Welcome Carol Preflatish Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Carol Preflatish. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I currently write romantic suspense, but am also working on a contemporary mystery series that I’m hoping to get published. My first book, Love, Lies & Deceit was published with Red Rose Publishing and my next book will be with Secret Cravings Publishing.

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it? 

My January release is called Saved by the Sheriff. It’s about a New York City magazine writer who comes to rural southern Indiana to research a story about a thirty-year old unsolved mystery. When she finds herself becoming the next target, the sheriff has to come to her rescue. She’s a hard woman to hold down, but the sheriff does his best to keep her safe.

The basis for the storyline is actually from a real unsolved mystery that happened about fifty years ago. I’ve always been intrigued by it.

Q: If you had a reporter follow you around for the day, what would the readers get to see in your daily schedule?

I have a full time day job working as a consultant for State Government. You’d see me at my office sitting at a computer all day auditing public assistance cases. Pretty boring stuff, eh? During my lunch hour I work on my books and then again for about an hour or so at night after dinner.

 

Q: When you begin your stories, do you go with the flow, or go with an outline?

I do a little of both. I will sit at the computer and just start writing, but I always have an idea of where the story is going to go. For instance, I’m working on chapter six of a book right now. I already know what will happen in the rest of this chapter, the next chapter, and how the book will end. But, there are several chapters in between that will need to be worked out. During the writing process, I’ll make notes for future chapters. I love Post-it Notes and the binder I use for my story is very colorful with them inside.

Q: What thrill do you find when you compose?

I’m always amazed when I read something I’ve written. I picked up an old manuscript that I haven’t yet finished the other day and looked over it. I kept saying to myself, “I wrote this because it’s really good.” But, the best thrill is when you get that acceptance from a publisher. There are not many better feelings than that.

Q: Is it hard coming up with titles or characters names?

Titles come to me pretty easy to me, but character names are a bit harder. I always want to be careful that I don’t use a name of someone I know. Many times, I will open the phone book and pick out a first name and then find a last name to go with it. A few times, I’ve used an online name generator, but generally I don’t like them.

Q: What does your workstation look like?

Aren’t all writers’ workstations messy? My desk consists of my laptop, printer, lamp, pen and pencils, files, pads of Post-it Notes, and stacks of papers. Right now I have a pile of wadded up papers needing to go into the trash.

Q: Are you the type of individual who gets weepy at the end of a good movie, or a sad movie, or do you just stay neutral through it all?

I can cry at the drop of a hat during a movie and that’s why I usually don’t watch sad movies. Give me a good action drama any day.

Q: Is there any books coming that you are itching to read (either electronic or print) from your favorite authors?

There are several I want to read. Two of them are The Help by Kathryn Stockett and Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope by Gabrielle Giffords and Mark Kelly. Besides mysteries, I love to read biographies and other non-fiction. My favorite fiction authors are Lisa Gardner and the late Robert B. Parker.

Q: If you were to replenish your cabinets with one junk food, what would it be?

I’ve been trying to cut out junk food and eat healthier. If you’d ask my husband about me, he’d say Snickers bars, but I rarely can turn down chips and dip.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

As I mentioned earlier, my next release is Saved by the Sheriff from Secret Cravings Publishing and it’s scheduled be out in January. I have another romantic suspense finished that I’m polishing up for a submission. I’m also hoping to get the first book in my mystery series released sometime this winter as a Kindle book, if nothing else comes up.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

Besides writing romantic suspense and mysteries, I also have a cookbook out. Masters & Disasters of Cooking is a collection of stories and recipes of some of my best and worst cooking experiences. From Breakfasts to Desserts, this book is full of comical anecdotes of my personal cooking mistakes and perfect masterpieces, all accompanied by my best recipes.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

My web page: http://CarolPre.webs.com

My personal blog: http://CarolPre.blogspot.com

My cooking blog: http://carolsfoodbites.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/CarolPreflatish

Secret Cravings Publishing page: http://bit.ly/ScpPre

I’m also working on a Facebook author page; you can search for my name there.

 

Thank you for hosting me here today, Raine. I’ve enjoyed talking with you.

Saved by the Sheriff by Carol Preflatish

Secret Cravings Publishing

Coming January 2012

Blurb –

 

New York City writer, Jaime Wilson wants the Assistant Editor job at Real Mystery Magazine. In order to get it, she has to write a kick-ass story, and what could be better than a 30-year old unsolved murder in a small town.

When Jaime visits Royal, Indiana to investigate, she soon finds that someone in the town doesn’t want the mystery solved and she becomes a target. After an arrest for trespassing and an attempt on her life, Sheriff Ben Hunter lets her stay at his place where he can keep an eye on her while she continues to work on her story.

She didn’t count on falling in love with the sheriff and he didn’t think he would have to work so hard to keep her safe. After she finishes her story, she has to make her choice whether to stay with Ben or go back to New York.

 

4 thoughts on “Welcome Carol Preflatish Today

  1. I really enjoyed the story of Jamie and Ben, the love that they to share. I also admired Jamie’s perseverance.

  2. Morning Carol:) You are going to LOVE The Help:) And if you stock your cabinets with Snicker Bars, I’ll come down and help you eat ’em;)

    So glad SBTS is enjoying success! And keep writing!

Leave a Reply

