Welcome Kristabel Reed Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Kristabel Reed. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)? What? Write? I’m getting my drink from two cabana boys, I’m a little distracted…OH! Hi everyone. Yes. Writing *ahem* Sorry boys, no more distractions! I write historical ménages and historical erotic romances for Ravenous Romance.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

 

My newest release is Risqué: A Regency Ménage Tale, about a woman who wants to experience all life has to offer. She doesn’t like the restrictions Regency society has placed on her, but at the same time, she holds a very prestigious position in society and doesn’t want to give that up, either. What’s a woman to do? Play the game of course.
As to what inspired it, I love strong heroines, but in an historical it’s a very fine line between the 21st century historical heroine and the true-to-era historical heroine. I try for a bit of both. Not sure how well I succeed but I do try!

 

Q: If you had a reporter follow you around for the day, what would the readers get to see in your daily schedule?

I think readers would be bored stiff! I have a normal life like everyone else: Up at 6 for a run then a very hot shower to warm up on these cold winter days; breakfast; a bit of news if the commentators don’t make me too angry. Then off to my day job in an office, lunches spent hiding from others and not being very social. I can get a bit of writing done that way, and frankly no one at the office knows what I write!

 

Home, dinner, a bit of television if there’s anything on, and writing. My 2012 goal is to write every day. We’ll see how that works out.

Q: When you begin your stories, do you go with the flow, or go with an outline?

Outline all the way! Without that it’s really hard to get anything done in 30 minutes of lunch writing. I wouldn’t know where I’m going during those snippets of writing I manage to sneak in.

Q: What thrill do you find when you compose?

The fact that what I write really does make sense. It works, and hey, sometimes it’s really, really good! I love it when a scene I write, especially one that gives me trouble, and when I finally toss it aside and leave it be for a day or 2 before reading it, it’s exactly what I wanted. Not all the time, granted, but it’s so exciting when that does happen!

Q: Is it hard coming up with titles or characters names?

Yes. Oh definitely yes! Titles are the hardest. Characters, not as much as it used to be. I used to have to really like a character’s name before using it. Now, it I don’t hate it, it’s used. Names are names, and frankly I plan on writing a lot of stories. Characters have to be named!

Q: What does your workstation look like?

Messy. I’d take a picture, but I’m embarrassed by it! I have receipts and CSs, a nail file, lotion, a remote that doesn’t work to my DVR…hmm, my iPod, tissues, cell phone and charger, several notebooks, pens and pencils in various stages of use, and a bin of staples, paperclips, and rubber bands. And bobby pins. Huh, I wonder where those came from!

 

But my keyboard is clear and my chair is comfortable. Plus my speakers work, so do I really need more?

Q: Are you the type of individual who gets weepy at the end of a good movie, or a sad movie, or do you just stay neutral through it all?

Depends. If the emotion is justified, then yes. If the writers are trying to play me for a cheap weep forget it. I’m a writer, hell, I’m a voracious reader! I know all the tricks! The last movie that made me teary eyed was The Help. I felt horrible for both the maid and that little girl. So I read the book, but it ended pretty much the same way and wrenched that emotion from me.

Q: Is there any books coming that you are itching to read (either electronic or print) from your favorite authors?

Oh, wow, probably! I have tons on a TBR/TBP pile, but I’ve been so busy lately between writing and shopping and holidays, that finding 10 minutes to read is nonexistent. That extra 10 minutes could be used to sleep!

Q: If you were to replenish your cabinets with one junk food, what would it be?

Chocolate doesn’t count, as it’s not junk food but the Food of Life. Therefore it would be red licorice.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

 

I have a new series coming out called Hellfire Club Erotique. Based on the very real Hellfire Club of the 1700s, it’s political and sexual based. The first two stories are set during Revolutionary France and the rush to escape before the revolutionaries find and guillotine the nobles. The other 4 are set in England with an overall political arc mixed in with all that sex.

 

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

All my writing is character driven, even with the subheading of ménage. Because it’s the characters that make the story, not the sex. Plus, I want to know more about the characters, and while sexual situations is a very important part of the story, if your people aren’t multi-dimensional what’s the point?

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

Twitter: @kristabelreed

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001643576267&ref=tn_tnmn

Blog: http://kristabelreed.blogspot.com/

Email: kristabelreed@yahoo.com

 

Risqué: A Regency Ménage Tale

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Risqu%C3%A9-Regency-M%C3%A9nage-Tale-ebook/dp/B006850OL6/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

 

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/risqu-eacute-kristabel-reed/1107412821?ean=2940013470705&itm=1&usri=risque+a+regency+menage+tale

 

All Romance eBooks: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-risquearegencymenagetale-641866-144.html

 

The young widow Mrs. Alexandria Prescott enjoys her untainted reputation. In private, however, her sexual appetites know no bounds. An encounter with Kane Huntington changes that. Alix finds she can’t help herself or her desire to test his notorious reputation and invites him to prove his mettle in her bedroom.

 

They enjoy their pleasurable games until jealousy’s green eyes come between them in the form of Brent, the young Earl of Rowan. Unwilling to let themselves be bested in this game of passions, Alix and Kane use Brent as a pawn in their maneuvers against each other.

 

However, Brent has other ideas about his future and what—and who—it’ll involve. He skillfully turns the tables on them and, despite the games they play, creates an image of the perfect ménage. But things never go as planned and when their secret is threatened will the three of them run? Or will they be clever and strong enough, to hide their love in plain sight?

 

Excerpt:

Stretching languidly in bed, Alix finally decided to open her eyes and face the day. Not that she was in any rush to leave the bed.

Kane’s scent still faintly surrounded her, even though it had been a full day and night since their encounter. She shivered in remembered pleasure, fingers drifting over her breasts. He hadn’t left immediately after she’d collapsed in his arms. She didn’t recall him moving, but Alix did recall waking to his fingers doing delicious things to her body.

He hadn’t teased then, but had built her orgasm so swiftly she climaxed from his mouth and fingers alone. They hadn’t the time to indulge in all she’d wished to, and Alix frowned now as she thought of Kane.

She still wanted him. Wanted to tie him to the bed and be tied by him. Wondered if he would take her from behind, teach her that particular pleasure she longed to experience.

Sighing, she turned her head into the pillow and breathed deeply, annoyed with her foolishness. She’d told her maid, Marguerite, not to bother with the bed linens. Alix sighed again, and shrugged it all off. In the privacy of her bedroom, she could be just as young and sentimental as she wanted.

Not that she’d ever let anyone other than Marguerite see that side of her. Emily might suspect her sentimental streak, but her closest friend would never tell a soul.

Kane had left just before the break of dawn, striding arrogantly through the servants’ entrance in the rear of her St. James townhouse. A practiced rake, without doubt. Alix could appreciate his skill in stealth as well as his skill in a great many other things.

With one final stretch, Alix rose and walked naked across her room to the looking glass. Her vibrant auburn hair framed her face in a riot of curls, and the wanton look about her lingered. But the red love bites adorning her rose-tinted skin caught her attention.

Yesterday she’d received friends in her own parlor, but today she had several places to visit. She’d have to wear a higher neckline than usual if she intended to engage socially these next few nights. A bother, certainly, but not without its most pleasurable cause.

Dismissing her reflection, Alix tugged her robe on and went about her morning rituals. It was another two hours before Marguerite had her dressed and presentable for Emily’s political gathering. And she wondered if Mr. Huntington would be in attendance.

As she descended the stairs, mind still on the delectable Mr. Huntington, Beckett extended a silver tray topped by a sealed missive.

“Good day, madam,” he said with a slight bow. “A messenger delivered this note an hour ago, and the carriage is waiting for you just outside, as you requested.

2 thoughts on “Welcome Kristabel Reed Today

Leave a Reply

