Welcome Addison James

Hi and welcome to my blog, <Addison James>. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Addison James and I write sweet romance and women’s fiction. I have a couple contemporary sweet romance comedies published recently: THE BEST BAD DATE published December 2011 with MuseItUp publishing and POP-TARTS AND TEXTING to be published February 2012 with Books To Go Now publishing.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? Actually, it’s a combination of real life and imagination. I might take something I heard about, then say “what if” and expand from there.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book? I wrote this short story in a few weeks. I’m writing a novel now that I wrote from February to July last year, and am still revising.

What is your writing routine once you start a book? First, I get an idea that won’t go away. I just have this urge to write, so I do. I have kids, so I write early in the morning before the rest of the family is awake: about 445am and write until6amwhen the kids wake up.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it? I’m always attracted to how people first meet and what that first spark is like, then thought,  what if everything went wrong yet still went right? That contradiction of good and bad, wrong and right, best and worst, intrigued me. So I wrote about it. I think a person’s actions say more than words, and I had this couple reacting to this bad date and showing their true characters.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write?  I try to avoid writing explicit love scenes. I keep thinking my kids may find my writing one day and I want to avoid that situation!

What kind of research do you do for your books? Research? Very little. They’re not historical but contemporary. I might look up things about the settings of my stories like is there a beach front near the downtown or is there a first run movie theater in walking distance?
What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do? I like to read, write, travel, watch movies, go for long walks, socialize with friends.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read? I like a variety of classic and modern, from mysteries to women’s fiction. I grew up reading Mary Stewart romantic suspense; she has always been my benchmark. I also read lots of mysteries like PD James and Dorothy L. Sayers. Jane Austen is always a favorite. I read some YA and was just blown away by The Hunger Games.

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine? In my own books, that’s hard to say. It’s like naming your favorite child! I’m writing a book club women’s fiction now, and one of the characters is a self-described bitch. It’s fun writing someone who’s tough on the outside but soft on the inside. I usually write sweet, funny, smart heroines. This one likes to offend people, and it’s a nice change.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting? The story or the characters, The settings follow.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest? I find the first draft easiest and revising hardest.
What are the elements of a great romance for you? The characters, the emotions, the setting, the story, the obstacles, the feelings they have for each other.

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you? Hardest is revising, easiest writing first draft.

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you? I control them, but sometimes when I’m writing, I’m just taken in an unexpected direction, but it feels right. It doesn’t change the story dramatically, but things just make more sense for that character.

What are some of your current projects? I’m publishing a short story this week called POP-TARTS AND TEXTING with Books to Go Now, and I had another romantic comedy short story, THE BEST BAD DATE was published in December by Muse It Up publishing. I’m revising my novel, SECOND CHANCES, a women’s fiction about a woman who realizes she loves her long time best friend and has a second chance at love. I accidentally wrote a YA prequel to it about how she met her friend at school that ended up novel length, so now I need to learn about the YA market! And a male writer friend suggested we co-write a thriller which is intriguing. I’ve never written one before but I think it’d be fun to write something more plot heavy than I usually write.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why? Honestly, it doesn’t matter. If he’s attractive, he treats me right, he’s a grown man and not an insecure mess, I really don’t notice.

What is your strangest habit? Oh. No idea. Maybe my love of peanut butter my habit of eating it out of the jar. No one else in the family eats it, so I double dip!

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? Today I wondered if I had combed my hair. I hadn’t.

What is your favorite pizza? Pepperoni and mushroom. That’s classic. I like veggie ones too, then I feel less guilt; anything with prosciutto is heaven.

What is one thing scientists should invent? A lotion that would make cellulite disappear! That and a cure for cancer, and I’d be happy.

If you could time travel, where would you go? Time travel? Interesting. As a woman, I really like the modern era, because we have more rights than any other time in history. Maybe the future to see how my kids are doing. And, I would know what to invest in, then go back to present day and rework my portfolio!

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? Writing is a fabulous creative outlet for me. I don’t have many creative outlets, but this is a big one. I’m the sort of person who doesn’t think fast on her feet; I think of the perfect response hours later. My heroines don’t have that problem!

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why? First time readers would be fortunate that only my short stories are published. You can start with any and all!

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories? Take some empathy for others, regardless if similar background, region, beliefs.

Anything else you want to mention? No, just read, review and enjoy!

The Best Bad Date by Addison James

Buy HERE

Buy at Amazon HERE 

When is a bad date good? Susan Wells finds out when a bachelor auction leads to a date with handsome  Doctor Roger Lane, and a night to remember. What could go wrong? Everything. Will love find a way through this comedy of errors? Absolutely.

Excerpt:

 “It’s for a good cause.”

Dr. Roger Lane repeated this mantra over and over again as he was dragged onstage in front of several hundred screaming women.

It wasn’t supposed to happen like this. Roger knew today was the day of the bachelor auction fundraiser for Saint Albans Hospital. Marge, the head of the Ladies’ Auxiliary, even sought him out specifically to participate–“Our own Doctor McDreamy” she was quoted saying).

Roger purposely arranged to be out of the hospital today, but there was an emergency surgery that required his attention. After the surgery Nurse Williams decided to show him a super secret shortcut back to the physician’s parking lot, which somehow managed to reroute him so that he ended up in the auditorium on the stage where hundreds of women were yelling, “Take it off! Take it off!”

 About Addison James:

Addison James spent her childhood with her nose in a book, ignoring the natural beauty of her native Vermont. She went to the right schools, got the right jobs, and spent her early adult years being responsible and stable. Then, her long repressed urge to write emerged and she has been feeding it ever since.

Website:

http://addisonjwriter.com/

Twitter: @addisonj_writer

Author page on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Addison-James/e/B005EOQGWS

Author page on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4959100.Addison_James 

Google +: Addison James

 

Leave a Reply

