Welcome S. D. Grady


Hi and welcome to my blog, S.D. Grady. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake. So tell us a little about yourself.

Hi, thanks for having me on your blog! Um…a little bit about myself…

I’m older than some and younger than many 😛 Have one of those pesky day jobs. Two cats sit in my yard. I live in the house on the hill and battle the encroaching woodland periodically. When I can no longer stand life, I escape by packing up the RV and heading off to a local NASCAR track.

I love playing a game with my husband. As he surfs the TV channels, how fast can I name whatever movie might pop on screen? It usually doesn’t take more than a couple lines. If I’m over a minute, I don’t know what movie it is.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

A: I pen erotic tales for the most part. Some are placed in historical settings, some fantasy (but erotica is really all fantasy–don’t you think?) and many occur in everyday places. Right now you can find a few of my tales at Purple Sword Publications.

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

A: My latest tale, A Dinner and a Movie, was inspired when a friend bumped into a pair of ladies in the restroom, um, in flagrante delicto. While the thought of watching two lovelies going down on each other may be titillating, in this case it was eye-poppingly bad. Traumatized, she gave me all the details hoping to erase them from her mind. Her work day tale got me thinking about taking the risk–giving into that kind of lust–where nothing, nobody, no place could stop you from…indulging. And so Mr. Clarke and Miss Bernie, my two main characters do…indulge.

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?

A: I don’t really have a formula. Sometimes my stories start with the concept of a particular person in a particular circumstance. In that case, I already have requirements for the MC’s temperament and possibly their looks. I have to make the painting in my mind come to life. Sometimes I look to build around a plot…thus was the case with Dinner and a Movie.

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines:

A: Why don’t we talk about Miss Bernie from Dinner and a Movie. Although we don’t get to visit with her for very long (it is, after all, just dinner and a movie) we learn she isn’t too comfortable in her skin. Many of my heroines struggle with self-image challenges. Bernie’s no different; tall, red-gold hair and boisterous, she kind of sticks out in a crowd. While that sounds like a runway model to many, it can be overwhelming to the one blessed. As she travels through life there’s always that feeling that maybe he’s staring because…well…everybody else is. Not due to her stunning figure and personality.

I always want to find her that one person who will see her for all she is and help her to accept herself at the same time. I think Miss Bernie found her Prince Charming, at least for the night.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?

A: My muse is a tricky little girl. She runs away more than I like. I will switch stories, maybe blog, finish a NASCAR assignment. Something! And then when I’m feeling the muse, but not for a tale, I’ll look up a fancy recipe and cook. In a life full of take-out, sandwiches and far too many restaurants, it’s reassuring to know that eggs will always make a meal better 😉

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?

A: Uh, no rituals I don’t think. Does it sound cliché to say the world is my inspiration? TV, music, the night sky, a beautiful car, sculpture, my cat, people…everything in life. It’s important to always be looking for new experiences. Your characters will always see the world in a different way, so I strive to seek out new ways to look at things.

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?
A: 3 things on the bucket list…world is ending tomorrow. If I knew the world was ending, I’d go to the ocean and just sit. I love the wind, sea, birds…the vast panorama of our world. If the ultimate ending is upon me, there’s really not much point in rushing to do something I never bothered to before. I cross things off that list on a regular basis. Today was the New Bedford Whaling Museum. I discovered why museum shops always sell those glass prism paperweights. And that William Bradford truly captured the beauty of the Arctic in his oil paintings. Stunning.

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

A: Every author I have ever read–good and bad. We are a sum of our experiences, aren’t we? I don’t want to be any author that came before, I just want to be me. I’d really spend far too long listing all the wonderful writers that have published tales for me to love.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

A: At the moment I’m working on something very un-S.D. Grady. A mystery! Don’t ask me. Blame the muse. She made me do it. But at any moment, I might pen another short for Miss Bernie and Mr. Clarke or decide to reenter the world of Regency England.

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

A: Cranky Chic In the Morning

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

A: http://sdgrady.info

My current release!

Dinner and a Movie

Available at: http://purplesword.com/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=13&products_id=114&zenid=e2f913647346bf07d75df4c261251bc3

Blurb: There’s only one dish on Liam’s menu tonight—Miss Bernie Watkins. After devouring the entrée, he dismisses the dessert cart in favor of snacking on her delectable generous curves at the local movie theatre. Stunned by Liam’s displays of passion, Miss Bernie discovers her inner wanton and beauty.

Excerpt: Her eyes closed in bliss as he traced her lips. “You have a soft heart, Miss Bernie.”
Small bursts of joy rippled through her body in response to his compliment. But the use of ‘Miss Bernie’ created new urgent responses deep within. She purred and arced into him. Her demon murmured into his ear, “Say that again, Mr. Clarke.”
She pulled back just enough. Heat and moisture collected in the wisp of space between their mouths. A spark leapt across the void.
His mouth took hers, hard. His tongue surged past her teeth and ferreted out every crevice of moisture remaining in her mouth. The light from the wall sconce dimmed. The sounds of silverware and glass vanished, leaving only his pulse pounding against hers. Her limbs weakened. Her entire world tilted.
Anything. She would do anything for this man. His touch. His voice.
He released her mouth. Dazed, Bernie rested her head against the wall and stared at the ceiling. He continued to place a trail of fire on her throat, nibble the cords of her neck and suck. She moaned as the sharp pain triggered an erotic tightening in her belly.
“What do you want?” she asked. Whatever the answer, she would give it.
Liam groaned, placed his hands by her head and seemed to struggle to push away from her thrumming body.
An antique clock in the foyer ticked, the tock grew louder with each moment that he watched her. Invisible strings pulled her forward. It would only take a moment to loosen his tie, unbutton the top and expose the triangle of flesh—the bit that beckoned her tongue. She would lick it and leave it wet and wanting….
He chuckled, a sound that reverberated between them. “At first I just wanted your car. And then your legs…” Long fingers kneaded the back of her thighs. “When you bent over to get something from your car, it killed me.”
He drew her into another kiss, brutal and short.
“I want your body splayed open, waiting for me to take my pleasure. Are you wearing anything under this skirt?”
Bernie’s eyes rolled back in her head as she tried to think. “God, I wish I wasn’t.”
“What is it?” His voice lowered with desire.
“A thong.” She ran her fingers through the short locks at the back of his head. “And it is soaking.”

5 thoughts on “Welcome S. D. Grady

Leave a Reply

