Welcome Guest Author Rebecca Rose

Hi and welcome to my blog, Rebecca Rose. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

Oh, thank you for the daiquiri, Zeke. *winks at cabana boy* He’s cute! Uuummm where were we? Oh, yeah. I write contemporary romance for Lyrical Press. They’re awesome!

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

I just finished Midnight Sunrise. It’s about Jake Sander who’s home from the war and NOT looking for love. Trust me, the man has enough to deal with, like Post Traumatic Stress. Sophie just started working at the bar-n-grill Jake owns with his brother and damn if there isn’t sparks, teasing, sex and pig headedness!

I found it was important to write this novel because many civilians don’t understand what its like to go through or see a family member (as I have many) come back and try to acclimate back into everyday life. I remember after Desert Storm there was a Gunnery Sergeant who seemed perfectly fine. He was going through life with his wife and kids. Then something happened. A smell, a word, a flashback. In the end, he dresses in full uniform, shined his shoes and did the unspeakable, then turned the gun onto himself. It’s very confusing for those of us who’ve never seen or did what soldiers do. I always try to educate at the same time as entertain when I write. I’ve been researching this novel for more than a year and a half.

 

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?

I have character sheets I work off of. Of course, they tend to change while the novel builds, but for the most time I know who they are from writing ‘Dear Author’ letters. Basically, it’s a letter to me from my character telling me who they are, how they look and what kind of person they are. It’s pretty cool to have a character tell you. And, a little scary, because after all, us writers are a little nuts!

 

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines:

I like challenging my characters to be stronger than they think they are. I don’t have totally strong woman or men. I tend to not stay with a formula.

In Divine Turmoil I challenged Serena to a breaking point while pushing Brian to want to think of someone else other than himself. She was a little immature and he was done with looking for love.

In Divine Redemption, Brian’s sister Jacqueline is the quiet strong type. She doesn’t take anyone bull and tells you off with grace. Donald wants to understand why she fell for a man who’s done some pretty despicable things. Donald’s starting his life over with a second chance after being shot and is trying to find his self worth. I have to say Donald is my favorite!

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?

That’s been all year! My house was 85% gutted after the New England winter. We had water running down our walls and in between them to the cellar. It was inhabitable and we lived on the front lawn in a trailer for almost four months. It was hell with 4 cats, 3 kids, 2 fish, dog, turtle, husband and me. I actually finished Midnight Sunrise in that tiny space. Every time the contractor, electrician, insurance company, adjustors or someone else pissed me off I’d take it out on my characters. Poor Jake and Sophie. When the words didn’t come, I’d start reading. Many times I disconnect too much and need to start reading in order to jump start my muse again. It’s really the only thing that works for me.

 

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?

Music.

Hey, Zeke! Can I have another daiquiri?

But, I can’t listen too much or I’ll distract myself. Peter Gabriel’s Solsbury Hill was what inspired Divine Redemption. Trisha Yearwood released a song called, This Is Me You’re Talkin’ To. And it makes me ask why these two people who still unconditionally love one another aren’t together? What happened? Isn’t love supposed to conquer all? Eventually I’ll write their story. I have notes in my head on it. J

As for rituals? Well, I start off by telling my children if they disturb me they’re dead. LOL Course during the school year I get much more done. My goal is to write at least an hour before I can check email or promotional work. Some days I follow the rule and some…well, I’ve always been a rule breaker.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

YIKES. I’d need at least a week notice because I’d love to fire a sniper rifle! I love guns but gave them up when we had children.

I’d spend a lot of time laughing and kidding around with my husband and kids. It’s what all of us do best! I’d visit my Dad’s grave to let him know I’d be seeing him soon and call everyone to tell them I love them.

 

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

I creep Nora Roberts! The woman probably doesn’t even know it. LOL When I read Sea Swept it was all over. I had always wanted to write seriously but never took the chance. That book made me yearn to tell love stories that were more reality than ‘Yeah right. Like that’ll ever happen!’

 

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Storyline. Then the character appear and setting. I have to admit I’m partial to close net communities. I’m a total hick so you see that a lot in my settings. J

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

Angelina Jolie! I can see her being Jacqueline from Divine Redemption. Jacqueline may be quiet, but she a sexy and in control woman!

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

Gosh, with the year we’ve had it’s been hard to plan anything. I’d like to finish up the last book in The Divine Series, Divine Valor. As for author talks or travel, I’ve had to cancel a few things. You can always find me on my blog with Talkin’ Tuesday. But, that’s about it until the beginning of the year. Right now we’re trying to finish the house.

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

BEWARE: CRAZY WOMAN ON THE LOOSE!

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I hope my writing brings you to laugh, cry and rejoice with my characters. Maybe even leave a lasting impression on your soul.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

Website: http://www.authorrebeccarose.com/Home

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=1171129159 

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/authorRrose 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2373263-rebecca-rose 

Thank you for having me Raine and Have a Sparkling Day!

Rebecca Rose

**~~**

Divine Redemption by Rebecca Rose

Lyrical Press

Buy HERE

 

Sometimes Redemption Is The Only Salvation Needed To Forgive Yourself.

In his first ever selfless act Donald Write takes a bullet for a man he just met, Daniel Allen. Now he’s changed his name and moved across the country to live with Daniel’s family whose welcoming home reception wasn’t very warm.

Jacqueline is Daniel’s daughter. This soft spoken, well dressed lady soon teaches Donald that looks can be deceiving and her heart can be his if he’s willing to open up and except her gift of love.

Donald hadn’t counted on the intense and immediate attraction to Jacqueline. She’s the boss’s daughter and off limits; that is until he finds himself with an irresistible primal need to be with her. She shows him love in a way he’s never felt before and gives him the strength to become the better man he’s always wanted to be. But how can Donald touch and care for someone so pure of heart when their future can be destroyed by his past? A future built on redemption and second chances.

WARNING: This novel contains M/F romance, action, and explicit sex.

 

Excerpt:

 

After an eternity of euphoric silence, Donald went to move and grunted in pain.

 

Jacqueline bolted to attention. “What’s wrong? Did you hurt yourself?”

 

Donald stood slowly

 

“I just needed to straighten.”

 

“Let me see.” She kissed his wound softly. “Better?”

 

“Mmm-hmm. Where were you a week ago?” He cupped Jacqueline’s chin and smiled. “This wasn’t supposed to happen.”

 

“I know. What should we do about this?”

 

“Well, sweetheart, seein’ I’m not at top performance, we might have to try it again.” Donald bent down so their lips could meet.

 

“Who are you?” she asked, feeling the stars in her eyes.

 

Donald gave out a long breath. “A father’s worst nightmare for his daughter.”

 

“Cam.”

 

He looked sad; his eyes showed it. “You don’t even know who I am. Donald. My name’s Donald Write.”

 

He quickly turned from her and started picking up her discarded clothes.

 

“I know you said that but I’m confused. I thought your name was Cam.” Jacqueline picked up his towel and held it behind her back.

 

“Trust me. I’m not that nice of a person, Jacqueline.”

 

“Don’t say that.”

 

“Here, you need to get dressed before the old man comes home.” Frustration showed by Donald rubbing the base of his neck. “Can I have my towel back?”

 

Jacqueline arched a brow. “Maybe.”

 

“Maybe?” Donald took her bra and started twirling it around one finger. “I need my towel.”

 

“I need answers.” As she watched him, Jacqueline eyed his body. “Cam… Donald, we just had some of the best sex of our lives. Right?”

 

Donald gave out a winded breath. “Hell ya.”

 

She walked to him slowly, keeping the towel behind her. “I want…” she told him while kissing his neck.

 

“What? What do you want?” he asked breathlessly.

 

“To know…” She moved to his jaw while her body pushed his against the kitchen counter.

 

“Jacqueline. Your dad’s going to be home soon. I can’t…”

 

Her mouth crushed his and she felt him give up any defense he had toward her. She dropped the towel and threw her arms around his neck.

 

“Jacqueline,” he said with his hands on her shoulders and pushing her gently back. “We can’t do this.” He rolled his eyes when she looked up at him with her most pitiful look. “You could tempt a saint.”

 

“Who are you?” Jacqueline saw his shoulders slump.

 

“No one that you have any business being with.” Donald ran his thumb over her lips. “We can’t do that again. You know that, right?”

 

Jacqueline squared her chin. “What happened to not being ‘at top performance’ and doing it again?”

 

“Sweetheart. It’s called pillow talk. I’m sure you’ve heard of it. We had a good time. Rolled around a little. Let out some pent-up aggression. And wow, were you aggressive!”

 

She needed to get away from this man. Have him return to where he came from. Donald’s words hurt and she was confused as to why he was saying them. She watched as he bent and picked up his towel nonchalantly. When he turned she was surprised by what she saw in his eyes–he didn’t want to hurt her but felt he had no choice.

 

“You’re a liar. Maybe not about the aggressive part. But you are when it comes to the pillow talk.” She rested her hand on his cheek. “Donald, I won’t hurt you.”

 

He turned into her hand and kissed it. “I’ll hurt you.”

He left her in the kitchen with her clothes at her feet. Jacqueline looked down at them and wondered what the hell they were going to do.

 

Leave a Reply

