Welcome Amylea Lyn Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Amylea Lyn. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. So tell us a little about yourself.

Ooh, hello Zeke and Jake. *accepts drink and takes a sip* Ahh, Very nice. Well, My name is Amylea Lyn, and I’ve been writing for what seems like forever. I’ve only started publishing my stories over the past two years. I love writing and romance, and when I’m not writing my own stories, you can usually find me reading someone else’s.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I write M/M erotic romance, and I tend to stick paranormal and fantasy themes in each book I write.

So far I’ve been published by Dreamspinner Press, Torquere Press, and Silver Publishing.

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

My latest release is called Nature of the Beast, and it’s book one of my Outside the City series.

It was my first book published with Silver Publishing (the first of many, I hope. LOL) and is about a young man trapped in a world where nature is outlawed and anyone different is punished by being thrown in prison. This happens to my character, Raine, and there he meets “the Beast” that will change his world for the better.

As for what inspired the story, I think it was a combination of a number of things. I love gardening, and I was writing the book during winter last year and wasn’t able to get outside much. The idea of what it would be like to be trapped in a cold, gray world all the time and what it would be like for nature to be outlawed… and the rest they say, is history.

Q: How do you build characters, their personalities and looks?

Well, a lot of my characters share personality traits and looks that I myself find attractive in a man. Strong on the outside, but with a soft, caring center; or my characters may seem not the most dominant or powerful on the outside, but have a core of steel on the inside. But I always start with the personality first, and the looks tend to develop after that. I find myself backtracking a lot and adding details later when I figure out exactly how my character will look.

Normally, I just let the characters actions dictate who they are to me. I never know what they are going to do, or how they might react to a twist in the story, so sometimes I’m really surprised. LOL

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines.

Well, Nature of the Beast stars Raine, a young man with abnormal abilities who is thrown in prison for refusing to fall into the standards the City. He meets, Ash, a strange beast of a man who was betrayed by someone he should have been able to trust and captured by the City. The two of them are wonderful together and I love their relationship.

In my book, Dream a Little Dream, my main characters are Cael, Jake and Aiden. Aiden is a psychiatrist who works in a mental hospital, and his lover Jake is a police officer. The two have been together for a number of years when they meet Cael, a strange young man with hidden talents, who is a patient in the mental hospital where Aiden works. After being abused, Cael is taken in by Aiden and Jake and the story revolves around learning to trust each other, dealing with adding a new member to a relationship, and believing in your dreams. These three are probably some of my favorite characters that I‘ve ever written. Especially Jake.

The characters in my other stories, Meant to be and Let’s Get Familiar are great guys too. Most of them have a past, and I love seeing my characters grow in the story as they face all the drama I throw at them.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?
Well, my muse does have a tendency to run off and trying to coax the little scamp back is sometimes nearly impossible. *sigh* I usually try to take a day and leave him be for a while, or I move on to a new project. Maybe work on an outline or something for another story.

Of course, threatening him with edits works too. My muse will work for hours just to avoid working on edits. LOL

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?

I usually write in the middle of the afternoon or late in the evening, depending on what my “day job” schedule is. I tend to be most creative late at night. I almost always have my cat sleeping by my side, and a cup of tea. I put the TV on a channel I wont really be tempted to watch for background noise and I just go at it.

Q: If you could go back to a specific historical event, what one would it be and why?

Oh, wow, that’s a tough one. I think If I could go back to any historical event, it would have to be probably the French revolution. It was one of my favorite things to study back when I was in school, and I’d love to experience it up close.

Q: Does travel play a part in your stories? Have you ever traveled for research purposes for a book?

Not necessarily. I’ve never really traveled specifically for a book, but I have drawn on experiences in cities I’ve traveled to in the past for my books.

However, there is always a lot of research done for each book, like setting and historical events that I want to be pretty accurate before I actually start writing.

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

I love reading. I’m inspired and influenced by many authors and for me it doesn’t matter what genre they are in. Authors like Stormy Glenn, Amber Kell, Sean Michael and others in my own genre inspire me to work harder on each book I write.

Authors like Christine Feehan and J.R Ward influenced and inspired me to start writing in the first place.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters? Or a combination of all three?

First for me comes the storyline. I almost always write a outline for my book, to just get the general idea of where my story is headed. That doesn’t mean the original story will follow along with the outline, but it give me a guideline to work from. The characters come next, followed finally be the setting.

So I suppose the outline makes it a combination of all three.

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity(s) would you like to star as your main character(s)?

I’d love to see Nature of the Beast in movie form.

That being said, I have no idea who would play Raine and Ash. I don’t watch movies all that much, so I have no idea who the stars are. But I think I’d like to see the guy from Thor play Ash… Just cause I’d like to watch him get together with another man. LOL!

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

Next up for me is Book 2 of my Outside the City series, titled The Beast’s Promise. For everyone who read book 1, you’ll be happy to know this is Owen’s story, and it should be out early 2012. I also have another story around that time, called Love’s Crash Landing, and it’s my alien story.

I’ve also got a weekly blog story going, that updates every Monday over on my blog with a new chapter, and I’m working on the final few chapters of book 1 of a new series. So lots of things coming from me that I hope everyone will enjoy.

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

Probably… Warning: Subject is prone to talking to self and carries a wild imagination. Handle with care.

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

Readers should know I am a firm believer in HEA’s (happily ever afters) and that I think everyone deserves a love story no matter what gender, race, sexual orientation or age. My books reflect that, and I hope readers enjoy them.

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

I can be found online at my website: http://www.amylealyn.webs.com

My blog: http://www.amylealynromance.blogspot.com

And on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/people/Amylea-Lyn/100001651775372


Nature of the Beast

Buy Link: https://spsilverpublishing.com/product_book_info/glbt-fantasy-c-53_61/nature-of-the-beast-ebook-p-442

Blurb:

The City is a cold, sterile place. What lies Outside it?

Raine O’Kelly has a gift. The very power of nature is his to command. When his gift lands him in trouble with the government, Raine find himself thrown into The Prison; one of the most feared punishment for those citizens who wont conform to The City’s ideals.

Abused, scared, and slowly dying of deprivation from the one thing his body truly needs, an accident lands him in the infirmary, which leads him to be given to The Prison’s most feared inmate… The Beast.

When The Beast defends him from the guards, Raine finds himself inexplicably drawn to the misunderstood man. A man with unique abilities of his own, the Beast’s animalistic desires forms a connection between them that cannot be denied. When he learns The Beast comes from Outside the City, is Raine willing to take the chance on escape with the mysterious man?

Escape wont be easy, and there are dangers waiting for them on The Outside, ready to strike at the fragile relationship between the two men. When The Beast’s past come’s to light, will Raine be able to put aside his own fears in order to fight for the life the two of them could have together? Or will he fold under the pressure?

Will he get his happily ever after?

Or will he become just another victim of the Nature of the Beast.

Excerpt:

Raine O’Kelly walked quickly through the crowded streets, ignoring the various other people milling about, determined to make it into his building before the patrols started making their nightly sweeps. He moved quickly, yet carefully, through the crowds, making sure to keep his satchel as steady as possible. He’d rather turn himself over to the Guard before he damaged the precious items inside his bag.

The cool gray sky matched the tall metal skyscrapers and cold stone streets. Even the clothing was drab and colorless inside the City. There were no colors, no trees, grass or flowers; not even the sun would dare shine down on the doomed citizens of the City.

Once considered a great metropolis, the founding fathers designed the City to keep the people safe. Completely covered by a large opaque dome, the City carefully cut off everyone from the rest of the world. Only the Hunters and the Guard could venture beyond the Dome; average citizens like Raine would never see the Outside. He had to content himself with his books filled with stories of trees, flowers, and water running from something called a stream.

The government liked to claim nothing existed on the Outside. The dome was there to protect its citizens from the nothingness and uninhabited space beyond it. The propaganda, drummed into the heads of every man, woman, and child each day, became accepted fact. But Raine knew the lies couldn’t be true. The proof currently sat in his satchel, waiting to make their way into his building and safety.

The Outside had to be real.

At twenty-one, Raine had never been anywhere other than the City, one of the coldest, most sterile environments anyone could ever live in. The government controlled its people with an iron fist, even down to the smallest babe. Everything cost credits, from a ride on the public transit system to a simple glass of water. Nothing was free.

No one was free in the City.

Raine should know. His father, a powerful government figure, had beaten the lesson into him many a time.

One thought on “Welcome Amylea Lyn Today

  1. I loved this interview! I have been reading Amylea Lyn for a few months and her books are amazing and have the best story lines!

Leave a Reply

