Welcome DC Juris today

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, DC Juris. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Hi there! ::waves:: I’m DC Juris, and I write GLBTQ and heterosexual romance. ::winks at Zeke and Jake:: Well hellooooo nurse!

 

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? Not much. My characters and I may have some things in common, but it’s not a conscious effort on my part.

Generally, how long does it take you to write a book? It depends. I like to stay around 1 month for 10 K. Shorter stuff I can do in a couple days, if need be. I wrote “Perfect Christmas” in about three days.

What is your writing routine once you start a book? I don’t have a routine. I just write things down as they come to me and piece them together later.

 

Tell us about your latest release or upcoming release. What inspired it? “Betrayed” started out as a m/f. It’s actually the first serious story I ever wrote.

 

What are your thoughts on love scenes in romance novels, do you find them difficult to write? I don’t find them difficult to write at all. I love sex – having it, reading about it, writing it, watching it. Sex, sex, sex!

 

What kind of research do you do for your books? I write in contemporary and fantasy genres so I don’t have a lot of research to do. Thank god!

 

What are some of your favorite things or hobbies to do? I don’t really have any hobbies. I’m a writer and a photographer. That’s pretty much it. I do enjoy home improvement, but that’s more of a necessity than a hobby.

 

Who are some of your other favorite authors and genres to read? I don’t discuss my favorite m/m authors. But my favorite mainstreamers are HG Wells and Richard Knaak.

 

Among your own books, have you a favorite?  A favorite hero or heroine? I don’t really have a favorite of either. I like all my stuff and all my characters!

 

Which comes first, the story, the characters or the setting? It typically all comes at once.

 

What part of a book has been the easiest to write?  The hardest? I don’t find anything about writing to be particularly hard. I just sit down and write.

 

What are the elements of a great romance for you? Good characters. You can have the tightest writing and the best plot, but if I don’t give a crap about your characters, then I don’t give a crap about your story.

 

What is the hardest part of writing/the easiest for you? Again, none of it is hard for me.

 

Are you in control of your characters or do they control you? My characters dictate their own stories. Sometimes they do things I don’t approve of, or that surprise me, but that’s just the way it is.

 

What are some of your current projects? I have 24 WIPs right now. Some new characters and some familiar faces.

 

What is your strangest habit? I don’t really have any strange habits. Seriously – I just asked Hubby and he agreed!

 

When you looked in the mirror this morning, what was the first thing you thought? “Hey, I think there’s cupcakes left!”

 

What is your favorite pizza? Sadly, I can’t eat anything but Gluten Free pizza anymore, and it isn’t really all that good. However, before that, my favorite was from Fox’s Pizza out in Erin, NY. It was topped with diced tomatoes, diced green peppers, bacon, ham, pepperoni, pineapple, and extra cheese.

 

What is one thing scientists should invent? Better gluten free bread. Does that count as science? I’m probably supposed to say something like, cleaner energy, or something meaningful, but right now all I really want is better gluten free bread. It’s all your fault – asking me about pizza! ::mumbles::

 

 

If you could time travel, where would you go? I wouldn’t. Have I mentioned I hate travel?

 

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? I like the entire process. Deadlines, plot holes, editing – it’s all beautiful.

 

If I was a first time reader of your books, which one would you recommend I start with and why?  I’m never sure how to answer this question, because it all depends on what the reader likes. I suppose the best answer is my anthology “Simply Smut.”

 

What do you hope readers take with them after reading one of your stories? That love is the most important thing – not what a person looks like, their gender, their orientation, etc. If we had more love in the world, we’d have a better world.

 

Anything else you want to mention? Just a thank you to my readers and to you for having me!!

Sneak peek into Betrayed by DC Juris

Breathless Press

BLURB:

Two years after he lost his soul mate to the war, Faldor still pines for Meldrick. His world is turned upside down when Meldrick appears on his doorstep late one night, seemingly back from the dead. Finally escaped from a prison camp, Meldrick protects a dark secret—one that could rip their rekindled love apart if Faldor ever learned the truth. But the longer they’re together, the more questions come up. What really happened two years ago? How did Meldrick escape the prison camp after so long? Is Meldrick still the man Faldor fell in love with? Can Meldrick reconcile who he is with who he was and move beyond his treachery, or will betrayal win?

Genre: Fantasy m/m, BDSM, contains non-con

Buy Link: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-betrayed-669002-144.html

Excerpt:

The scent of food wafting on the wind roused him. Not the screams and pleadings for mercy from the men to his right and left, not the shouts and crude insults from the guards, not the plat-plat of the rain, not the tink-clink of the tiny bits of hail. Those were all commonplace. But the smell of cooking food, so close to his cage? Now, that was new. That was downright abnormal.

Meldrick opened his eyes slowly, blinked away the bleariness, and tried to focus. Though he’d just as well have stayed asleep; he’d been dreaming of home. Of Faldor. Not a total loss, he mused to himself, eyeing the approaching guard, who carried a platter of some sort of meat. The guard stopped at his door and kicked out, splashing him with filthy water, mud, and who knew what else. Meldrick raised a hand to fend off the muck, but the effort was useless. He wiped it away from his face as best he could and looked up at the guard.

The guard sneered at him and slung the food between the cage bars. It landed at Meldrick’s feet with a wet plop. Though his mind told him the meat was likely rotten, his guts twisted and gurgled in noisy anticipation. He wasn’t about to pass up the first meal he’d had all week, regardless of the state of it.

“Eat up,” the guard instructed. “General wants you full of energy for tonight.”

Meldrick closed his eyes and turned away from the guard, pressed his forehead against the bars of the cage. Now the food made sense. Part of him wanted to refuse to eat, scuff dirt over the rancid mess, and spit on it. Spit on the guard. But that wasn’t going to happen. He would eat the food, relish it, savor it, make it last as long as he could, lick it from his fingers, and wish for more. Because there wasn’t anything else to do.

Leave a Reply

