Welcome R. M. Sotera

Hi and welcome to my blog, RM Sotera Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?  I write paranormal and contemporary romance with erotic elements.  My current publishers are eXtasy Books, Evernight Publishing and soon to be added publisher, Siren-Bookstrand.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?  My upcoming release, Dirty Immortals on Holiday, is the 4th book in my Dirty series.  The inspiration for this series of books came in the form of a night out with the girls at a male review show, Thunder Down Under, in Vegas and one hott male dancer who sparked my writing interest. J  The first book, Dirty Dancer, started with Jett Donivan, Norse Demi-god/demon-slayer/male dancer – with the second book introducing the character of Laurent Bovier, Master vampire.  The fourth book, the one showcased in this interview follows the story of Jett’s twin sister Brandi, Valkyrie/demi-goddess/vampire and Laurent and their endless trials and tribulations.  It is full of love/honor/ and kick-ass action.  My deepest hope is that the reader can’t forget the story long after the book is closed.

 

Also, my first co-authored book, Wild West Weekend – Double D Tales, done in collaboration with CR Moss released at the beginning of September.  WWW follows the life of (2) best friends and the cowboys they love.  It was truly a blast to co-write!

 

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?  I build characterization in several different ways.  The characters first announce who they are via a thought or a dream.  I then take that info and input it into a character chart.  With this chart I begin to brainstorm with my critique partners.  And of course, I observe the people around me.  It never ceases to amaze me when I see a person out and about who fits my character to a tee.  And many times I add characteristics that I like in a man or woman in one of my heroes or heroines.

 

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines:  Well…I love Laurent and Brandi in my Dirty books.  Laurent is tall/dark and extremely deadly –a vampire with a heart of gold—a man who would do anything and everything for the woman he loves even if it means fulfilling his lovers wild and crazy desires.  And of course, I love Brandi Bovier.  She is smart, feisty and can kick some serious ass.  Yet, she still has a deep-seated innocence about her.  I tend to make my heroines somewhat innocent and have recently been badly reviewed because of it.  But hey, it’s human nature.  On a personal note, I can be a hard-ass one moment…and the next I can sit down and cry like a baby.

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?  My muse, Styxx, is quite the interesting character.  He likes to wake me in the middle of the night to brainstorm, so I’ve learned to keep pencil and paper near the bed.  The first few times he did this to me I scribbled the notes…and the next morning…I couldn’t read a single word I wrote!  It was quite frustrating.  He also likes to talk to me when I’m at stop-lights.  I remember one time I was at a light and he started whispering in my head and the only paper I had near was post-it notes.  The light changed and here I am scribbling all of these tiny pieces of paper and sticking them to the steering wheel and dash board.  It was a hoot!

 

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?  Actually, I do.  I must have music when I write.  And the scene dictates the music I choose.

 

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

 

Travel to Greece with my family

Take my son to the Super Bowl

Reach the NYT bestsellers list

I’d like to add a 4th one – J- quit my day job!

 

 

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?  Most definitely.  Anne Rice, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Edgar Alan Poe, Sylvia Playth, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Emily Dickenson…just to name a few.

 

 

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?  Characters always come first.  Most of the time I write dialogue first then the other areas fall into place.

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?  If one of my books became a film I would love to see Laurent Bovier played by the actor who plays Damon Salvatore in the Vampire Diaries.  And if Wild West Weekend took to the big screen – definitely Keith Urban and Sarah Brightman for Damon and Bristol.

 

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?  I have an unusual contemporary romance coming from Siren-Bookstrand slated for release January 2012.   This is a book…7 years in the making.  Yes, I dove into a taboo subject I found fascinating on many levels, but finding a publisher willing to step into the unusual world I’d created was difficult.  I applaud Siren for taking a chance with me and look forward to working with them in making this book rock the publishing world! J  I’ll keep you posted as the process progresses.

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?  Beware…combustible humor.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?  I love to hear from readers so feel free to visit my website and email me.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

 

Website: www.rmsotera.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/rmsotera

Twitter: http://twitter.com/rmsotera

LVRW: http://www.lvrw.org/lvrw/index.htm

 

Wild West Weekend Blog – http://doubledranchtales.blogspot.com/?zx=7ea7a35673ba537b

 

**~~**

Book Blurb with Buy or publisher link

 

Dirty Series

 

http://www.extasybooks.com/index.php?route=product%2Fsearch&option_id=1&keyword=R.+M.+Sotera

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blurb for Dirty Immortals On Holiday – Release date October 15, 2011 (book cover coming soon)

 

Four immortals.  One tropical island. Anything can happen.

 

So much for a vacation…

Laurent, Brandi, Jett and Sophia decide to take a much needed vacation in the beautiful Caribbean. And all hell breaks loose. Sophia wants to eat the tourists.  Jett has ‘daddy’ issues, and Brandi has to go to work, learning to transport dead Norse warriors to the afterlife.  All the while, Laurent is trying to keep his family together.

What else could possible go wrong?

 

 

 

Wild West Weekend – Double D Tales

 

http://www.evernightpublishing.com/products/Wild-West-Weekend-by-C.R.-Moss-and-R.M.-Sotera.html

Double D Ranch Tales, 1- Blurb

Two people scared to love again. Two others hesitant about commitment. A weekend in Nevada will change all that.

Bristol Ashcombe is swearing off men and taking a vacation with her friend, Cassie. Damon Dougan is packed and ready to leave the ranch for a trip, that is, until a long-legged, sexy woman steps out of a vehicle and he decides to stay. Will one sex-filled weekend be enough for either of them?

Cassie Harding travels to the Double D ranch to meet Bristol and looks forward to seeing her old friend, Dakota. Dak’s excited when Cassie, his former sweetheart, returns. Cassie and Dakota, though they’re heating up ‘the sheets’ in and out of the bedroom, have fears about commitment after years of being single. Will they find it’s better to dance together than apart?

 

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Raine for having me on her blog today.  It’s been an awesome time!! 

Leave a Reply

