Guest Author Day with Brieanna Robertson

Q: What genre do you write and for what publisher(s)?

A: I write contemporary and fantasy romance for Amira Press, Sugar and Spice Press, Whimsical Publications and Purple Sword Publications

 

Q: Tell us about your latest/upcoming release. What inspired it?

A: My last release was Book 5 in my contemporary series, Serendipity. It’s entitled Stage Presents and it was originally inspired by my youth, which was spent immersed in the theatre. It’s actually a tribute of sorts to my best friend who died when I was a teenager. She was very involved in the arts and had such a passion for the theatre. Her greatest dream was to be on Broadway and this was one way I figured her dream could be accomplished, as obscure as that sounds.

The book itself is about a woman who wants to put on a play for her husband  as an anniversary gift, and she enlists a friend to write the script while she relates to him the story of how she and her husband met and fell in love. There are some recurring characters from earlier on in the series, and throughout the book they come to learn some valuable lessons about following their dreams and about falling in love all over again.

 

Q: Who are some of your favorite characters from your books? The hardest to write? The easiest?

A: My favorite character is Jaide from Amaranth of the Wild Things. He is my favorite because he actually is the most difficult character I have ever written. He had such a dark past and was such a complicated character. It was challenging to write someone who bordered on being an anti-hero and still make him redeemable enough for a romance. He is a rich character with so much depth, though. He is, by far, the character that is the most real to me.

My Serendipity characters are usually the easiest for me to write. So much of their experiences are based off of my own life and the series is generally very humorous and lighthearted, which is always easy and fun for me.

Q: What do you do when the muse decides to take a holiday or become really difficult? How do you try to coax them/she/it/he back to the drawing board?

A: My first step is to listen to music. Music usually always helps get my creativity flowing again. If a muse is being exceptionally stubborn, I go to a friend of mine who seems to always be able to inspire me, and I badger him until my muse comes out of hiding. lol

 

Q: Is there a genre you haven’t tried yet but plan to in the future?

A: I’m not sure. It might be cool to do something a little more sci-fi and I would love to do a dual author project sometime, but I am generally very happy with the genres I write.

 

Q: If the world was to end tomorrow, what three things would be on your bucket list?

A: 1. Go to Finland. Although I don’t know how I could accomplish that in one day if the world was ending tomorrow. 2. Go to Italy. 3. Go to Ireland/Scotland. I really like to travel. lol

 

Q: You’re on a remote island with a handsome man, a computer, and a “mysterious” source of electricity to power your computer. What do you do?

A: Tell the handsome man to go hunt down a boar, make me a coconut drink and then leave me alone while I write. If he’s lucky, maybe I’ll eat with him later…after he makes the raft to get us out of there of course. Oh, and cooks the boar and then gives me a back rub. I mean, come on, I’m gonna be tense from sitting and writing all day. 😉 And people wonder why I’m single…

 

Q: What comes first for you: Setting? Storyline? Characters?

A: Always characters. If I don’t have a character speaking to me, the story just dies.

 

Q: If one of your books became a movie, which celebrity would you like to star as your main characters?

A: This question is always so hard for me. I have the worst time picturing my characters played by anybody. I can see Claire Danes playing Amara in Amaranth of the Wild Things, but I have no clue who I would get for Jaide. It was once speculated that Orlando Bloom might work if it was like Kingdom of Heaven Orlando Bloom. Not Lord of the Rings Orlando Bloom. But I’m still not so sure. I’m not sure if he’s edgy enough. LOL

 

Q: What do you have coming next? Anything you want to tell us?

A: Actually, I have nothing pending at the moment. I’m always working on something, but nothing that is solid and ready to release any time soon. I’m working on another short contemporary and then another muse book for those of you who know of Liron’s Melody.

 

Q: If you came with a warning label, what would it say?

A: WARNING: Comes with extreme fire power and explosive passion for a wide range of subjects. Low tolerance level. Proceed with caution.

 

Q: What else would you like readers to know about you or your work?

A: I like to write a lot of lessons and truths into my stories, whether it be psychology or just inspiring things. I like my stories to have a lot of depth and meaning and I almost always have some message woven in about being true to yourself. To me, that is such an important thing in life.

 

Q: Where can we find you on the web?

A: You can find me and my work at my website www.brieannarobertson.com and you can find me everywhere else from there.

**~~**

Amaranth of the Wild Things:

He was hewn from cruelty and violence.

He felt nothing, he was nothing. He was wild, untamed, a shadow, a hand of death, a law unto himself. He had never known love. He had never felt love.

Except…

For the amaranth flower. Perfect, undying, beautiful. The only soft thing in his hardened world. The only thing he had ever held in reverence, and the only thing to ever offer him solace.

He had never faltered in his assignments. His hand had never wavered. But that was before he’d been
ordered to kidnap her. A woman of unique disposition, undaunted in the face of her adversity. A woman bearing the same name as the immortal flower he so cherished.

She could be his greatest downfall…or his greatest treasure.

Buy: http://www.whimsicalpublications.com/brieanna_robertson/Amaranth_of_the_Wild_Things.html

 

Stage Presents:

Maxim is suffering from horrendous writer’s block and has a deadline for a new novel looming ominously on the horizon. When a friend tells him she is planning on writing she and her husband’s love story in script form, and then performing it as a play for his anniversary gift, he is intrigued. When she asks him to write the script, he is elated.

Nasarra takes Maxim back to the world of theatre in 1997-1998 as she tells him the detailed story of how she and her husband met and fell in love, and about what it really means to have your dreams come true. Along the way, she teaches him a little something about his own life, dreams, and falling in love all over again.

Buy: http://www.whimsicalpublications.com/brieanna_robertson/Stage_Presents.html

 

Liron’s Melody:

A Julliard graduate and former member of the Philharmonic Orchestra, Melody hasn’t played anything since her parents were killed in a tragic car accident. But when her friend buys her an old, weathered music score that seems to call to her, she is intrigued.

She knew that playing again would be a freeing feeling, but she never expected the action to open up a gateway to a world where creation and the arts are dominant and emotions are not frowned upon, but embraced. And she definitely never expected to be tossed into the living room of a muse—a man who lives and breathes music, who can calm her with a touch and make her hear symphonies.

As Melody learns of Liron, his world, and his own loss, she begins to heal, feel whole, and find herself again. But when the connection to Melody’s world and the muse world is severed, will the music Liron inspired, as well as the power of her love, be enough to reunite them? More importantly, can Melody find the strength within herself to face the past she has been running from and do what needs to be done for the future she longs to have?

Buy: http://purplesword.com/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=78

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

