Getting to know Amber Skyze

Hi and welcome to my blog, Amber Skyze. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a mom, who is forced to work a day job to support my children. I have three large dogs and a wonderful boy toy! lol

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

Some, but not a lot. I don’t like to share too much, never sure whose reading. 😉

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book?

It depends on what’s going on with my life. Usually I can write a 25k book in a month, but as a new mom it’s a bit less now.

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it?

I Wanna Sext U Up was inspired by the Home Makeover shows on HGTV. The hubby watches them all the time and one day I decided I wanted to use the idea of a room makeover for a story.

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write?

Lately yes. You can only write so many love scenes before you start to run out of different ways to do it!

What kind of research do you do for your books?

The internet and I have a bunch of BDSM books.
What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do?

I love reading, spending time at the ocean or a pool.

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read?

I read all different genres. I read a lot of non-fiction too. I have too many go-to authors to possibly list here. :o)

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine?

I have two. Nathan Donovan in Splashing Good Time and Lucky from my Cougar book Gettin’ Lucky.

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting?
It varies between setting and the characters.

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest?

I find writing dialogue easiest. Sex is the hardest…

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you?

They’re in control. Sometimes they’ll take me someplace and I’ll be like, “Holy Crap…I didn’t see that coming!”

What are some of your current projects?

I just finished the first draft of a dragon shifter. I’m also working on a romantic comedy with no erotic scenes.

Boxers, briefs, boxerbriefs…. Or commando on a man? Why?

I love Boxerbriefs…

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

Shit I’m too old to have a new baby.

What is your favorite pizza?

Cheese. I’ll eat pepperoni, but I prefer good ole cheese.

If you could time travel, where would you go?

The Tudor era. I’m fascinated with Henry VIII

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? (Romance or other genres)

Creating fantasy worlds.

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?

Adrift from Loose Id or Gettin’ Lucky from EC. They’re the most popular! :o)

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories?

Satisfaction that they just read a good book!

Anything else you want to mention?

I love to hear what readers think of my work. They can always email me at amberskyze AT aol DOT com

I Wanna Sext U Up by Amber Skyze

Loose Id Publishing

Buy Link: http://www.loose-id.com/I-Wanna-Sext-U-Up.aspx

Tool belt…check. Rope…check. Lube…check. Violet Wand…Check.

Beckett Manning, the host of Room Makeovers is ready to give Riley Anderson more than a remodeled kitchen. He’s about to bring her to the edge of ecstasy and back. Whether it’s hot sex in the bathtub or Riley hog-tied to the bed, he’s determined to show this brazen beauty how sexually desired she is.

A simple text leads to a case of mistaken communication and before long Riley finds herself tied to her bed and being driven to distraction. Beckett knows how to tease and torture every inch of her skin. He also knows his way around an orgasm, which keeps Riley wanting more.

Excerpt:

It’s over, Riley. U r just no good in bed. Boring in fact. I moved my things out earlier.

Riley Anderson read the text for the hundredth time. She’d kept it to remind her of the asshole she’d spent too many years with. The words served as a reminder of all her anger and resentment for the jerk who hadn’t had the decency to break up with her face-to-face. No, he had to do it over text.

“Aaargh!” Riley raised the sledgehammer again. She brought the hammer down on the kitchen cabinet with every ounce of strength her arms possessed. “This is for you, dirt bag.” She sent the iron head crashing into another wooden door. “Not good in bed? Why because I didn’t get off on choking you until you almost passed out?”

Aside from the last year of their relationship when Terry wanted to explore other fetishes, Riley believed they had a great thing going. She thought for sure he would be the man she’d marry. When she bought the house it was with the intention that someday Terry would be her husband and they’d fill the spare bedrooms with children. How wrong she’d been.

The hammer smashed into the wood door of the overhead cabinet.

“Because passing out wasn’t fun? Fuck you, Terry.”

She repeatedly pounded away at the cabinets until she’d destroyed them all. “That’ll fix your ass, Terry.”

She stood back and assessed the damage. She’d managed to tear apart the kitchen in less than an hour. Her arms were sore from the weight of the tiny wrecking ball, but that didn’t matter. She’d accomplished something her ex only promised her for the last year of their relationship. She’d started the renovation of the kitchen.

Now that Terry had been gone for nine months, she’d do it on her own. She didn’t need him to remodel. Riley was a smart woman. She’d be her own fix-it handywoman.

“Guess I’d better go to the hardware store and get a move on this.” She leaned the wooden handle of the hammer against the cracked wood of the cabinet and wiped her hands together.

Satisfaction filled her soul.

Riley retrieved her purse and keys from the Formica counter top and headed out the door — one destination in mind. The local chain home repair store.

The ride to the hardware store was a blur. Her only thought…what steps she’d need to take to get the work done. She’d have to put in new cabinets. She wanted new appliances. Stainless steel. Granite countertops were a must. Those Formica ones just wouldn’t cut it any longer.

She pulled into a parking spot and turned off the car.

“Time to buy a new kitchen.”

Confidence radiated off her as she stepped into the large store. She felt proud. She had a project to do while she was on vacation. It’d likely take her longer than the week, but it would be a start.

“Excuse me.”

5 thoughts on “Getting to know Amber Skyze

  1. Hi Amber!! I’m looking forward to your dragon shifter and the romantic comedy. I’ve also noticed that after writing too many sexy scenes, I can turn a bit desensitized to the whole process. A nice break from it always seems to hit the spot.

    Great interview!

Leave a Reply

