Welcome A. Scott Boddie today

 

Hi and welcome to my blog, A. Scott Boddie. Please make yourself at home and grab a drink from my hunky cabana boys, Zeke and Jake.  So tell us a little about yourself.

 

Hello, I’m Scott. I’m a lover of books, movies, and music. They all inspire me. I am a dog lover and one of those people who call them family. 🙂 I write poetry, short stories and currently have three e-books published.

 

Conversations with Swishy Pete Volume 1

Conversations with Swishy Pete Volume 2

Friends of Dorothy Monologues Act 1

I’m a graduate of Baker College, holding a BBA and a MBA; however, the business world was no substitute for my love of writing. I resigned from my business job to pursue a career as a writer.

 

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

I write exclusively in the gay/lesbian and high fantasy genres, and an excerpt of my writing is available at:

http://www.jms-books.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=17

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

My upcoming releases are titled ‘Murder Copyright’ and ‘Esrevinu Secrets of the Elephant Rocks, a vampire series.  ‘Murder Copyright’ was inspired by the senseless bullying in our society today as well as heartfelt stories of its victims and survivors.

 

Q: How do you build characters and their personalities and looks?

I like to build characters that have unique voices, easily identifiable, and have quirky personalities—basically characters that shows all their insecurities, hopes, and dreams by how they behave.

 

In order for my creative process to begin, I need the right atmosphere and the right set of mind to be inspired by some idea I believe deserves to be brought to life on paper. I’m a title first writer. I need to have a title before the story blooms. I’m inspired by book, music and movies. Usually I hear words that intrigue me and then my mind’s eye sees all the components of the story, from start to finish. Then I go to work. If you can imagine a math wizard who sees an equation and then visualizes all the parts in midair, and then solves the problem–That’s how my creative process works

 

 

Q: Tell me about some of your heroes/heroines:

In writing they are all females, sometimes I like to think of them as mentors as well. Women writers with strong, fluid, narrative driven writing inspires me. I particularly like reading books about post-slavery African-Americans’ assimilation into society. For example, Toni Morrison’s Beloved and Alice Walker’s The Color Purple.

Books with strong, fluid, narrative driven writing inspires me. I particularly like reading books about post-slavery African-Americans’ assimilation into society. For example, Toni Morrison’s Beloved and Alice Walker’s The Color Purple.

 

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult?

When my muse takes a holiday I have no choice but to take a vacation as well. I can’t force creativity, I learned to go with the flow and when it takes a break, so do I.

 

 

How do you try to coax them back to the drawing board?

Honestly, I don’t. I wait to be inspired to write and I have to be patient. The longest I’ve had to wait is about three weeks—it drives a writer crazy, but I have learned to honor my muse and its temperament.

 

Q: Do you have any specific things (or rituals) that help you to write or that inspire you?

When I am inspired to write, light music, and red wine usually does the trick. I’m very inspired by books, music and movies. There have also been many times that I am out and about running errands and such, when someone, within hearing distance, says something that makes me dart off to a corner, where no one can hear me, and record the insightful words worthy to be given voice.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

If the worlds were to end tomorrow, and I had 24 hours, my bucket list would be:

  1. Unlimited sugar intake
  2. Make out with my neighbor (not in a creepy way)
  3. Swimming with dolphins

 

Q: Are there any authors who have influenced your work?

There are two authors that come to mind. I would have to say Toni Morrison and Stephen King.

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

Actually, I’m a title first writer, the title of any story I write has to have a sound title first and then storyline, characters and setting.

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

I think ‘Conversations with Swishy Pete has the most potential to be a play, movie or sitcom. The main character is Swishy Pete and RuPaul, dressed as a man, would be me ideal Celebrity.

 

Q: What do you have coming next?

I have a short story ‘Murder Copyright’ about bulling, and a vampire series called ‘Esrevinu’ and the first book is ‘Secrets of the Elephant Rocks’

Anything you want to tell us?

Sure. Murder Copyright is a great short story about bulling; it is chilling and has a great twist. Esrevinu, pronounced S-Revenue, is not your typical vampire story; I believe it will set precedence within the genre.

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

Warning: A. Scott Boddie’s writing is original, gritty, often humorous and sometimes deep. Proceed with caution if your sensibilities are easily offended.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

My works are nonsexual; I try to represent the gay/lesbian genre with storylines that are contemporary and rarely given voice.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.ascottboddie.com/

http://www.ascottboddie.co.uk/

http://www.facebook.com/ascottboddie#!/

http://twitter.com/_ascottboddie_

Friends of Dorothy Monologues Act I

 

Scene 3: An Unfinished Letter

My mother traded me. She gave me to her dealer for a bag of crystal meth when I was fourteen. He took me to get ice cream afterward and gave me three hundred dollars cash. My mother didn’t return home for three days, and when she did, I left for good. It took me five years to realize my mother had pimped me, and to this very day, she dictated how I would live my life. I gave in far too easily.

I lay in a New York City hospital bed in a dark, dank room reeking of Lysol, vomit and desperation, suffering from the many setbacks of full-blown AIDS, drug abuse, and the many side effects of the medications, but I’m only thinking of my mother. I laugh under my breath each time the nurse calls me Christopher or Mr. Johnson; I hardly recognize that name or person. I would’ve easily responded to a car honk or a head nod before my birth name.

When I flew away, I landed in Manhattan. On the first night, in the bus terminal of the Port Authority, I met a boy about my age who explained how I could get a good night’s sleep, food, and some cash. We walked down to the West Village and stood in front of a deli on the corner of Bleecker and Christopher Street, and my new friend taught me how to pick up men for money. My friend was an expert and taught me I didn’t have to like having sex with old men; I merely needed to be good at it. I tagged along on his first date to see what it required, and at the end of my first night, I had made five hundred dollars.

On the streets of New York, I quickly learned a good-looking, tall, and well-built young boy with beautiful black, curly hair and sparkling eyes could go far on little. My competitors were fair-haired young boys with cheeks of tan, but my exotic look melted the heart of every dirty old man that stopped to talk to me. For five years, I received many gifts from my patrons and some of them have metamorphosed into Pneumocystis Jiroveci Pneumonia, lesions, and Kaposi Sarcoma.

For the last two days, which I’m positive are my last, I have been thinking of my mother and the choices that have displaced me from her. The letter I’m attempting to write so far reads, Sorry.

My choices appear childlike, but they are mine and have shaped the person I am today. My single regret is not having a second chance to make things right with my mother.

For the first time I feel I could forgive her, tell her I hated her and she ruined my life. It’s time I accept my part of the shame. As the tears roll down my face and the familiar feeling of loneliness and anxiety all but consume me, I begin the letter to my mother again, I write one sentence and for the last time I give in, easily.

Hello Mother,

I’m sorry for all the tears I must’ve caused you, now and in the future; I blame you for nothing and forgive you for everything …

 

Buy E-Books:

http://www.amazon.com/A.-Scott-Boddie/e/B004H9DXCM/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Publisher – JMS-BOOKS.COM

http://www.jms-books.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=17

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

