Welcome A.M Burns Today

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, A.M. Burns. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

I’m a fairly simple guy, living up in the Colorado Rockies, we spend a good amount of time shoveling snow, which makes for a great environment for writing, particularly on days when you don’t feel like shoveling snow. I love writing and have been doing it since high school. There’s always been something about telling a good story that I enjoyed and the fact that people enjoy my stories makes it even better.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

 

I write mostly urban fantasy and paranormal romance. My main publisher is Mystichawker Press, although I have short stories published by a lot of other houses. A few of the shorts have actually been horror, but I’m not sure I could complete an entire novel of horror.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

 

My latest novel release is “Blood Moon, Yellow Sky” a book I finished several years ago and spent a lot of time trying to get published until I went out and revamped the book. It’s the tale of Tal O’Duirwood, a dragon, who while on assignment to kill an old lover falls in love with Alex Carlson, a mage. The two of them work together to with some of Alex’s friends to defeat a nasty pack of werewolves, an evil sorceress and a slew of vampires. The book is getting some good reviews, and I’m working on the sequel.

 

Q: If you had a reporter follow you around for the day, what would the readers get to see in your daily schedule?

I tend to be a night owl, so day time starts about 10am, got to take care of the critters and get the day going. Most of my day is spent in front of my computer either writing, editing or marketing. If the reporter was lucky it would be one of my short work days and we could either take a hike in the mountains, or go to writers group where they could meet some of the very interesting people who have helped forge my writing into what it is today. Evenings and nights are more computer work, and maybe an hour or so of TV or DVD.

Q: When you begin your stories, do you go with the flow, or go with an outline?

It depends on what I’m working on. My Yellow Sky novels, I tend to go with the flow, they tend to surprise me when I do that. One of my other series, The Adventures of Alchemy Pond, I write from an outline.

Q: What thrill do you find when you compose?

I love finding where the characters take me, getting into their heads and emotions is always great.

Q: Is it hard coming up with titles or characters names?

Titles can be a bit tricky, and character names are fairly easy if I have my book of writer’s names.

Q: What does your workstation look like?

Controlled chaos.

Q: Are you the type of individual who gets weepy at the end of a good movie, or a sad movie, or do you just stay neutral through it all?

I take the fifth on that.

Q: Is there any books coming that you are itching to read (either electronic or print) from your favorite authors?

I really want to read Ann Rice’s new werewolf book.

Q: If you were to replenish your cabinets with one junk food, what would it be?

Cheesy Poofs

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

The sequel to my first book, “Perfect Love”, “Perfect Trouble” should be out mid to late February, then about that same time, or a little later should be the sequel to “Blood Moon, Yellow Sky” still working on a title on that one, and my editor can’t think of anything good either.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I try to push the envelope to places where folks might never have gone before, but still keep things tasteful and fun.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.amburns.com

http://www.mystichawker.com/amburns.html

 

Blood Moon, Yellow Sky

Book 1 in the Yellow Sky Coven Series

Buy at Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006O09KG0#reader_B006O09KG0

 

Tal O’Duirwood, dragon, enjoys his quiet life of solitude in the Colorado mountains. He never realized what was missing until his gets an assignment to travel to Yellow Sky, Texas and help a witch and her students there stop a vampire invasion. Once there, he finds that things were not as he was told. The witch is actually a werecoyote, and one of her students has eyes for Tal. Can Tal help stop the vampires in time to save his blossoming love? Will his heart, so long closed off from the world be able to open to the touch of the handsome young mage?

 

Sneak Peek Excerpt:

 

 

My heart melted. Never in all my years had someone touched me the way this young mage did. I had to get this out now. “Alex, I’m half dragon.” My heart beat wildly as he stood there staring at me. That second seemed to go on forever.

“A what?” His tone didn’t change. He didn’t pull away.

“A half dragon,” I repeated. “My mother was a dragon and my father was a druid back in ancient England.”

He tilted his head slightly as if he were trying to wrap his mind around the idea. “How did that work? Were you hatched?”

I chuckled. The few people who knew my secret had all asked that question. “No, my mother was of the higher race of dragons that could shape shift. She was a woman when I was conceived and when I was born. For centuries the ancient emperors of China all had dragon blood.”

He let go of me and took a couple of steps away. “Are there a lot of you?”

“Unfortunately, I am the last of the dragons,” I shook my head, “at least to my knowledge. Humans hunted us down. Every so often there are rumors that one of my kind has been seen somewhere in the world, but it’s never been more than rumors.”

Alex stared out over the small valley. “How many people know?”

“Not many. I’m the biggest secret on the planet. More people know where Jimmy Hoffa is buried than what I am.”

Green eyes looked at me puzzled. “Who?”

I raised a hand. “It doesn’t matter.”

“So can you change into a dragon?”

“Yes.” I nodded. “Would you like to see?”

His face lit up. “Sure would!”

He wasn’t scared. Yet. I hoped he would still be interested in me after this. I hadn’t been so scared before a change since my first time, back when I turned twenty one. “Okay, stand back a bit.” The image of my dragon shape formed in my mind. The energy of the change surged outward. Seconds later it was done.

I towered over Alex. He looked up at me with more wonder on his face than he’d had when we first looked down into the valley. He reached out a large strong hand and touched my neck. Electricity passed between us as his skin connected with mine.

“Can you breathe fire?” he asked, continuing to caress my neck.

“No. I’m always looking for that secret,” I replied telepathically since it was impossible for me to speak in a way that humans would understand while in my dragon form. “There’s a scroll I just found, back at the library, that I haven’t had time to study yet. I’m hoping it might hold some answers.”

“Wow. But you can fly?”

I flexed my huge black wings. “Of course. Would you like to go on a flight across the valley? We have to stay low.”

“You bet.” He looked around.

One thought on “Welcome A.M Burns Today

Leave a Reply

