Welcome Gabrielle Bissent

Hi and welcome to my blog, Gabrielle. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?
I write erotic paranormal romance and erotic historical romance.  My first novel is with Siren Publishing, but since then I’ve been an indie published author.

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

My newest release, out today, is entitled Destiny Redeemed.  It’s the story of Amon Kalins, who appeared in my novel, Stolen Destiny.  After he came into that book, it was just a matter of time before he got his own story.  Amon is a difficult character to forget. I realized this even more when readers began telling me that he was a character who stuck with them after the book was finished.

Destiny Redeemed is about the characters I’ve created that I call Aeveren.  Long ago, they were blessed by the Archangel Raziel with reincarnation, powers above what humans possess, and destined ones.  As a result, they live fifty lives before they move on, receive special abilities after their twentieth lifetime, and have other Aeveren they are drawn to across distance and time.  Amon is an ancient of the race, and he’s one of the most powerful and unique Aeveren because he was born with his power to manipulate time. All that power has made it difficult for Amon to behave himself in many of his lifetimes, though, and in Destiny Redeemed, his actions come back to haunt him and threaten to take away the woman he loves, Thea.

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?

Even before I begin writing, I know characters’ names, what they physically look like, and their personalities.  I have to or I feel like I can’t move forward. For example, Amon’s destined one is a woman named Thea.  I knew she would be a healer for her race, so I wanted a name that meant healer.  Althea is a Greek name meaning healer.  Then I made her look almost angelic, with long blond hair and blue eyes that signaled an innocence that contrasted with Amon’s not-so-innocent past.  In fact, the model on the cover for Destiny Redeemed is incredibly close to what I believed she looked like when I was developing her character.  Finally, as a healer, I knew she’d be gentle and kind, but I added another dimension to her character by making healers rarely have destined ones in the Aeveren world.  As a result, while far more vicious and evil Aeveren have been blessed with someone meant only for them, Thea has selflessly tended to her people with little hope of ever being blessed with a destined one.

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines.

I like Alpha heroes, but they always have some major flaw.  My first hero, Varek, from Stolen Destiny had committed a terrible crime and was in prison for it when that book begins.  Amon isn’t an angel either.  In my three novellas, which are set in Victorian England, I have a vampire named Brandon who’s lonely and sweet, and I have a Russian diplomat who is smart and sexy.  I like to vary my heroes.  As for my heroines, they all share one thing in common: they’re strong.  Callia and Thea have to deal with the flaws Varek and Amon possess, so if they weren’t strong, they’d fall apart.  My novella heroines share that strength, but in different ways.  For example, one is a Victorian widow who meets a dom and realizes she is a submissive at heart.  The story progresses through her development in this, but it’s always at her pace.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?

I find what works is reading in the genre I’m writing.  Whenever the creative juices seem to dry up, I begin to read even more and it usually helps.

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?

I hand write everything, and I always write in my bedroom.  It takes much longer to write that way, but it gives me the opportunity to think things through, such as choosing the exact word I want in a certain place in a sentence. Other than that, I always have to have a glass of iced tea next to me.  That’s a must!

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

Because I don’t have a lot of time since it’s ending tomorrow, I would want to enjoy a great steak dinner with my family and friends, watch all the Star Wars movies back to back, and make sure I tell everyone I care about that I love them.  Now if I have some time, say a few months, then the list gets a bit different.  Then I’d want to travel to Europe, get married, and learn Farsi with my son.

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

I love authors like Charlotte Featherstone, Marie Treanor, and Robin Schone.  Their stories are the type that envelop the reader.  I also love J.R. Ward, and I think in some ways my style has been influenced by hers, particularly in the lack of a great deal of physical description.  I use it sparingly and make it count when I put it in.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Characters always come first for me.  I’m currently developing a series about witches, and immediately I started on what their names are, what they look like, and what kind of personalities they have.  Then comes storyline.  I have each story plotted out already—I’m a committed plotter—but I have to admit, I have settled on a setting yet.

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

I think if Destiny Redeemed was made into a movie, Alexander Skarsgard would work for Amon, but he’d have to put on some muscle to look the part.

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

Well, I’ll be celebrating Destiny Redeemed’s release for a while, but right before Christmas my next book, Blood Avenged, is scheduled for release.  That one’s sort of a spin off from my novella, Vampire Dreams, because the main character, Vasilije, was that story’s villain.

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

Beware of sudden changes in elevation.

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I love to hear from readers, so please feel free to email me at gabriellebisset@gmail.com

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

Readers can find me at my blog at http://gbisset.blogspot.com/ , my website at http://www.gabriellebisset.com/, Facebook at my personal page https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002481284652&sk=info and my fan page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gabrielle-Bisset/135134056553049, and Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/gabriellebisset

Destiny Redeemed

 

Blurb:  Sentenced to spend the rest of his three remaining lifetimes in Nil, Amon Kalins is freed with the help of his Sidhe servant, Gethen, but now he must accept his life is never to be his again as the Council won’t rest until he’s safely back imprisoned within Nil’s cold walls. Broken and nearly dead from his time in prison, Amon is saved by an Aeveren healer named Althea Forester. As a healer, Thea has served her people for 45 lifetimes, never having a destined one and always knowing each lifetime would ultimately end with her alone. But destiny hasn’t forgotten her.

Drawn to the seductive Amon, Thea quickly becomes a pawn the Council uses to trap him. Taken prisoner by the sadistic leader of the rebel group, the Soren, Thea must survive the vicious world of the people hellbent on taking her destined one away forever, and Amon must risk everything dear to him to free her from those who would sacrifice her to claim the bigger prize and return him to Nil.

 

Buy Link:  http://gbisset.blogspot.com/p/destiny-redeemed.html

One thought on “Welcome Gabrielle Bissent

Leave a Reply

