same old routine or will they be able to choreograph a new one?

Excerpt:

He scooped her into his arms and carried her down to his office, depositing her in a chair. A spare jacket hung on a hook on the wall, and he used it to cover her up. Grabbing the box of tissues from his desk, he wiped her mouth and face with one, then set the garbage can down next to her in case she had to be sick again.

Her teeth chattered uncontrollably, and the grayish pallor of her skin worried him. He didn’t want to leave her alone, but he had to clean up the mess upstairs so the room wouldn’t stink to high heaven in the morning. “Baby, I’ve got to clean up the room. Will you be okay for a minute?”

“Yeah,” she croaked. “I think so.” When he didn’t move, she waved her hand to shoo him away. “Go. I’ll be okay.” She clenched her teeth together to control the chatter.

He kissed her forehead. “I’ll be back as quick as I can.”

She nodded and hugged her arms to her sides.

Justin hurried to get the mop and pail from the storage closet. It seemed like an eternity for the pail to fill with water, but once done, he added floor cleaner and ran upstairs as quickly as he could.

The stench in the room was indescribable. He switched on the overhead fans and quickly mopped up the mess. Then he hastened to get rid of the dirty water.

Once everything was back in its place, he made his way back to Claire, only to find her retching into the garbage can.

“Oh, shit.” He knelt by her side again, rubbing her back. Dark shadows hung under her eyes, and her body shivered. He hated to see her like this, but whatever it was making her sick was better out than in.

When she finished vomiting for the second time, he wiped her mouth with a tissue and scooped her into his arms. “I’m taking you to the hospital.”

“Okay.” He could barely hear her weak voice.

Justin carried her out to the car and settled her in the passenger side seat. Then he dashed back to lock up the gym.

They’d barely left the parking lot when she pleaded with him to stop the car. “I’m going to be sick again.” He pulled over, and Claire pushed open her door and puked on the side of the road.

When she’d finished, she sat back and groaned. “I feel like I’m dying.”

“Not today, honey. Just hold on—we’ll be there in fifteen minutes.”

He made it to the hospital in less than ten.

While they waited in the emergency room, Claire remained curled up at his side, shivering, little moans of anguish escaping her lips from time to time. He combed his fingers through her hair in an attempt to soothe her. The only break he took was to step outside and call Shelley to let her know what had happened.

The doctor diagnosed her with a case of food poisoning and wanted to keep her for observation to see if she could hold down any liquid. After an hour, she managed to keep water in her stomach, so the doctor sent her home after extracting a promise from Justin to look out for her and bring her back if she got any worse.

By the time he arrived back at the townhouse, his watch read nearly three in the morning. Justin prayed Garrett and Shelley were done for the night, or that they were somewhere else altogether. He found a key in Claire’s purse before lifting her sleeping form from the seat. She moaned a little when he carried her into the quiet house, but never woke fully.

Her dress smelled faintly of vomit, so he peeled it off of her, stifling a groan at the sight of her in a sexy red thong. With his dick throbbing in appreciation, he re-dressed her in a pink silk robe he found in her suitcase.

He tucked her into bed and lay down beside her, tracing her face with his fingertips. She sighed and curled into his chest. The shadows under her eyes looked like bruises against her pallid complexion. She looked like a ghost of her former lively self. This wasn’t the same woman who had given him a mind-blowing blow job a few short hours ago.

Holding her, taking care of her—it felt so good. So, right. She belongs with me. He hated to see her so sick, but he loved that he was the one to care of her. Tucking the sheet up around her a little more, he sighed. It didn’t escape him that he had indeed ended up in bed with her tonight—though this was a far cry from his fantasies.

 

 

One thought on “Welcome Kellie J. Kamryn

Leave a Reply

