Getting to know author Molly Daniels

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Molly Daniels. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

(takes a glass of chocolate wine from cabana boy Zeke)  Thanks for having me today Raine!  I’m author Molly Daniels; I’ve lived my entire life in various parts of Indiana and currently reside in the southwest corner of the state with my husband and two out of three children.  The oldest is in his second year at Purdue.  I’ve written stories since age eleven and decided to pursue publishing in the mid-90’s when I discovered people liked what I was writing!  Twenty years later, I was finally able to convince a publisher to take a chance on me.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

 

I jokingly call my Arbor University series ‘Young Adult Smut’; it’s too graphic for YA, yet not graphic enough to be considered Erotic.  I thought I was writing a romance series, but thankfully an editor took time out of her busy schedule to let me know I was actually writing Women’s Fiction.  Secret Cravings Publishing has given my series a home after I self-published the first two books.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

 

All the books in the series were inspired by actual events my friends and I witnessed while in college.  Book #1, Love On The Rocks, is based on one of my roommates who discovered she enjoyed the party scene a little too much!  Book #2  Love Finds A Way is actually a ‘what-if’ based on one of my blind dates with an Air Force officer and I didn’t know if I would ever see him again (I did, but not the way the characters in the book are portrayed, ha ha!).  And Book #3, Forbidden Love, is based on the older man/younger woman dynamic.  An acquaintance dated several older men, so I combined them into Kyle’s character.  We also met a girl whose major was auto tech, so that ended up in the story, as did my love of the Indianapolis 500.

 

Book #1 was re-released in October; book #2 is being re-released sometime this month; and book #3 will be released in January 2012.  In book #3, the characters really begin to interact more as their friendships grow.

 

Q: If you had a reporter follow you around for the day, what would the readers get to see in your daily schedule?

He’d better bring plenty of caffeine and maybe roller skates!  After I take the kids to school in the morning, I sit down at my laptop for two to three hours checking email, social media sites, and posting my blog.  I’ll also check in with a few of my favorite blogs.  Depending what day it is, then I’ll either fix lunch, start the laundry, or the husband and I run errands.  Then I’m back at the computer until the kids get home from school and I get them started on their homework.  My daughter usually hijacks my laptop while I’m getting dinner ready, since hers died two months ago.  And again, depending what day it is, I’m either off to crit group or scouts or basketball practice with my youngest.  Then getting the seven-year old in the bath and off to bed, and watching one of my nightly TV shows.  I might get online again to clean out the email again before going to bed around ten or eleven.

Q: When you begin your stories, do you go with the flow, or go with an outline?

I have a very vague outline I follow.  Some of the books were written out of order, so I had to keep checking the ‘dateline’ to make sure the characters were interacting with each other at the right times, or that Stephanie wasn’t dating Doug in one chapter and Shawn in the next, only to be switched in the next book.

Q: What thrill do you find when you compose?

I’m always thrilled when I discover I’ve put any ‘inside jokes’ in my stories!  I’ve kept in contact with three of my roommates over the years, plus others I’ve reconnected by Face Book, so it’s always fun to hear “I can’t believe you put that in there!” from any of them.

And just to see the characters come alive in the stories and go from concept to fully formed is always a thrill.  I actually got teary-eyed when I had to graduate some of them.

Q: Is it hard coming up with titles or characters names?

Funny you ask that; I thought I had the titles all picked out, but after I began writing and publishing them, some of the titles seemed wrong.  Book #2 was actually ‘Love On The Rocks’ first, but then was changed to the current title.  Book #1 was titled ‘Love Is Sober’, but people thought it was my AA project!    And my latest title fiasco was in book #4, coming this summer.  The original title was ‘Love The Second Time Around’, but is now ‘Balancing Act’.

Characters come to me with their names, although sometimes I have to search for a last name.  I’ve used my yearbook; the phonebook; or even colors and seasons for different last names.

Q: What does your workstation look like?

Right now, it’s the kitchen table.  During the day, my husband is either in the living room watching the History Channel or napping, so I’m undisturbed unless he needs something from our pantry area, and then I have to get up because my chair blocks the entrance.

Q: Are you the type of individual who gets weepy at the end of a good movie, or a sad movie, or do you just stay neutral through it all?

I can’t make it through Titanic, The Notebook, or Toy Story 3 without crying at the end!  My husband even laughed at me the first time he took me to see ‘Star Wars Revenge of the Sith’, because I sobbed all through Anakin’s decision to turn to the Dark Side.  It had to be done, so the first three original movies made sense, but it broke my heart!

Q: Is there any books coming that you are itching to read (either electronic or print) from your favorite authors?

(Laughs, then accepts Pina Colada margarita from cabana boy Jake) Too many to mention!  My TBB list is over 100 titles at the moment.  I used to be able to buy a dozen books per month, but since my husband retired, and awaiting his disability hearing (he suffered a retinal detachment in March ’10 and his sight hasn’t recovered in that eye), our income has been on a severe budget.  I was fortunate to have a small royalty check in October which enabled me to buy a few books and put gas in the car.

Q: If you were to replenish your cabinets with one junk food, what would it be?

I can only pick one?  It’s a tie between cookies and Hershey Bliss Milk Chocolate Squares.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

 

Book #3, Forbidden Love, is Keri’s story.

Keri Patterson meets an older man, and is instantly transported into her first adult relationship.  But is Kyle Sampson really telling her the truth about his ex-wife?  Is Keri’s ambition to someday be a part of an Indianapolis 500 racing crew interfering with her love life?

 

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

 

I loved the teen romances I read in junior high and high school, and wanted to read something similar having to do with university life.  Since none were available, I decided to write the book I wanted to read, never dreaming it would morph into a 14 book series!

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

 

Website:  http://www.mollydaniels.wordpress.com

 

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/mollyjdaniels

 

Publisher:  http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=products_all&filter_author=11&zenid=63ffc796390f0ad10bfe5a6e4110d530

 

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_tc_2_0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Ck%3AMolly+Daniels&keywords=Molly+Daniels&ie=UTF8&qid=1323095106&sr=1-2-ent&field-contributor_id=B003CMEYTQ

 

Nook:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Molly-Daniels?store=ebook&keyword=Molly+Daniels

 

ARE:  http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-loveontherocks-625346-149.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love Finds A Way, re-released Dec 2011 at Secret Cravings Publishing

http://store.secretcravingspublishing.com/index.php?main_page=products_all&filter_author=11&zenid=63ffc796390f0ad10bfe5a6e4110d530

 

Can a blind date turn into a romance?  Amy Callahan wants to find out, so when she flies to California to spend a week with Matt Slagal, she discovers the ups and downs of a long distance relationship.  Which one prevails…”Absence makes the heart grow fonder”  or, “Out of sight, out of mind”?

 

Excerpt:

“What am I to you, anyway? Just someone to sleep with occasionally when you can’t get laid, or do I actually mean something to you?”

 “Good Lord, Amy!” He stopped halfway to the front door and spun around. “Is that what you think?”

 “What am I supposed to think?” Angry tears rolled down her cheeks. “Last year, I never dreamed I’d even see you again then I thought I’d surprise you when I got that free ticket. You called me your girlfriend and told me you loved me, so…”

 “That’s right.” He walked over and took her hands. “I love you. I broke up with Jeri as soon as I got back, because I couldn’t get you out of my head.”

 “Wait a minute.” Amy stepped back. “You… I thought you had already broken up with her when you met me.”

 Matt shook his head. “We’d had a huge fight, because I wouldn’t bring her with me. Then I met you. I thought Jeri and I would maybe get back together, but after being with you…hell, I couldn’t get you off my mind, so I quit seeing her. I was planning to look you up this fall, but you showed up on the base in July.” He pulled her inside the house. “Do you want to go upstairs or get something to drink?”

 Amy shook her head, digesting everything. She circled the room as Matt went to get a beer for himself. “So, what you said in California was true; you wanted to keep seeing me, and the fact you’ve not seen me for a week was due to…?” She raised an eyebrow at him.

 Matt sat down in a chair and looked at the floor. “My friends kept me busy. I…I slept all day, and I knew you needed your sleep, so…” He gestured with his hands.

 “And with your friends all partied out, you just happened to remember my number?” Amy gave a short laugh and rolled her eyes. “Yeah, I can tell you really care about me.” She sat down in a corner of the couch. “Thanks, Matt.”

 “It’s not like that. It’s just, you’re not like anyone I’ve ever been with. You…do something to me, something I can’t explain.” He ran a hand through his blonde hair.

 Amy stared at him and raised an eyebrow. Oh yeah? I can’t wait to hear this.

Matt continued to drink his beer. He crushed the empty can and sat down in the chair across from her.

 “All right, it’s like this. I love you. And, but you scare me. I don’t want a repeat of my friends trying to take you away from me.”

 “What do you mean, I scare you?” Is he serious?

 Matt cocked his head and leaned forward. “Remember I once told you I thought you looked like the serious type, the kind that doesn’t party very much?” Amy nodded. “Well, I always thought I liked the party girls best, the ones that let loose and have a good time. You’ve shown me that’s not the type of girl I want at all. And if I’ve had that all wrong, then what else have I screwed up?”

 Amy laughed. “Maybe you’re just going through a change.” She stood and perched on the padded arm of his chair. “I never dreamed I’d fall in love with someone I’d only see twice a year.” She gasped as Matt hooked an arm around her waist, spilling her onto his lap.

“Sometimes, you just have to trust your feelings.” She sighed as his lips covered hers.

 “Now that we’ve got that settled, am I forgiven?”

 

Thanks again for having me Raine!

23 thoughts on “Getting to know author Molly Daniels

    1. LOL Carol….I wish I could write more; I admit I’m addicted to face book and have to be dragged from it, kicking and screaming! The last AU book I finished was seven years ago; the panic will set in when book #6 is accepted, because then I will HAVE to hog-tie Lynn and Nick into ‘talking’ to me again! And then start Tara’s story….and Donna’s….and Kelly’s…..and an unnamed character’s…..you get the picture. I think I need a month in a motel room by myself….(I’d say with no internet, but that would probably drive me insane!)

    1. Thank you Penny:) This series has been a labor of love, and I’m so grateful to my best friends from college for allowing me to create fictional situations for them. As my BFF told me once, “It’s nice to see what my life could have turned out to be, if I’d stayed on track!”

  1. Hi Molly. I love the cover for Forbidden Love. I cry every time I watch Toy Story 3. It gets me every time. I cry at the end of Return of the Jedi. Its Anakin’s redemption story and the ending is spot on.

    Marika

    1. I’m soooo glad I’m not the only one who cries during the final scenes of TS3! I don’t think I cried at the end of ‘Jedi’…

      I LOVE the cover of FL also:) I’m hoping for a Jimmy Thomas cover for Balancing Act:)

  2. Hey Molly–I got a kick out of your answer about titles! For my first 3 books I tried to get some version of “Lose” into the title & probably spent more time on that than on the book! It’s tough! Also, the thrill of inserting some reference to a real person or event & wondering if they’ll catch it–so true. I also like having names with an obscure meaning–like my hero the Chevalier du bon Arnaque (no, I’m not giving it away here–it’s in my latest book Triptych). Anyway, wonderful interview–and good questions, Raine! Meredith

  3. Hmmm…all of this seems SO familiar to me! I wonder why? 😉 Glad to see you getting more of a chance to talk about your books and writing then we usually get on the “daily” basis, my dear. As always, I’m here to support, lend a shoulder/ear/alibi…whatever you need! ha

    B.C. Brown

    1. I wonder why, Billie? You’ve only been hearing about AU for the past 3 1/2 years!! Thanks for stopping by, and here’s hoping we get to do the ‘Billie and Molly Show’ the next two Wednesdays, lol! It’s Party Time!

  4. What a fantastic interview, Molly. I think you deserve awards for doing al the writing and taking care of your family the way you do! You have a wonderful sense of humor as well, always desirable in an author, I think.

    1. With three kids, various neighborhood kids who call me ‘Aunt Molly’, a sense of humor is vital around here:) I hope the scenes I find humorous bring a smile to SOMEONE’s face.

      Nah, I don’t need an award; I need a VACATION! LOL:)

    1. Thanks Tina:) Yeah, when someone asks me what I write and I tell them ‘YAS’, it either sends them running in the other direction or they laugh and start asking more questions:) Sort of separates the non-smut lovers from those of us who like a bit more description in the bedroom scenes:) But at the same time, it’s not nearly as ‘in-your-face’, so teenagers enjoy it also.

      And I warn parents of the younger kids who stop by my table about the use of language and some sensual sex scenes. I have had twelve-year-old girls tell me they LOVE the stories, but I encourage the moms to read them first, then to use their own judgement.

Leave a Reply

