Welcome Delaney Diamond Today & a Contest

  CONTEST INFORMATION: Make sure to stop at all of Delaney’s tour stops and comment to be entered to win a $10 Amazon Gift Card and an e-book copy of Fight for Love. For complete tour stop information, go HERE

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, Delaney Diamond. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I appreciate you having me, Raine. Thanks for the drink. Tastes yummy.

 

I write contemporary romance for Amira Press and my current release, The Temptation of a Good Man, was self-published under Diamond Press.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

The Temptation of a Good Man was written because I wanted to write a one night stand story, but for me it was important to have the characters connect on more than just a physical level. Neither one of these characters would typically have a one night stand, so the first couple of chapters are devoted to them spending time together, joking, discussing music, flirting, etc. Sexual tension mounts between them as the night gets later, until they find their way back to Roarke’s hotel room.

 

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?

Their physical appearance just comes to me, but their personalities take a little more time because I like to create unique personality traits and conflicts for them. For Temptation, since I knew ahead of time this would be part of a family series, putting the details of each family member in writing made it easier for me to maintain consistency in their behaviors throughout the novel and will help when each sibling gets his/her own story.

 

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines:

I like my heroes to be very alpha, take-charge men and my heroines to be independent but feminine. Roarke is not quite as alpha as the men in my Hot Latin Men series, but he does have alpha tendencies once he gets riled up.

In The Temptation of a Good Man, Roarke Hawthorne is the eldest of four siblings. He’s smart, logical, and an all-around good guy. After his parents passed away, he raised his younger brother and sister while attending college full time at MIT.  He’s a professor of physics at The University of Georgia. Celeste Hawthorne is a single mother who meets Roarke and they end up having a steamy one night stand that later comes back to haunt her.

 

In Fight for Love, Rafael Lopez is a former professional wrestler who grew up poor in Mexico City and came to the states to create a better life for himself. He’s sexy, possessive, and determined to win back the woman he lost, but still loves, and the son he never knew existed. Rebekah Jamison is low-key, conservative, and fiercely protective of those she loves. She ran off with Rafael when she was only 18, and when he comes back into her life, she’s afraid she’s not over him and can’t resist his charms.

 

In The Arrangement, Leonardo da Silva is a ruthless businessman who coerces his estranged wife to resume her role as his wife by offering her a loan to help her brother. Alexa is in love with her husband, but she’s unsure of his love for her because he’s always focused on work, and all their problems remain unresolved because they always wind up in bed together. Both of them carry baggage from their childhood, watching their parents’ marriages crumble, and it affects how they relate to each other.

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult?

I take a break. I read or do something else like work on another writing project, watch a movie, read. That usually helps to clear my mind so I can come back to the project with a fresh set of eyes.

 

How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board? Actually, I don’t. I tried forcing it before, but that doesn’t work for me. At the most, I may run a few “What-if” scenarios in my head, but otherwise, I’ve found that sometimes all I need is a break.

 

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you? When I write I need absolute quiet—no music, TV, talking, etc. I can work anywhere in the house—in my office, in the den, at the dining room table, as long as there are no distractions. I’m inspired by the world around me, music, books I read, movies, etc. Any of those things could get my juices flowing and get me geared up to write.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

Hmm…if the world ended tomorrow, there wouldn’t be much on my bucket list I could accomplish. Could it end next week? Okay, never mind, I’ll stick to the question.

1. I would do a zip line tour. They have tours at Lake Lanier in Georgia, where I live, and I plan to do it.

2. I would fly to Serendipity 3 in New York and have a bowl of their Frozen Haute Chocolate. It costs $25,000 (who cares about the cost if the world’s about to end?) and is the most expensive dessert in the world. It’s made with edible gold. I just want to know what a $25,000 dessert tastes like.

3. I could be tempted to skydive. Maybe.

 

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

There are authors whose work I admire because they’re so skilled at story telling. The ones I keep going back to are the ones who write stories that keep me turning the pages and elicit emotional responses from me. Whether it’s happiness, anger, excitement, empathy, or relief, those are the authors whose books I’ll purchase again and again, and I want to write like them.

 

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Characters first with an idea of what the story could be about. Setting is seldom very important to me. They could be in almost any city. I incorporate the details unique to the city later.

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

Sanaa Lathan would play the role of Celeste in Temptation. I love her! Idris Elba would play Roarke. He doesn’t really look the way I imagined Roarke, but he’s just so fine—so, who cares? LOL!

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

In October, Astraea Press will release my first sweet romance called Worth Waiting For. It’s book one in the Bailar Series. Julia Newman doesn’t have time for love. Been there, done that, and she’s got the scars to prove it. For the past few years, she has been living the life she wants. She drives a silver Mercedes, just purchased a four bedroom house in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia, and she’s on her way to becoming the youngest female partner in the history of the venture capitalist firm where she works. Life couldn’t be better. Or so she thought.

 

Frederico “Freddie” Mendoza is the owner of Mendoza Construction. He hasn’t given up on love, but he is fed up with women who are fascinated by the fantasy of being with a blue collar man and then relegate him to a certain part of their lives. His newest customer, Julia Newman, is the kind of woman he’s decided he’ll avoid from now on. He needs to work on expanding his business. Besides, she’s not his type. Or so he thought.

 

I’m also working on Book 3 of my Hot Latin Men series. It’s tentatively titled Private Acts. It’s about Samirah Jamison, Rebekah’s (from Fight for Love) sister. Samirah gladly accepts a position in Ecuador as a cook/housekeeper after her last relationship blows up in her face. She’s an outgoing extrovert who charms everyone she meets. Miguel Delgado is the reclusive artist who lives next door. They begin a steamy affair, but as Samirah’s assignment nears its end, they have to decide if what they feel is enough to build a lasting relationship despite their differences

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

Since I’ve been told I like to hold things in and then explode, the most appropriate warning label would be: Contents under pressure.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

I like to write emotional stories with lots of sexual tension. I put my characters through the wringer before giving them their happy ending. If you enjoy those kinds of stories, you’ll probably enjoy mine. I also love to hear from readers, so LIKE my Facebook page and follow my blog and join the conversation.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

Website and blog: http://delaneydiamond.com

Facebook: http://facebook.com/DelaneyDiamond

Twitter: @delaneydiamond

 

Thank you for having me, Raine!

 

**~~**

 

 The Temptation of a Good Man by Delaney Diamond

Hawthorne Family Series, Book 1

Buy it now: Amazon, All Romance Ebooks, and Barnes & Noble.

Can true love be found after one night of passion?

Celeste Burton goes out with her girlfriends to celebrate turning thirty and winds up spending an unforgettable night with the man of her dreams. One week later, as a favor, she attends a wedding with a friend as his date and is shocked when she sees Roarke again.

Roarke Hawthorne despises cheating. Cheating tore apart his family years ago. When the physics professor sees the woman he spent the night with show up at his sister’s wedding on the arm of his brother, he knows he should keep his distance. But because of the night they set fire to the sheets in his hotel room, he can’t resist the urge to be close to her–nor can he resist the temptation to have her back in his bed.

PG-13 Excerpt:

Lust flickered in his eyes, and for tense moments they stared at each other, lost in the memories of heated whispers and tangled sheets. Then, as suddenly as he’d grabbed her, he dropped her arm like a hot coal.

“Derrick doesn’t deserve to be lied to and made a fool of.” He stepped around her toward the door.

Celeste grabbed his forearm to stall his exit. “Wait, please.”

“Celeste, I can’t do this.”

She slipped between him and the door. She couldn’t be the reason for a confrontation between the two brothers, and she couldn’t bear the humiliation of Derrick finding out she’d slept with his brother the first night they met. “Please don’t say anything to Derrick. I’ll stay out of your way. I promise. You won’t even know I’m here.”

He looked down at her hand, and she followed his gaze to where her fingers wrapped around his arm. She withdrew them with haste. When her eyes found his again, desire shimmied down her spine at the hunger she saw in his.

“That’s not what I meant,” he said, his voice thick and low. “I can’t be near you. You’re too much of a temptation. Maybe you can stay away from me, but I don’t know if I can keep my hands off of you.” He slammed his palms against the door above her shoulders.

Celeste jumped, her eyes widening in shock. Shaken, she pressed back against the hard door to distance herself from him. They were too close, and the instinctive movement did little to protect her from the heat of sexual frustration emanating from his pores.

His chest rose and fell with each deep breath, and a storm brewed in his dark brown eyes. “What are you doing to me?

The tortured question needed no answer. Even if she’d been obliged to respond, he seized her mouth before she could, and his tongue thrust between her lips. The muscular, dark cords of his arms encircled her waist and held her against his body, crushing her soft curves into each hard contour of his.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Welcome Delaney Diamond Today & a Contest

  1. “Contents under pressure” – that’s a great warning label. I loved the interview & the excerpt thank you!!

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  2. So many authors today are stepping into the world of self-publishing. I see you have started. Do you think that’s where your future lies?

    1. Yes and no, Karen. I look at self-publishing as a way to diversify. It also affords me the opportunity to share stories with readers that publishers may not be interested in purchasing.

  3. Congratulations on your new book release. I already have my copy and look forward to reading it.

    I’d love an Amazon gift card too. A generous giveaway. 🙂

  4. I’m definitely loving you more and more, your book sounds awesome and your writing style is what I always look for. Now I’m gonna head over to friend you on Facebook and folloe you on Twitter 🙂 You just let me know if I’m becoming ‘stalker-like.’
    chamblinh@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

