Welcome Author Judi Phillips Today

Hi and welcome to my blog, Judi Phillips. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

Well, I write them all <grin>.  I have a sensuous paranormal, Ghost of a Chance, published with Wild Rose Press.  I have a sweet romance, Night of Turmoil, which will be published with Whispers Publishing.  And I have several eroticas written by Pepper Goodrich and published with Whispers.

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

So, this story really started back in December.  I was visiting No. 1 son and his family in Morocco and shortly before I returned home, we began to hear about protests in Tunisia.  This was of particular interest to us since my DIL is Tunisian.

Back home, I watched lots of CNN-I (because the US news wasn’t covering the protests back then).  The next thing that happened was my publisher, Whispers Publishing, put out a Call for Submission to celebrate some of the less popular holidays.  One of them was International Peace Day and they were asking for very short stories set in a place in the world experiencing conflict.  I really wanted to write about that but hesitated, never having been involved in protests.

Most Fridays, my son calls.  The next time he called, I mentioned wanting to set a story in Tunisia during the protests but said I couldn’t.  I didn’t know about protests and I was back working on the sequel to Ghost of a Chance, Frank O’Malley and Aerial Bonne’s story and didn’t want to abandon Frank.  The next week when he called, he asked me when I was going to write the Tunisian story.  I repeated the list of excuses and he said he could certainly help with the setting and proceeded to brainstorm the basics of the story—I never would have guessed one of my kids would become a brainstorming partner.  He assured me I wouldn’t be abandoning Frank because it was his niece, Chelsea (he picked the name) O’Malley who had come to Tunis to teach adults English as a second language and Malik would be a student of hers, presenting the conflict since ESL teachers can’t have personal relationships with their students.  And that it how it started.  I wrote the story in three months.  It just poured out.

Night of Turmoil will be released on September 21.

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?

I feed her lots of espresso and chocolate, sit down at the keyboard and she arrives.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Most of the time it’s setting that comes first—Night of Turmoil for instance.  Then I figure out what characters fit there and what their story is.  I have a time travel that I have the rights back to and am presently revising that’s set in northern Minnesota.  I wanted to write a story about a haunted house—Ghost of a Chance.  And Merrie’s Christmas by Pepper Goodrich is set in Jamaica (I seriously considered doing a research trip, but didn’t have time before the book needed to be submitted).  And The Love Genie stories are set in a sexual fantasy motel in the foothills of the White Mountains.  So, yes, setting comes first.

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

Pepper has submitted a Christmas story to continue the ‘adventures’ in the Love Genie series.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

You can find Judi at http://judiphillips.com/

And you can visit Pepper at http://peppergoodrich.com/

I’m also on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1015051666

and Twitter http://www.judiphillips.com/

I blog at http://sugarspice-judi.blogspot.com/ but not so much about writing as what’s going on with me.

 

**~~**

Blurb for Night of Turmoil

 

Chelsea O’Malley, ESL teacher in Tunis, is always prudent, never reckless.  Attending a protest march during the Jasmine Revolution, when Malik Bourjamaa is wounded, can she throw caution to the winds and speak truth to power?  Night of Turmoil tells the story of one day during the Jasmine Revolution in Tunisia.

 

Excerpt from Night of Turmoil

 

“Go into the living room. I know you want to check the texts I’ve heard coming in on your phone.” Chelsea cleared the table while she waited for the teakettle to whistle. As she was about to pour the tea, she looked up. Malik leaned against the doorway, checking his messages. Lord, he was a gorgeous hunk.

“Any news?” Hopefully, his answer would provide a distraction. Anything to keep her from leaping across the room and planting a deep, searing kiss on his delectable mouth.

“My friend, Haddad, is talking about a protest in Place Pasteur this afternoon.”

“Do you think there will be a lot of trouble?”

“Trouble? I do not know. But it will be important to go there. I want to gather information. For a report.”

He gazed deep into her eyes then shifted his glance to her mouth.

She wet her lips. Was he thinking about kissing her? She hoped he would. But a kiss would really complicate things. “I’m not sure…” Her words reflected nervousness about more than the political situation.

He crossed to her side and linked his fingers in hers. His touch was warm, reassuring. “I am wanting you to come with me.”

Chelsea cleared her throat, both disappointed and relieved he hadn’t kissed her. Except part of her yearned for more. Much more than interlocked fingers. From his touch and from the frisson of fear skittering down her spine, she knew she was in trouble. Trouble she could handle, she told herself.

“Well?” he asked.

She only hesitated a moment. The old Chelsea would have stayed home, avoided the risks. But this Chelsea, the one who had dared to come halfway around the world to teach, was different. “Joining you would be an interesting adventure.”

 

I don’t have the active buy link yet, but you will be able to find Night of Turmoil at  http://whispershome.com/

Leave a Reply

